We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mary Lee's by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Villa Parguera(Lajas)(Great Value!)
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parguera Plaza Hotel(Lajas)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colonial(Mayaguez)(Great Value!)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
61
45
14
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
45
14
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgilligan's islandwell equipped kitchenlounge chairsguest housewasher and dryertrip to puerto ricopacificaapartmentmangroveskayakingbedroomtranquiloloungingrentalprcloset
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 133 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night in October. We stayed in Encanto (number 5, I believe?). The room was very big, had a kitchen, large bed, 2 couches, a closet and dressing area and a biiigg shower. We were literally right off of the water and boat dock. As someone else said, this is not a beach. Mary Lee's rents kayaks and will pull them out for you and have them ready whenever you want. We took them out early in the morning and kayaked to Gilligan's Island which is a very short kayaking trip away. Also kayaking distance away is a cute little beach area with super clear water and iguanas swimming around! It was amazing. I thought the room was nice, it was great having a little kitchen and it also had a little patio area with lounge chairs and a patio table. Very peaceful and quiet, the staff was very friendly and willing to talk and help whenever possible. Worth the money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 600lbsofsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family and I spent five nights here and it suited us to a T. We stayed in Sirena 1 which is a 3 bed/2bath upstairs unit across the road from the main complex, complete with view of the Caribbean. The price was very reasonable and we had plenty of space for two couples. We are probably among the more unfussy travelers. We want clean, quiet and relaxing rather than luxurious and amenity-filled. If you need TV, wireless, restaurants, etc., this is absolutely not your place and you can stop reading now.

We used Mary Lee's as a base for excursions to the Guánica dry forest, La Parguera, Ponce, Guilligan's Island and Castañer, with a lot of lounging around in between. There's no beach, but you can walk down to the swimming dock and paddle around in the bay (there is seaweed so again, not for everyone). The Caña Gorda beach is about a mile down the road and the fee is $3/car. It's not large, but it wasn't crowded on the weekday when we went. Guilligan's Island does get crowded on weekends, but we found a secluded spot and had a relaxing couple of hours swimming and wading.

Mostly we ate breakfast and a small meal at the apartment with a larger meal while we were out. There is sufficient kitchen for sandwiches, eggs and other simple dishes. The closest grocery store is the Econo on 116 in Guánica. It's got all the basics at the usual prices. We did make a stop at the larger Mr. Special in Yauco while we were out one day, but the Econo would have done just as well for our purposes.

I do think Mary Lee's has seen better days, but you really shouldn't be spending a whole lot of time in your room anyway. At the very least, sit out on the dock or balcony and read a good book. We brought a jigsaw puzzle and cards as well.

Room Tip: Sirena 1 is upstairs and has AC in the bedrooms only. We never turned it on because opening all of the windows allowed the most wonderful breezes and bird sounds inside. The beds are hard, the showers were excellent (good pressure AND plenty of warm water). There are lots of quirky things (don't look too carefully at the wiring and/or remind yourself that this is a concrete building) and the kitchen is functional but only just. As with most rental units, the knives and pans are terrible. You should also have a high tolerance for fake plants (we stowed a bunch in the bedroom we didn't use). Bring your own toiletries but don't worry about dish soap or coffee filters. I suspect you would want the AC in both Sirena 2 and Preciosa because they are downstairs and breezes are probably blocked by the surrounding buildings and fences. I'm not sure about the other units, all of which are in the main complex.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Mary Lee's for a week over Christmas and
we had a wonderful time. The staff were warm and welcoming and
everything was as we had hoped. We stayed for a few nights in the
main complex in Ruthie's and then had the pleasure of a couple of
nights in Sirena which is less that a minute's walk down the road and
had wonderful views of the ocean. Both were clean, well equipped, and
precisely what we were expecting. The kitchen did lack coffee - as
one reviewer has complained. It also lacked milk, bread, cheese and
the ingredients to cook our first meal. Terribly disappointing for a
self-catering apartment. The inconvenience was further added to by
the local supermarket, Econo, being conveniently located a 5 minute drive
away. We had to endure the beautiful views of the bay as we weaved
the coastal road for supplies. Just awful.

There's no beach at Mary Lee's so you'll have to make do with diving
off the dock for swimming. Beaches can be found all around and there
are two right on your doorstep. You will a find a "wild" one a short
drive east (you keep going until the road ends) and if you need some
facilites then you can pay a small fee to enjoy the local "balnearios
publicos" which is not even a minute's drive west - you'll have driven
past it on your way in and probably again on your way out to get
coffee. If you fancy more of a day trip then checking out the El
Junque rainforest is a must, stopping for Lechon on the way, and -
given the size of the island - day trips into San Juan are perfectly
within your reach. Exhausted from a days hiking in the rainforest or
simply worn out from too much lying on the beach you will be well
received at Mary Lee's. Did I mention that the beds are lovely?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We called Mary Lee's and were told that a 3 bedroom suite was available for our group of 4. We took it although we needed two rooms. It turned out to be an apartment (Sirena) in a house down the street from Mary Lee's by the Sea. So, we were misled from the start. The apartment was very clean but had an utter lack of amenities, including coffee. We had to go a mile away for coffee.
The bad part is that all 4 of us were unable to sleep. The beds were impossibly concrete hard and so uncomfortable. My wife and I gathered our pillows and sheets at 3:30 and went out onto the porch to sleep on plastic chaise lounges.
Be careful making a reservation here. I don't know what the main Inn is like but stay away from any off or near sire "suites"!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank BigFatMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very comfy...welcoming first impressions in the apartment with lights on for our arrival. Big space, bbq, sun lounges, good shower, all kitchen equipment worked.
Part of it's charm is the quirkiness with painted...everything! Lampshades painted, chairs, tables...even the fridge!
TV would have been good to chill out to after a long day travelling about.
Remote area but good to get away...
Hired kayaks from them which was fun
Would have been good to have info about the area...no host to help...Mary Lees is not as she is on the website as now using a zimmer frame...seemed sweet enough though
Snorkeling would have been good but couldn't find where to hire
All in all...an experience!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CeeGee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews