We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One surprise, two surprises, tree surprises, and on and on and on............”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One surprise, two surprises, tree surprises, and on and on and on............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The first time we stayed, it was not excellent in general. I would say it was an average stay. So, we invited, some very close friends for a couple of days so we could ride around. We have Harleys and like to venture out. But, it was not a good idea. Everything I had told them about the place turned out to be the opposite this time. Sometimes, I felt they enjoyed giving out all the nasty surprises (and a couple of orders) AFTER they had fully charged both days. After they charge you for both days at check-in they must think: "You already payed for everything. Take it or leave it" And someone, rush, tell the "chef" that capers are not olives. Never again and I will make sure none of our friends stay there, only our enemies.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yolandseda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    88
    37
    17
    14
See reviews for
98
117
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caguas, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

1. When called for info was not told that one night would be charged upon making reservation.
2. Requested menu all-inclusive via e-mail am, after follow-up calls received pm.
3. Upon reservation was told that dinner would be from 5 to 9 pm; upon check-in told till 8 pm.
4. Upon check-in charged second night.
5. Upon check-in were told there were no pool towels and could not use room towels at the pool.They sell pool towels!
6. Upon check-in told they sell the ice!
7. TV remote control not working.
8. Next day coffee pot and cups not cleaned.
9. Swimming pool Day 1: No visibility (Had an outside filter) Day 2: Somewhat better, Day 3: Check-out (Time to leave ) Good.
10.Food: Day 1: Ordered fish filet with capers and was served with olives. Day 2: No fish filet available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank egarciacaraballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

From the outside, it looks charming. The problems start inside the room. Dirty stained bedspread, dirty coffee cups, refrigerator, the door to the bathroom looks as if it hasn't been wiped down in years. There is no natural light to the room, making it look even worse.
The washer and dryer in the property is broke, the game room is closed for repairs. You can't even close off the sink in the room to hand wash your clothes!! We were handed a list of all the rules and regulations for the hotel, not very welcoming. How about printing out a list of what to do in the area? Can't even have visitors here!
Went to the restaurant (if that's what you want to call it) on the property, and were ignored for over 5 minutes until we walked out. You have to write down the time you want to eat and what you want to eat, and than come back at that time. Never again will we stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heat_seeker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We went to Guanica to scuba dive and found Parador Guanica 1929 to be one of the best options in the area. The hotel was easy to find, the staff were a knowledgeable about the area, room was comfortable and clean. If we have to go back to Guanica, we'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbk135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed on March: Price Average, bathroom and Room; extra small, (especially the bathroom), mildew odor not good, comfortable bed, mosquitoes on the yard, parking ok, we didn't used the pool and the staff service was acceptable, that is why I rated overall average!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naidafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I can't believe I was stuck here for 2 nights! The room was tiny and very cold (70 degrees with no adjustment possible). The only small window was frosted glass so it had no natural light .The throw rug on the floor was filthy. The bolt and chain locks on the door were broken. They did fix the chain after we complained. The hotel is across the street from a church so there is no bar. You can bring your own. This would have been nice to know before we got here. Dinner was OK.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabsMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costadelmargh, Owner at Hotel Parador Guanica 1929, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
The Parador Guanica 1929 is a historic building. We cannot forget that, this is a historic building and it was built by the Americans in 1929 for the Guanica Sugar Plantation. This is part of our Puerto Rico history and we are proud of it!. This is why our rooms are different in size, some are small equipped with one king bed, and the bigger rooms are equipped with two double beds. Our hotel is a green hotel, room temperatures are control automatically, just telling to our front desk personnel, our guests will be assisted immediately to be comfortable in the room. The Parador Guanica 1929 is located close to two churches from different nominations. The Puerto Rico's Law established no permits to sale alcoholic beverages for locations close to churches (minimum distance). But this, is a very good advantage for our guests because they can bring their own alcoholic beverage bying them at low prices!!!. We have small fridges in all our rooms. Staying at Parador Guanica 1929 you have the opportunity to visit the most beautiful beaches we have in our island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

During our two-week trip around the island this is the only spot we elected to stay two night in a row. There's plenty to do in the neighborhood - swimming, snorkeling, hikes in the national forest, boat trips. Furthermore it's a clean part of the country. We liked the villages. The room at the parador was very clean and a nice view from the veranda. The pool was our favorite of our trip. We got to know several of the staff and found them to be well-trained, courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
8.0 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
18.6 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
8.0 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
9.5 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
7.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Inn
Turtle Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Lajas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Guanica 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Guanica 1929

Property: Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Address: Carr 3116 Km 2.5, Avenida Los Veteranos, Guanica 00647 , Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Parador Guanica 1929 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Parador Guanica 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Guanica 1929 Hotel
Parador Guanica 1929 Puerto Rico
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929 Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing