We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Parador Villa Parguera(Lajas)(Great Value!)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cofresi Beach Hotel(Boqueron)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Combate Beach Resort(Cabo Rojo)(Great Value!)
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Perichi's(Cabo Rojo)
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,536)
Filter reviews
1,536 results
Traveler rating
798
459
162
77
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
459
162
77
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgilligan's islanddry forestlas palmassea grasskiddie poolspuerto ricooutdoor restaurantgroupercaribbean seaalexandra restaurantsnorkeling tripla pargueramofongosouthwest coastbioluminescent bayrelaxing vacationoff the beaten path
Filter
Updating list...
1,253 - 1,258 of 1,536 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2005

Cold and windy in San Juan so rented a car and drive south into the calm sun. Arrived 2/15/05 and stayed 2 nites and really enjoyed the interlude. Probably the quietest facility we have ever visited.

Beautiful grounds and nice rooms with unusual windows that we opened to the sea breezes. On a bay with wonderful sailing-rented a hobicat. Beach bottom mucky and full of sea grass. Two pools and two jacuzis, very nice. Everything very well maintained. Lots of humingbirds!

Did not opt for the all inclusive plan and did not regret it. A la carte meals very expensive; with limited selections. Meal service very good. Enjoyed one romantic evening in the restaurant-there was a classical guitarist adding to the atmosphere.

There was one coin operated washing machine and dryer (handy!), and a small work out area and spa. Spent one evening in La Parguera and took the $5 tour of the bay-probably a victim of it's success-not many sparkly plankton left, but $5 worth of diversion, to be sure.

We had no problems driving once we left San Juan and everyone matched our Spanish with their English, with grace. This is probably more of a vacation spot for those who live on the island, but we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank liketotravelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2005

We spent a week at the Copamarina for our honeymoon. Loved it! The gounds are great. The beach is pretty, but not a swimming beach - we knew that before reserving the hotel. The staff were very friendly. Walks in the dry forest were fun. We'd agree with most everyone else that the all inclusive is the way to go. No nightlife...but that was one of the best features - so peaceful. Diving trip was great too - very well run and fun dives.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sjkoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2005

We went to the Copamarina in July 2004 for our honeymoon as a part of a town and country package through the Hotel El Convento in San Juan. By far, the Copamarina was the better half of the package. It's hard to know where to begin in talking about the wonderful things they had there...the grounds are breathtaking, the staff is outgoing and friendly, and the food was excellent. Our room was minimally decorated, but we don't go on vacation to look at curtains and bedspreads anyway, and it was very clean. We went snorkeling through the resort's program, and it was great. We were the only two people snorkeling. We laid around in the hammocks they have strewn about the grounds, the sun beds, the lounge chairs, and felt fully pampered and relaxed. It was everything we could have wanted in a honeymoon.

The only caveats I would add are that if you go, you really should get the all inclusive package, and rent a car. The food is very good, but I can imagine that we would have been upset if we'd been paying as we went. As it was, we were able to have all of the daquiris and margaritas we had fantasized about during February in Connecticut while we were planning our honeymoon, and enjoy a wide sampling of food at every meal without ever thinking of the price. Also, we found Guanica a good hub for exploring the dry forest, the rain forest, Ponce, and the bioluminescent bay, but having a car was necessary for that. Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to nature lovers (it's a green resort) and couples or families looking for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mlwebb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madison, IN
117
Reviewed January 14, 2005

Copamarina is a beautiful, quiet resort tucked between the desert hills of coastal PR and a calm bay in the Caribbean Sea. Our one bedroom suite had large rooms, an attractive tropical decor and views of the gardens and the sea. All of the facilities, beach and amenities were in excellent condition. This is a quiet resort in a remote area with limited nightlife but an extremely pleasant atmosphere and a great climate. A snorkel and/or diving excursion leaves from the resort daily.

There are interesting sidetrips within a short drive. The resort is next to a national park with easy hikes and great views of the Caribbean. Public beaches (with waves) are on either side of the resort. Gilligan's island was closed during our stay, but would be an interesting spot to snorkel and swim. Nearby Parguera is a small tourist town with 3 or 4 restaurants, boat rentals and nightly cruises to a bioluminescent bay. Don't expect to spend much time in Guanica.

We did not have the all inclusive package, and found the restaurant to be somewhat overpriced. The food was good, the service slow and amatuerish, but the kids were trying hard. Manana

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Jersey
19
Reviewed January 11, 2005

This is a looow key vacation spot for folks who need to veg. The service is impecable, everyone friendly and accomodating. Their chef even bent over backwards to prepare vegetarian meals for us.

This place will lower your blood pressure and turn your type-A personality into a type-B.

We may very well return for more next winter!
:)

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews