We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbeatable view, BUT...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guanica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mary Lee's by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Guanica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“unbeatable view, BUT...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

After the fairly positive reviews of Mary Lee’s we were disappointed by the shabbiness of our apartment “Contenta”. I did not see any other rooms so my evaluation is only of that particular room. “Contenta” is the basement of one of the houses and feels like a basement: dark, damp, and musty. The room did not appear to have been updated in years and the basic utilities were concerning – extensive use of extension cords for the electrical system and an open drain below the kitchen sink area. Although the upholstered furniture all matched it was worn to the point of being shabby. The bedroom reminded me of a basement root cellar – very little ventilation and a very low ceiling. I realized before making the reservation that there was only air-conditioning in the bedroom, but I expected the air-conditioning system to have more than just hot or cold settings – we either froze or sweated – there was no temperature adjustment. The bathroom vanity was very old with a chipped sink and the shower, although spacious, had mold on the floor. Service was pretty much non-existent. For our 4 night stay for our party of 3 they furnished 3 washcloths, 1 hand towel, and 4 bath towels. When we asked for replacements they gave us 1 washcloth and 2 hand towels. The other times we went to ask we could not find anyone. We only saw the owner once - when we were checking in – she yelled through her screen door that our room information was posted on the fence (as if we were disturbing her by wanting to check in). The only person who we could consistently find was the gardener/boat driver – he was helpful if you needed his services, but that’s apparently all he could help with.
So, the positives of Mary Lee’s: the GORGEOUS view, the easy access to rental kayaks, easy access to Gilligan’s Island via kayak or boat, just sitting on the dock area with a drink and watching the water, the nicely done natural landscaping, and seeing the largest iguanas I’ve ever seen roaming the property.
Weighing the pros and cons, we now wished we'd stayed at the Copamarina. We weren't really looking for the "resort" experience, but we did want better than this.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirlinmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
41
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willington, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We just returned from 5 days @ Sirena 1, quiet, clean and all around pleasant rental. The apartment has a wonderful view from the deck and living room. Pleasant eating on the deck or kitchen area. My main complaint is the lack of pots and pans and dishesfor real cooking. We improvised and did alright. The bedding was clean and bathrooms were clean as well. There are many fine beaches to visit. There are groceries stores in Guanica one doesn't need to travel to Yaucao as the website proclaims. Mary Lee is charming and here staff were helpful as well. I would certainly return again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

I traveled with my spouse, in-laws, and daughters (4 and 10 year old). This was no hotel or resort and I knew this from the get go. It felt like home with spectacular views of Gilligans Island, the ocean, and we were blessed to see wildlife crossing the road - toads, crabs. We stayed in Sirena 1 (upstairs) w/3 bedrooms and it was perfect for our family of 7. The girls loved the decorations-very feminine and tropical as I did!! The only draw back was the HEAT in August so the lack of airconditioning in the kitchen and livingroom made it intolerable to stay and lounge in those areas. However, we did a lot of touristy things like going to Ponce for shopping, and going to the beaches. We also visited Gilligan's Island which is a MUST!!! We chose to catch a boat and order food. They actually bring your food to you so it was PERFECT for us since we didn't have a cooler, picnic baskets, etc. It is a popular place for locals getting away who come ready to barbeque. Overall, we loved this place and would recommend it to others!!! Also, I have to add Mary's staff was super friendly and we were allowed to do our laundry w/o being charged and use their internet. That is a PLUS!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAIBORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

I stayed at Mary Lee's with my wife, our infant, and wife's family, who live in Puerto Rico and were responsible for finding this place. In total, there were 9 of us and we slept comfortable for 2 nights in one of the 2 bedroom units (Alegre). The decoration was exact, down to the smalled details, which created a tropical atmosphere, making it impossible to forget we were on vacation and induced relaxation like I didn't know was possible. It was very quiet so our family time was never disturbed by loud music or drunken parties. We spent a lot of time kayaking (rented from Mary Lee's) in the Caribbean. There is a small island a short distance out that has a shallow channel with a nice current that you could lay in and relax all day long. The kitchen had everything needed for my in-laws to make some really good, traditional Puerto Rican food. The beds were comfortable, rooms clean, and A/C worked great for cooling down after playing in the sun all day. There was no TV, which was fine because we never would have turned it on. There is Wi-Fi, for those that must stay connected. I don't remember seeing anyone outside of our family while staying there, so it really felt like it was all ours at the time. I can't picture a better place to stay on vacation and that's why we're all going back again this year!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Mary Lee's is a small guest house in southwest Puerto Rico, run by the same owner for many decades. It's the perfect place to go to escape the busy San Juan atmosphere. It's located across from the Guanica Dry Forest - so that gurantees you will not see housing complexes or hotels crowding the area anytime soon.

Mary Lee's has about 10 rooms. You basically check in and the rest is up to you. It's not a typical hotel, feels more like a rental apartment with the service crew available in case you need them. In other words, Mary Lee's is not the place for people who are looking for an active nightlife or entertainment. It's a place to enjoy nature and just relax.

By the way, most units have bbq's or open grills, so you can buy some meat at Econo (Guanica) or Pitusa Supermarket (Yauco) or fish from the local fishmarket located near Guanica's Malecon and cook yourself an enjoyable dinner!

There's no beach in front of Mary Lee's but they'll take you to Ballena or Guilligan's Island upon request.

This was my 4th time staying in Mary Lee's and will not be our last.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quasar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We travelled to Guanica to scuba dive for a weekend and stayed at Mary Lee's two nights. We had a 2-bedroom unit and each bedroom had its own full bathroom. It was neat and clean and very cheerfully decorated. There is a private patio with chairs, table, etc. The views are great and we kayaked to the small islands just off of the beach in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mphcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

We traveled with a 2-yr old and intended to buy groceries and cook most of our meals, but dine-out occasionally . We were drawn to the area by reviews for local restaurants and basic activities. We did vacation out of season, expecting limited crowds and limited access to the activities. We encountered both - and were disappointed by the area's lack of restaurant options (Ponce or La Parguera were the closest areas with good restaurants).

The accommodations were spacious, kitchy and basic. We expected a little more polish, but overall were pleased with the privacy and peace. We liked being able to rent kayaks from straight from Mary Lee's rather than an outfit down the road which was pricey and had questionable service. Gilligan's Island and surrounding, deserted beaches are easily reachable by kayak.

The major flaw was with the electric service in our apartment. My wife and I both received minor shocks from the electric stove, and we consequently felt a little uncomfortable about the amount of DIY wiring done inside the bathroom and shower area without any GFCI.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syphaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
3.8 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
11.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Inn
Turtle Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Lajas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
22.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
7.7 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Lee's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Lee's by the Sea

Property: Mary Lee's by the Sea
Address: Rte 333, Km 6.7 | Guánica, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small self catering resort located on the Bay just outside of Guanica, PR. We rent fully furnished units. The bedrooms of all our units have AC, and all have a BBQ area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mary Lee`s By The Sea Hotel Guanica
Mary Lee's By The Sea Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing