We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And what does Umpitunneli mean ???”

Ravintola Umpitunneli
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Tornio
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, European, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“And what does Umpitunneli mean ???”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I asked this of many Finnish friends and it may or may not be correct but the concensus was 'smashed', or 'faceless' - as in drunk.

However, it's a great place, although it's mexican decor seems to have lost it's direction a lot. The food is really good for what it is - essentially a bar or a pub. It's the host to many rock bands and various other attractions.

The staff are excellent, the food is value for money and this was another of my regular places to eat whilst staying in Tornio.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zulu_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medway, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting decor?”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I visited Ravintola Umpitunneli on a business trip - the dinner itself was catered by our hotel, but they had the space to accommodate... So I cannot comment on the food. The atmosphere was fun and club-like. The decor appeared to want to be Mexican but there were so many other decorations in other themes that we weren't certain that's what kind of restaurant it wanted to be!! Overall a fun place to hang out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellieBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bit of Mexican food by the river”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Umpitunneli is kind of a combination of restaurant, pub and a club. There appears to be certain days with bands playing (the place will of course be bit noicy then); there's kind of a pub area (the whole place is really one large space) and dining area. There's also a terrace which is surely nice in the summers; when we visited it was bit too cold for that. Food: nothing fancy, mexican dishes; bit of trying to make it special, but in the end that appears limited to the naming of the dishes. Service: ok, the time we visited there were not many customers, but not too many waiters either - it took some time to get attention but when we got that, service was quick. The place is by the river and there is a nice view. With a bit of extra this place could be very good; now I'd say it's just average but not poor either. Nice to visit a few times with colleagues or friends, but not a big experience.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peki321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food is far away from Mexican cuisine...”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Food is far away from Mexican cuisine, and restaurant is very expensive also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeksaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tornio, Finland
2 reviews
“Nice try!”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

The new Mexican menu impresses you at first but when you get a plate (or several plates with different things) you are not so impressed anymore. There is that wow factor missing from several dishes. After all, everything can be ordinary. With a little bit of something extra, this place could be among the top places of Tornio.

Also I have to say that this place is also a bar and it means that if you want to eat in privacy without anyone drunk and making noise, go there early!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eijasjuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravintola Umpitunneli also viewed

 

Been to Ravintola Umpitunneli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing