We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OUTSTANDING!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

This is a jewel no one really knows about. Having stayed in San Juan at the Caribe Hilton and in Rincon, my husband & I agreed, this place in Ensenada was by far the best. It is quaint, personal, clean, friendly, and very professional. We felt very much at home here. When we return, this is the place where we will stay. The food is fabulous. The staff extremely warm and accommodating. I highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosegreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    88
    37
    17
    14
See reviews for
98
117
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We really enjoyed this place. I was a little worried because, while most reviews were favorable, a few complained of a “moldy stench”. This was absolutely not so. In fact, upon thinking about it, it would be difficult to have mold in the rooms, since the Parador is located in the dry area of Puerto Rico. We found the staff extremely helpful, never failing to fill our needs. For instance, we found the room exceedingly cold and could not change the air conditioner setting. When we spoke to the person in the office, she explained that they have the settings locked down and we could not change it…but she would be happy too. She came to our room and did adjust the temperature to our liking. We also found that our shower was not working properly and reported it late at night. The next day they did fix the shower and it was fine. We thought the room was exceedingly small and were surprised that some people we met there did not agree with us. We checked out their room, they had two full beds with plenty of room to walk around. We had a king in, what must have been, a smaller room. There was not extra room. I suggest that you request a room with two full beds. That is what we intend to do when we return next year. And we will return because: the cost was extremely fair, the breakfasts (which we pre-purchased) were hot and satisfying, the staff was accommodating. We did meet people without a car and they were stuck, because this place in not within walking distance to anything, restaurants, beaches, parks…nothing. But if you have a car it is just a short drive to the dry forest, Gillians Island’s boats, Guanica.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usually_happy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We loved evrything the food, the room, the service and most The Price.

Lots of stuff to do around Guanica. Beautiful beaches, restaurants, kayaking, boat rides thru rivers and channels... Simply a great weekend

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAL2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed for three days. The rooms were pretty small but who spends time in the room during vacation? Just a place to hang your hat. Meals were good, but not great. Adequate to get you going in the morning and at lunch. Very good service in restaurant. WiFi does not work except by front office. Bring a cable. Can't control air conditioning temperature.... seriously. Hot water was far from hot, but manageable.

The Bodegas Andreu winery next door is worth the quality of the rooms though. They are open Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Excellent wine and food. Great views. Great music.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmathews_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

The hotel from the outside was gorgeous, and the pool and view was nice too. They were also nice enough to let us check in early, at 7AM, since we arrived so early. However, the rooms were a big disappointment. The rooms are very small, and have a moldy stench to them, especially the bathroom.

The outlet in the bathroom was not working, therefore I had to plug the hairdryer and straightening iron in the outlet by the TV, so we had to unplug the TV and microwave, which made it very difficult to do my hair without a mirror. They said they would send someone to repair it, but never did. The only other outlet available was by the bed, but it was being used by the lamp and alarm clock. We had to unplug those in order to charge our phones, so we had no lamp and alarm clock. Our phone was also not working, which they also said they would send someone to repair it and never did. There was no outlet to plug the coffee machine in either, since everything was being used before we even started plugging our stuff in.

They didnt give enough towels in the bathroom. The only way to control the AC was an on/off button. There was no way of adjusting the temperature. So we would turn it on and off every 10 minutes literally, because it would get too cold in there very fast, but it would become very humid if it was off for longer than 10-15 minutes. There was no fitted sheet on the bed. Instead it was just a regular sheet tucked under the mattress, which wasn't long enough to cover the whole mattress. About 8 inches at the end of the mattress was exposed, which you would feel when you got into bed. So we had to take a sheet from the other bed and cover it, because the mattress was not that great looking, let alone how rough it felt on our feet.

Another thing about the shower, there is only a tiny little soap dish in there. Everything else we used in the shower had to be put on the floor. The hair dryer even had an old moldy smell coming out of it.

All in all, it was a great location for us, since it was close to where we wanted to be. But I would not choose to stay here again if I go back to PR. I would rather pay a little more money (even though this hotel was not cheap), and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicilianstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moca, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

We enjoyed an excellent weekend in this "parador'" which is characterized by the charm and attentiveness of its staff. The room was clean and well kept, and the food was very delicious including the most awsome coffee and desserts. It is the perfect place for a weekend getaway. I recommend the trolley trip to the historic town of Guanica, and a visit to the "Convento Las Dominicas" wich is a peaceful place with an old plantation house from 1800's, a replica of the Miracle's Christ of Rio de Janeiro and the first exact replica of the Fatima's chapel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

If you are Mold or Fungus sensitive - avoid this place. I don't think it is so much from the building but from the A/C. I felt awful the next day - we left early and forfeited our money.

The A/C system works with the key card (WHY?) and ours did not work well - no matter how high we adjusted it it was freezing (we had it on 84 F and the room was 68)

These kind of houses (by second cousin lived in one) had generous rooms - The Parador Guanica has been remodeled (poorly) so the rooms are smaller - think motel. Bare walls, no attempt to make it "authentic" other than the Cast Iron Headboards (As uncomfortable as it sounds), just a box with painted walls and cheap art.

Rooms 111, 214 & 219 (sorry I did not note all the rooms like this) have tiny windows - Ours was locked - no way to open it. Privacy glass top to bottom was a bit much and added to the claustrophobic feel that the room had.

Service was fair, food was fair, coffee was fair for US standards (poor for PR standards)

The towels were small and rough, and too few (but we asked for more and they brought them)

The hotel is part of a vocational school, for the hotel industry .

The bay is not the prettiest, but we did see a Manta Ray (or small skate?) off the piers.

Overall it was lackluster and disappointing, I am not sure why it gets such good reviews. There are better places to stay -Mary Lee's by the Sea, or in La Parguera (which also has a Parador), and it certainly was not good value.

Fitness Center: One Treadmill, one bike and a mutli-machine that is so loose it is dangerous. The pool was nice.

Vending machines with the usual fare.

If you want to get away from it all, are impervious to mold and mildew, could care less about interior ambiance and don't mind spending money, then this place might just work for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jalwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
8.0 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
18.6 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
8.0 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
9.5 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
7.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Inn
Turtle Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Lajas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador Guanica 1929? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Guanica 1929

Property: Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Address: Carr 3116 Km 2.5, Avenida Los Veteranos, Guanica 00647 , Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Parador Guanica 1929 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Parador Guanica 1929 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Guanica 1929 Hotel
Parador Guanica 1929 Puerto Rico
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929 Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing