We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B and B”
Review of Magnolia

Magnolia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia
Ranked #10 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Location superb. Very clean and comfortable BB. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of home made goodies. Geoff and Elizabeth were excellent hosts with lots of useful local knowledge. Loved Bishops Castle and the whole area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia for four nights and were sorry to leave. Everything was perfect, with no drawbacks. Geoff and Elizabeth were extremely helpful particularly with advice and maps for local walking. We can also understand why they have an award for their breakfasts! Bishop's Castle is a good base for the Shropshire hills and has a fine selection of pubs; with the Three Tuns outstanding for its beer, food and atmosphere. Go there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The BB was very good , the propritors were lovely they helped in any information or advice that we required , The accomdation was very clean that cleaner is tops.!!!!! The room was very comfortable and a well size room with every thing you would need , bathroom was very good and the bed you could have a good nights sleep in. we would go back again the breakfast was cooked very well top marks for that home made jam and very good seating area lots of room to get about in. Thank you for making our stay so lovely.

Room Tip: i dont think they had a bad room as talking to other guests they all enjoyed there stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Warm welcome, even though we arrived late. Caters well for cyclists. Lovely rooms, big fluffy towels, nice bathroom accessories provided - amazing breakfast especially the Bircher muesli and homemade jams. Quiet location at top of village but close enough to walk to local restaurants etc. The Best!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Geoff and Elizabeth are great hosts and run an equally great B&B. They have thought of absolutely everything in the rooms, including white bath robes. Breakfast was delicious. Quiet location just on the edge of the village. Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just read all the reviews as they sum up this loverly b&b and hosts, the best we have had yet i wish we could keep it a secret.Clun valley and area great .Sorry Geoff and Elizebeth for delay on review.All the best from Patrick and Lynette.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hodgesWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent five days exploring the Shropshire Hills with The Magnolia B&B as our base. It was simply perfect: very comfortable room, and moreover, our hosts' friendliness in the way they looked after and advised us on any and all aspects of the town and the area. Easily the best B&B we've ever stayed at and we'd thoroughly recommend it. Thank you, Elizabeth & Geoff; what a team!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishops Castle hotels
0.2 mi away
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
Bank House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Bishops Castle
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#6 of 12 in Bishops Castle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Boar's Head Hotel
The Boar's Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
276 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia

Address: 3 Montgomery Road, Bishops Castle SY9 5EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnolia - a four star Bed & Breakfast where attention to detail has earned us a prestigious Gold Award from each year since opening.Only a few minutes walk from the centre of the working market town of Bishop's Castle, in beautiful grounds, come to relax and enjoy the stunning views from one of our three double or twin en-suite rooms. Spoil yourself with fresh fruit salad, homemade organic muesli and a magnificent Shropshire breakfast using local and organic produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing