We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Beautiful beach-side location on the southwest coast of Puerto Rico. Great amenities (swim, sale, surf, beach comb), cool sunsets, excellent accommodations, good customer service, and great food. Near dry forest, which is good for hiking, birding and getting next to nature. During first two weeks in December we nearly had it to ourselves. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Beach access at ground level with small private patios. Upper level beachside rooms have balconies o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank htumbleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

I can only say that this was a pleasant experience and the quietness of the resort added to the overall enjoyment for my husband and me. The property was well manicured, staff were exceptionally polite and accommodating, and the food was excellent. Only two items worth pointing out. The water - the Caribbean - that the property was located on was too shallow to swim in. If you want to swim then you needed to go to Gilligan's Island by boat ($7) or you could walk to a public beach (which was very close by) and swim. The public beach, especially during the week, was basically empty and was well maintained. The second point I feel I need to make has to do with the mosquitoes. The resort doesn't spray - good for them - and you will be eaten alive from the hours of apprx. 6PM-7:30PM. When we went, the only restaurant open was an outdoor one, so we had to plan accordingly. Don't get me wrong, we had an absolutely wonderful time and would return if the opportunity presents itself. All the staff were outstanding and friendly.

Room Tip: We did not have an ocean view but found that we had no difficulty seeing the ocean, or sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocolatecakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This place has been wonderful! The views on the beach are beautiful I've really enjoyed laying out on the cabanas and sleeping under the sun. But the best part about the hotel is the dry forest just outside of the parking lot. It's a UN protected biosphere and only 1% of all dry forests remain in the entire world. I'm a huge fan of camping and hiking so this made the entire stay for me. Just walk around and see the endangered species, the incredible cliffs and rocky coastline it's the best way to spend the day.

There's also The mangrove island which is a quick 10minute boat ride away. It's a good way to hang out do some easy snorkeling and check out another unique ecosystem. The bad news is all the tourists have left their mark on the small island. Trash can be seen throughout the waterways and on the beach...

If you're more into the resort life the food is pretty good but over priced, and the service is slow at the cafe but everything else couldn't be better! The resort does a great job keeping the place clean and everyone happy.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank ChiSWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband, 4 children and their spouses, decided to celebrate my Birthday in this resort and bravo for them. The areas were very well kept, the services were fantastic and the people working there went their way to please us. Even though it was fully booked and a wedding was taking place, you never felt crowded. There were no loud noises and the ambiance every were you went was peaceful and calm.
I observed that all the rooms had fantastic views to the sea/ocean. We liked it so much we went again the next weekend without the kids.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzzettebuxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Copamarina has yet to disappoint , our family has stayed at this property several times and wether a wedding party of 100 or a family of four we ve only had top notch service. The restaurants are somewhat pricey but always delicious. Tons of water sports available at very reasonable prices

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aasenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our family (adults, teens) enjoyed our stay here for about 4 days over spring break. It started out a little rough when we were given a room other than what we had expected, and because the hotel was full, it took a while to sort things out and find a satisfactory resolution. But the staff did make every effort to make that happen, and we ended up with two very comfortable and spacious adjoining rooms with a beautifully serene view over the palm studded lawn and the ocean.

From there on the trip was wonderful -- the days seemed to stretch on forever (in a good way!) when there was nothing we were obligated to do and so many nice places to relax. Even though the hotel was full, it never felt crowded. It's not the kind of hotel where you have to rush down to the pool at 6 a.m. to claim your poolside chairs with a towel. We found that if you mosey down at 10 you'll find a chair just fine. It's not as easy to land one of the mattresses-on-stilts-under-thatched roof, but over the course of our stay we had the chance to sample those too, as well as to relax on chaise lounges under a tiki hut (on the beach or in the water!) and to lounge in the hammocks hanging here and there.

The beach is not good for swimming, but there are nice pools and there's a lovely (free) public beach just a five minute walk down the sand. Even though it was spring break for all the schools in Puerto Rico, that beach wasn't crowded either.

We rented snorkeling equipment that we took out (on a hotel launch) to the small island they nickname "Gilligan's Island." It's actually part of the same public park that is inland from the hotel. If you're a snorkeling expert you probably won't find the underground flora and fauna particularly interesting, but for us novices it was a lot of fun (and pretty easy). There's a loop through two mangrove channels, but do ask when you get the equipment which direction to swim in, as you'll swim upstream in one and downstream in the other and one has a stronger current. It was a quite crowded on the island, but we were told that was because it was spring break, and that it's uncrowded during the rest of the year. Regardless, it was lots of fun.

The kids also kayaked, which was easy to arrange and do. Breakfast and dinner were included in our rate, and we ate lunch at the resort as well as there aren't many other choices nearby. Food was good and most meals were outside. The hotel sits in the middle of another part of the public park, which is actually a "dry forest" and which we heard had interesting hiking. Too hot and too energetic for us.

We loved our stay and will go back if we have the chance!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the buildings that face on the main green area if you can. One of the rooms we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gramana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our Family of 3 Adults truly enjoyed our visit to the Copamarina. The resort is rather isolated, but perfect for a few relaxing days. The grounds and pool areas are well-maintained, with many orchids, and amazing Rainbow Eucalyptus trees. The beach is scenic, but shallow, grassy and turbulent, so the best swimming and snorkeling in the area is at a small Mangrove island group just offshore, Guilligan's island. The resort runs a clean, prompt catamaran every hour to/from the islands.
The restaurant service is excellent, and the food tasty, although a bit more variation on the menu would be appreciated, as it is really the only place around to eat.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a nice view. We had a "Garden View" that looked out over the ocean.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have Ocean Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Charming and Relaxing;

Thanks for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at Copamarina, We are happy to read that you had enjoyed your visit!

We hope to see you in the near future,

Appreciated

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
rortiz@copamarina.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
21.8 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
699 reviews
63.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
79.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
63.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.4 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range: $152 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing