We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ognjen Alagic”
Review of Istarske Toplice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Istarske Toplice
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livade
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable value for your money.Food is average but indoor pools are great.Also you have a lot of footpaths.Rooms are average but spacious.Ideal option for discover central Istria with Motovun, Groznjan and other ancient cities.Sea coast is near

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ognjen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I would go to Istarske Toplice again. Having said that - do not expect much and you will be pleasanty surprised. It IS a health care institution first and foremost. It is not suitable for young people who expect entertainment to be provided on the spot.
The settig is lovely, the excursion potential endless, and since there is really nothing much to keep you in the hotel - this IS the perfect starting point for exploring Istria - which by the way is absolutely magical.
Most of you have eaten better food, but I have also eaten worse. If good food is what you are after, some of the best restaurants in Istria are almost within a walking distance
The front desk staff are delightful, the medical staff are professional and dedicated, I stayed five days (I am a middle-aged well travelled professional) and I got just what I had come for - a quiet and relaxed time during which I could unwind. The place certainly has positive energy.
I stayed in the Sveti Stjepan hotel - the room was well airconditioned, the bathroom roomy and clean, the wifi was working impeccably - nothing to complain about.
The main building is certainly of a lower quality standard.
I was there during the summer so walking from the hotel to the wellness centre was not a problem at all.
I do not know if I would appreciate it in the winter.
All in all, I repeat - do not expect too much, and you will be pleasantly suprised. I certainly was.

Room Tip: Sveti Stjepan is better than Mirna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libertinaDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed for one night, and would never go back. Everything seems to be pre 1970 (not the staff, which was nice). Beds was bad, air conditioning not working, internet only by the reception, funny smell and did I mention the swimming pool with radioactiv water (you should absolutely not stay in it for more than 30 minutes according to staff).. Travel 10 minutes to Buzet,Vela Vrata Hotel you will spend 20% more money and get a perfekt stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwegian86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed in 4 star hotel. rooms large, nice beds, clean, with balcony looking on park. could argue if it is a 4 star room (or 3 and a half ;)), but it was nice, clean and large. also, very quiet area, good pillows, matrasses a bit soft, but had good sleep.

breakfast is in the hotel, dinner in 3 star hotel nearby. breakfast regular, more of a 3 star type. small eating space, gets crowdy.

dinner really basic, food just average. guests from 4 star part are in separate room, really not necessary since you eat the same food.

spa - just saw the indoor pool, nice size, large minus goes to showers and bathroom equipment - old and unatractive. pool was a bit cold even though they say it was heated to 29 degrees - was not.

ther are some saunas, but did not go in. fitness part looks nice.

took a medicine massage - excellent one!

location is faboulous, in heart of Istria, 10 minutes ride from some of the excellent agrotourism places (Štefanići, Montižel), also, near Motovun, Buzet, Grožnjan and only 20kn from the seaside.

considering the price for room with breakfast (around 400 kunas for room), it is a good value for money.

be carefull if u expect wild life - it is a vacational place. and yes, there are a lot of older people, especially at the thermal pool, but I did not mind.

Room Tip: do take 4 star hotel, should not be big difference in price, and it is much newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If it wasn't for some of the staff and in part the wellness are, I would be tempted to deem this place the worst i've ever stayed in and i've stayed in a few.

This place is obviously a medical destination for elderly Croatians and it really shouldn't be advertised as anything else.

I decided to upgrade to the more modern supposed 4 star accomodation due to the poor reviews of the older 3 star part on here as I had originally planned to be here was some time and boy was I glad I did. The older part really feels as if it's straight from the otherside of the iron curtain.

The room was a reasonable 3 star effort, not 4 by any stretch of the imagination, realtively clean and I suppose acceptable.

The breakfast was not acceptable for the room rate, I have had significantly better in 2 star accomodation and am pretty sure the food posioning I had was due to off meat being served there.

Dinner, I really wish I hadn't paid for full board as the majoirty was pretty much inedible, if it wasn't for the fact that the hotel is in the middle of nowehere and the few retaurants that exist within 10km were shut I wouldn't have eaten there a second night. What do they say about chef's that put too much salt in their dishes well what ever it is this chef was alot of! Really dissapointing. The dining areas relly fitted the food quality, poor and their effort to segragate the 4 star guests from the 3 star guests with recoverd chairs and better tables clothes I just found strangely uncomfortable.

And that's not the worst part, the medical / health facilities were simply unacceptable. It was seriously what I can imagine being in an eastern block army hospital. I felt like a sheep being ushered around from booking to booking the only somewhat saving grace being one of the female masseurs who was really rather good but I felt so sorry for them having to work in that place!

Trying to find something good about the place...... ah the wellness centre both staff and facilities were pretty good. I wish I could remember the girls name but the masseur in there (the taller one i think) was simply excellent! Best massage i've had to date and significantly better than the establishment!

All in all though a hotel to avoid i'm afraid, just not aceptable by modern standards and really can't believe it's just so busy?!?!?!

Room Tip: If you have to stay there then make sure you book the supposed 4 star part although be prepared to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mboyd34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've stayed in Istarske Toplice over a weekend in july and were a bit sorry not to have booked somewhere else. Istrian countryside is marvelous, with beautiful nature, stunning views and picturesque old villages.
But the spa itself looks like it remained somewhere in the 70's. The old hotel building is said to have 3 stars but looks more like 1. The new building (St. Stjepan) is modern and clean but lacks a more personal touch, the rooms have a dull, generic look.The hotel buildings are not connected to the spa area, which might be disturbing in wintertime. There's just one outdoor swimming pool, the inner pool was closed at the time of our stay. Dinner is served in a restaurant inside the old building. The place looks like a run down cafeteria and the food choice was very limited, especially for a vegetarian. If some food went out, they didn't bother to make more. The price-quality relation is very poor!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lunnalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

It's was a nice time,spent in the spa-hotel in croatia-«istarske toplice”.
Quite comfortable connection,fm the zagreb airport,you can take bus
To zagreb central bus station(20 min trip for 12$ for 2 persons).fm bus station
Direct bus:zagreb-porec,which proceed via istarske toplice(1 bus per day,dep.on 15.30lt)-
-90$ for 2 persons,trip takes ab.3.5 hrs.bus stop in toplice,just 50 m fm the reception.
We’ve take accomodation in sv stepan(4*)-spacy,cosy,very clean room with balcony to the park and mountain view.it’s anew building,only few years old.breakfast you have in the same building on 2 or 3 floor(depends fm the guests quantity).breakfast cold cuts,fresh bread,coffemachine(bud bad coffee,as everywhere in croatia),cereals,juices(fm automat).
Very friendly staff there,room was cleaned every day(with change of towels).
On the first floor of this building-polyclinic for (aesthetic operations for face,etc.).
Also there we have a face wine massage.20 mtrs fm sv stepan new welness centre
With 25m swimming pool,6 kinds of saunas and package with massages.
I take with my wife two kinds of packages:”amor”-7days,6 nights and “mediterranean holiday”-5 days,4 nights.these packages have perfect pack of massages and treatments(with hb):
Unlimited use of welness pool,gym,2 times use of the world of saunas and relax room.bike ride in the vicinity;20 in aroma massage;50 min hot stone massage;45 min massage with hot olive oil;60 min aroma massage;wine facial massage 40 min;body treatment with honey 60 min.
Massagers very professional and friendly,especially ms.marianna;ms.sladjenna.
Separate thnks to the mr.ivan livak-person,responsible for entertainment,clients complaints,etc.any questions,he can solve fast and effective.
Separate building-mirna(3*)-old building wkth reception on the 1 floor,sulph.thermal pool also there(outside sometimes strong smeel of sulphur,as it’s one of the main contains of this thermal water,apart fm other 12 minerals).
It’s really relax atmosphere there-all around mountains,covered by mix forest and we walk
A lot.withou car,you “isolated”there.nearest trattoria-canoba”dolina”-ab.1.5km fm hotel.
In this home restaurant you can test delicious dishes with truffles ,horse meat and meat fm the wild deers under good house wine.very friendly staff there.
Nearest small town-livade in 6km fm hotel,we easy reach it by walk.there-only one shop,but
Only different truffles psecialities there and few restaraunts around,which also offer
Dishes with truffles.
So,nearest town with normal shop,ban-it’s buzet(capital of truffles).we reach it by bus .
Due to the lack of international tv channels(only 1 italian,2 german channels anthe rest
Are croatian channels)you feel yourself clear isolated fm the world and close to the
Nature.
So,it’s nice destination fo nature lovers and truffles connoiseurs.

Room Tip: room to be in sv.stepan building with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank admirerItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livade
3.9 mi away
Hotel Kastel
Hotel Kastel
#1 of 1 in Motovun
218 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#2 of 3 in Buzet
61 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Park Lovran
Hotel Park Lovran
#4 of 8 in Lovran
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Hotel Lone
Hotel Lone
#4 of 23 in Rovinj
1,464 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#6 of 23 in Rovinj
1,017 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Vela Vrata
Hotel Vela Vrata
#1 of 3 in Buzet
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istarske Toplice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istarske Toplice

Address: Sv. Stjepana 60, Livade 52427, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Livade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Livade
Price Range: $81 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Istarske Toplice 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Istrian thermal resort is situated on the northwest part of the peninsula Istria in Croatia. It is 35 km distant from Poreč, 10 km from Buzet, only 40 km far from the Italian border and 10 km from the Slovenian border. The Istrian thermal resort is settled in the untouched nature outside the city where greenery, quiet and peace offer a particular atmosphere for your perfect repose.The Istrian thermal resort is placed at the foot of the very famous huge rock, 85 meters high, with the mineral spring Sveti Stjepan on the underside. This spring is well known for its hot water full of minerals (13 sorts).Such natural therapeutic properties of the water distinguish the Istrian thermal resort from other European thermal springs placing it at the third position of the European rank-list by the quality of water and therapeutic properties.The legend of Istarske TopliceThe spa resort of Istarske Toplice is located in the vicinity of Motovun Forest, beneath a vertical, 85-metre-high cliff, which is the tallest of its kind in Istria. On top of this cliff, the small church of St. Stephen was built in the 19th century on the site of an earlier church. The church can be reached along a narrow path that climbs steeply around the cliff. Once you arrive there, your effort will be rewarded with a magnificent view that stretches all the way down to the river. This cliff is the birthplace of one of the most beautiful legends of the local area.The legend says that once upon a time, an innocent girl was wrongly accused. In order to end her life and prove her innocence, the girl climbed up the steep cliff and, before throwing herself over the edge, made a wish that her innocence be proven by a source of healing water that would emerge from the spot where she fell…WATER AND FANGOThe uniqueness of the Istarske Toplice resort lies in the natural healing properties of its water, which has been known and used for treatments for centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Istarske Toplice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istarske Toplice Croatia/Livade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing