We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Good Pub and Very Good Food”
Review of Six Bells

Six Bells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Proper Good Pub and Very Good Food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were a booked party of 12 on a Saturday night having the Xmas 3 courses for £17! We had the warm room to ourselves, we had crackers (good ones!), and a decorated table with us all together. They even allowed 2 little dogs! The meal was delicious (with 3 options for each course) and served well, with good intervals between courses, oh and mince pies too! There was a bar in the room, and the friendly landlord brews great beer. What more can you ask?!! The locals in the other bar were friendly too! A lovely evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judemgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A friendlier pub I doubt you will find”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We popped in here are after a morning walk from Bishops Castle and were not at all disappointed. The landlord is a very cheery chap and there was a very friendly atmosphere in the public bar.

No airs and graces to the food: just good tasty pub grub prepared with a lot of local produce. Great sausages, nice chips, tasty veg that hasn't been boiled to death.

All their own well-kept ales the day we visited, I don't know if they have guest beers but they do have their own seasonal brews as this is also the Six Bells brewery tap. Personally if I were visiting just for a pint I'd head to the Three Tuns at the other end of town as I prefer their beers but it's a matter of taste rather than quality and the Six Bells' Cloud Nine is a very nice pint.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanMcBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Drink”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great drink and service to boot! Well worth a visit, much friendlier than the other brewery pub in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localreviewerbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Ale Pub.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A real ale pub enjoyed by the men, tolerated by the ladies.
Sold beer brewed on the premises. 4 different brews. The men particularly enjoyed the cloud nine brew.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen TX USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good traditional local pub”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great "micro brew", great atmosphere and service, food was excellent and plenty of it. Just what we were looking for in a pub we could walk to from our B&B. Much friendlier than the reception we got at the other brewery pub in town....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Bells also viewed

Bishops Castle, Shropshire
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 

Been to Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing