We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Copamarinia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We loved our stay at Copamarina. The grounds are impeccably kept and there are numerous varieties of plants, trees and gorgeous flowers. We had a Garden View room and it was most impressive. The property has several very large pools and several hot tubs. The onsite restaurants are both very good.

The beach is beautiful but not really meant for swimming. It’s very shallow but still the area is scenic. The pools definitely make up for the lack of beach swimming.

We’d stay at Copamarina again and I hope we do.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TENN_Beach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
There are newer reviews for Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Copamarina in April of 2008, for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had read all the reviews and it is funny how there are such conflicting opinions. In general we agreed that the resort is a beautiful setting, but the food leaves much to be desired.

One of our main complaints was that even though the resort was almost empty, we were assigned to a room right by the noisy ice machines and maid closet, plus we were directly adjacent (with a shared connecting door) to a large group of young people who obvioulsy went out partying each night (not at the resort) until 3:00am and came home very boisterous. The walls are very thin, so it felt like they were in our room. It made no senss to us that we were not 'spread out'. After the 2nd night, we asked to be moved, and we were accommodated immediately, with no questions asked (we should have asked earlier).

Back to the food, we don't consider ourselves food snobs by any means, but we rated the resturants as mediocre. Also, the first night at Alexandra's, we mentioned casually to the matre'd that we had not yet been visited by the waiter, after about 10-15 minutes (we just wanted to place a drink order since it was so nice sitting outside by the pool). Th waiter then showed up, obviously perturbed at our impatience, and rudely asked what we wanted to order, since he assumed we were in a hurry. We explained that we were not in a hurry, just wanted a drink. By the end of the evening we were on chummy terms with him, so it turned out OK.

The drive from San Juan took longer than expected, but it is very scenic, and that was the only 'sightseeing' that we did, since we generally did not want to leave the resort, since it is so pleasant and restful.

We did the Gilligan's Island trip - definetly over-rated, I'm sad to say. It is very small and very few areas to sit on the beach.

We found the service at the resort to be very good, with everyone very friendly (we opted for the all-inclusive plan, so we got to know the wait staff well by the end of our stay). Not sure if the all-inclusive is worth it - you have to eat/drink a lot to justify it. Plus, tips are not included, which adds to the overall cost and makes it harder to justify. I definetly disagree with that policy - I think most all-inclusives include tips.

But honestly, we did have a good time and would recommend this resort for a relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

We stayed at the copamarina for a few days in november. we really loved the secluded feel of the hotel. we got there very early in the morning and as we drove to the hotel on a windy, kinda scary , kinda adventurous road up the hill towards the beach we caught the most amazing--breathtaking view of the sun rising over the ocean and the sky was a pale blue color....that experience alone brought a total sense of serenity to our entire trip.
the hotel is a bit out of the way from the main town, but we actually really enjoyed being away from the main city. the road is scary to drive through at night, but its not impossible, and it think was just recently paved so if anything itll be a really smooth ride :)

the beach at the hotel is not great (and we are beach people) its got all types of seaweed all over it and the sand is more of a clay texture, the water is really warm.... the hotel has these amazing canopy beds on the beach!!!! definitely one of my favorite parts of the hotel---taking the daily nap on the canopy bed....a must!

they really do a great job of keeping the hotel grounds really clean and well manicured...it felt really good to walk around and look at all the pretty flowers.....

the staff at the hotel and the restaurant were extremely helpful and accommodating---the chef at the restaurant (not the expensive one but the one on the outside) really took care of us and made a vegetarian meal for us that was really tasty.

ask at the hotel reception area for recommendations on which beaches to go to....theyre really helpful. Renting a car is necessary.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osa_maravillosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

I went to the Copamarina for my honeymoon. This is a great estate, situated on a really remote portion of Puerto Rico (a 2 1/2 hour drive from San Juan International Airport). The landscaping and scenery are second to none, my new wife and I loved all of the beautiful scenery and the laid back atmosphere.

However, we did feel a few crucial pieces were missing to give this resort a better grade. First there is NO room service, so do not plan on taking a morning off and just relaxing in the room. You must go down to one of the two restaurants to get your meals. Another drawback was there is no "honor bar" or wet bar. So, you cannot continue a party back in your room or enjoy a nightcap before bed without going down to the bar and grabbing another drink, which is quite a walk I might add, especially if you're on the second floor of building three. These are minor drawbacks, but when you pay that much money for an "all - inclusive" package, I expect some of these extras to be there, and when they are not it is disappointing.

All in all we had a good time. We had a set back with the snorkeling trip to Gilligan’s island. We went into the surf shop to book a trip for the morning, and we were told that, "the boat was being worked on, so there are no trips." This was fine, what are you going to do? The man also added, "It wouldn’t have mattered anyway, you need a minimum of 6 passengers for them to make the trip." It just so happened that the resort was VERY secluded this particular week, (which I enjoyed). So we cut our losses woke up and rented a double kayak and paddled around all morning instead. When we returned we went up to our room, changed, and then went down to eat at the Las Palmas Cafe. While we were sitting there enjoying our lunch and drinking pina colada's we saw a couple walking out on the dock with snorkel gear. Then, a snorkel boat floated over from the other docks, picked up the TWO passengers and headed off, all this while we sat and watched infuriated at the scene, and of course we weren’t in our swimming gear so running out and stopping them wasn't an option. So they did take as little as two people on the boat, and obviously it wasn't broken. I went in the shop to figure out how this miscommunication could have happened, and of course the guy that fed us the line of B.S. wasn't working that day, and we were leaving the following morning.

So all in all the service is sub-par. A lot of the staff is friendly and a handful of them tend to look at you as a pain more than a customer. The resort is unbelievably beautiful. I have been to the Bahamas and Cancun, and this is as good or better in terms of quality landscaping. Nobody had written about the lack of services for the prices you pay to stay here, and that would have been a factor in my decision to stay here if I would have read that prior to booking this trip. Great getaway location, but the service needs an update.

-RAJ, NH

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank russell1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copamarina2008, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2008

As I reviewed your experience it upsets me that we failed to provide you with alternatives that would have resulted in an enjoyable experience instead of a failure to deliver. I have spoken to everyone at the dive shop, and explained to them where we failed, in order to assure an event like this doesn't happen again. Every hour there is a ferry trip to Gilligan's Island. The dive shop calls the private provider and they stop at our pier. You should have been informed and we should have lent you the diving gear instead of depriving you of the experience. I sincerely apologized for the lack of concern shown by an employee who does not represent the service commitment expected from a Copamarina employee.

Any additional information or comment you will personally like to share, feel free to contact me at:
guillermo@copamarina.com
787 821 0622 direct line
1 800 468 4553 ext 703


Guillermo Torres
General Manager
Copamarina Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We loved the tranquillity of this property. I would say that it is definately worth it to get the all inclusive package. We didn't realize how secluded it was and found out that there was really no other place to go out to eat or shop near by. We loved snorkling and being at the beach and pool though, and enjoyed it so much.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricknsue1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We rented a car in San Juan and drove to Copamarina. Just before Ponce we detoured to Tibes to see the very interesting native museum and reconstructed village. The guide was very knowledgeable. It's a challenge to find with few road signs but it's worth the effort and a visit.

The resort is down a very narrow, twisty, hilly road. Once you finally get to the hotel the grounds are beautiful with manicured lawns and lots of flowers and Palm trees. The parking lot was full but the resort never felt crowded. There was enough room for everyone to spread out and find a quiet spot. The many beautiful pictures people have posted of the grounds are accurate.

On the other hand, there are few pictures posted of the rooms which tend to be dark, small and rustic. We had an ocean front room in building three on the second floor with a balcony. Being an old resort the walls are not very thick so it's possible to hear conversations in the rooms on either side of you. There are vent windows over the shower in the bathroom that open onto the walkway and people should know their conversations in the bathroom can be heard by people passing by. Since we were on the second floor we didn't hear anyone walking above us but that might be a problem in the first floor rooms. The bathroom had obviously recently been renovated and was nicer than the one we had in San Juan with a big tiled shower. The room furniture could stand an updating. And as someone previously said the pillows were small, foam and not very comfortable. We used a back cushion from the chair as a pillow and that worked better.
The balcony fan didn't work and two requests to have it fixed were ignored. The balcony furniture was stained and the privacy dividers were lattice so they gave little privacy. However, the view from the balcony was lovely.

We ate dinner both nights at the Alexandra Restaurant. Usually we'd go off site after the first night but the resort is fairly isolated and the thought of driving the twisty road in the dark to return to the resort after dinner discouraged us. On the other hand, we had excellent meals both nights at the Alexandra. We ate one of the chef's seafood specials each night and each was delicious. They were of equal or better quality to the dinners we had in San Juan and of comparable cost. The buffet breakfast at Las Palmas was good with a cook making omelots and waffles but at $16 per person it was expensive for what each of us was able to eat.

The pools were clean and beautiful and it was great that there were two adult pools, two kids pools, two whirlpools, as well as the beach. The water in the pools and at the beach was very warm which I really liked. The beach was very shallow which was fine for me but swimmers walked to the end of the long dock to find deeper water to swim in.

We took the ferry to Gilligan's Island Saturday morning. The ferry and the island were very crowded. Even though only 200 people are allowed on the island each day it's a small island and it fills up quickly. It's a favorite daytrip for local extended families and they know the best places to go early to set up their grills, chairs. etc. There are no services on the island so you need to bring everything you'll need. The resort doesn't rent folding chairs but that would be very helpful since many of the areas have roots and stones which are not particularly comfortable for sitting. We snorkeled along some mangrove island roots and saw lots of Yellow Jacks. The current was very strong but we drifted with it so it worked out okay.

All in all, the resort was pretty much what we expected as far as the rooms but the views, landscaping, and Alexandra's were better than we expected. Copamarina was a restful, quiet break from the hubbub of San Juan. I'm glad we decided to explore the south side of the island. It's a beautiful and peaceful area.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copamarina2008, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2008

Copamarina Beach Resort deeply regrets any inconvenience cause to our guests due to the lack of water services. A major rupture, on April 25 and April 26, on the pipeline that services the town of Guanica and it's residents also interrupted the water supply to our property. Our staff worked continously to provide the liquid for the basic needs of our guests. This has made us accelerate our improvement plans, which includes a water cistern that will satisfy all our property water needs in case a situation like this arises again.

Guillermo Torres
General Manager
guillermo@copamarina


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We drove from San Juan to Guanica on our week-long trip to Puerto Rico. (Neither of us had been to PR previously.) We stayed at the El San Juan hotel in San Juan, and this was quite a different experience.

The rooms are, shall we say, 'rustic' and not big at all. The hotel grounds are lush and beautiful, the restaurant Alexandra is excellent and the outdoor, more casual restaurant is very good as well. You really do feel very secluded here. The beach itself is not that great. We were looking for a more tropical beach and decided to take the boat trip to Gilligan's island. We did it on a Sunday and it was super-crowded. We realized that it's a locals hangout on a weekend--and that's fine, but get there early if you want a spot. It would be best to do it during the week and also with water shoes so you can walk through the shallow water without hurting your feet on the rocky bottom. The 'adult' pool was very nice--it wasn't crowded, so it was a nice and peaceful place to relax.

For a low-key atmosphere and a place to relax without all the glitz of a big city hotel, this should fit your needs.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beantowntrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
21.8 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
699 reviews
79.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
63.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.4 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range: $151 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing