We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel near Ponce due to an activity that was taking place. All hotels in the area were sold out so we ended at CopaMarina. It was amazing! The property its beautiful and well maintained. The only drawback is that food is expensive and the resort is not close or I should say that the drive in the night to the town is not the best. So, before you get to the resort stop in a supermarket in town to get some refreshments, this will do it. Were making plans to return again to this wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lila450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
There are newer reviews for Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Copamarina is a lovely resort in a beautiful location. It's surrounded by forest and protected coastline, and was wonderfully peaceful the week we were there, just before Xmas '12. Pools are nice, the beach is picturesque. Note that these are not really sand beaches--there is alot of sea grass and plant growth on the bottom. But this is not a problem. Swimming is great, water is warm and clear.

Rooms are comfortable, if not exactly luxurious. Some furnishings are tired or in need or repair. But we loved the shutters, which kept the sun out and let us sleep late. Beds are comfy, maid service is good.

Our biggest complaint is that, despite the peaceful surroundings, there was alot of manmade noise. Gardeners seemed to be awfully busy with power trimmers at all hours. This work has to be done, but during a busy holiday week? Worse was the fact that a bulldozer was busy pushing dirt for hours each day, right next to the beach, and beside the only restaurant. Again, terrible timing for whatever work they are doing. Had they warned us, we would not have come during construction. We were also disappointed that the gym was not air conditioned. Despite our complaints, no one came out to address this.

Note also that one of the two restaurants may be closed on weekdays. That leaves you with one place to eat, with a limited menu. It's a long and winding road into town, so it's worth stocking up on food at the Econo in Guanica. Be sure you ask for a room with a fridge for storage.

Room Tip: It's wise to ask for a room away from the restaurant and kids pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank labramson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Labramson ''Very nice could be better"

Thanks for your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay at Copamarina, We are happy to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable and you have appreciated the surroundings in general,

We do apologize for the excessive noise while enhancing the resort landscape and grounds, something that we have to perform on regular basis to maintain the beauty of them!

Our staff has bein notified that no landscape work using motorized equipment shall be started before 9.30 am, to provide time to rest for all of our guests,

Unfortunately the A/C unit at the gym fails during holidays where no replacement parts were available, that was corrected in the next couple of days!

Once again, our apologies for the inconveniences and looking forward to your next visit at Copamarina

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
rortiz@copamarina.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. A relaxing resort with lots of options for things to do, or you can do nothing. All rooms seem to have a view of beach and pools. NIce buffet breakfast at typical resort prices. Beautiful beach although too shallow to swim, but they have several nice pools, and there is a swimming beach within walking distance.

We found the customer service to be very good and hotel staff to be very friendly. We had a problem at check in that could have been a disaster, but they went out of their way to work it out to our satisfaction. I do agree with one reviewer that a microwave would have been nice, but they do have refrigerators, so if you stick with cold cuts and such foods, you can eat just fine without having to eat out. Still, I would highly recommend taking a ride to eat out at local eateries. The local food is wonderful! Definately recommend this hotel and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Overall: The Copamarina is a beautiful resort in southern Puerto Rico. With nice rooms (all about 100 feet from the beach) and a surprisingly good restaurant, it is a great place to relax in the sun.

Location: The Copamarina is located on the Caribbean (southern) shore of Puerto Rico, where it is generally sunnier, and the waters are much calmer and clearer than in San Juan. The resort is in Guanica, and about 6km from the nearest town.

Rooms: My room was comfortable and had the modern conveniences (room safe, flat screen TV with satellite, good air conditioning, and free wifi). I had an issue when I first checked in. The shower in the room only produced scalding hot water... the temperature knob did not work. I called the front desk, and they said they would notify maintenance. This was at about 10pm. After an hour, I called back, and they just moved me to a different room.

Facilities:
The resort has two restaurants. Las Palmas Café & Bar was reasonably priced and served surprisingly good food. I had 3 meals here during my 2 night stay and was very happy. There is also a second, fancier restaurant called Alexandra. This was closed when I was there (only open on the weekends until more tourists show up in late December).

There are multiple pools and hot tubs, beach chairs, thatch roofed palapas, and a pier for guest use.

The resort has an activity desk (for booking snorkeling/diving trips) and a spa, but I did not make use of these.

Value:
With a special promotion, I managed to get two nights for a total (taxes and all) of $120 per night for a garden-view room. With the reasonable restaurant prices, I found this resort to be an excellent value. Admittedly, I was there the first week of December, when there were very few guests. I believe the prices are typically another $40 or so for the prime season... even so, I think it is a good value.

Room Tip: My "garden view" room still faced the ocean, just from the ground level. After seeing the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cincinnatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed on december from 10-14. The resort is nice and really quiet, perfect for rest and escape from the city. Hotel staff was nice and pools and overall was nice. The room.was clean and with great view. JUST some suggestions, rooms should have microwave because there are not many alternatives to dine near resort besides hotel‘s restaurant. We would defenitely.come.back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colon-latorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My second stay here so I think I have a frame of reference. Location is great and kid friendly, weather predictably sunny, food improved over last year. Restaurant service and maid service very nice. The negative: customer service from the front desk - inaccurate information, inability to change my room when the resort was clearly not full and we had a maiantance issue of a broken ac. Spa is unable to book appointments yet has no customers! I think the front desk is friendly enough but either poorly trained or not trained to solve problems or not wanting to. Overall I like the location and the low key vibe but the customer service is an issue

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureenwct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

“Beautiful tranquil setting with issues”

Thank you for your feedback during your second visit at Copamarina. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We apologize for the inconvenience and not being able to fulfill your expectations in regards to room, maintenance situation, and Spa services.

I have shared your comments with the concerned departments to take measures and avoid recurrence. Looking forward to see you at Copamarina in the near future!


Regards,

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our fist time to Puerto Rico and loved the island. The resort staff was great, the location was quiet and had a nice beach area. Rented canoes and paddled over to Gilligans Island was a highlight. The resturant was magnificent and bar area was open and enjoyed the atmosphere. It was very quiet with not many quests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
21.8 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
699 reviews
79.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
63.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.4 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range: $151 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing