We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Bad:
After being advertised as an All-Inclusive resort we were greeted with that it was not an all-inclusive resort since May. Way to go!

The first night there was a huge rain and water was all over the front lobby. Everything was wet and slippery; not comfy at all. Although the weather is not the resorts fault, the lobby full of water is.

If you want a massage as it is advertised as a SPA, forget it. Appointments will not be kept and no care is given about it. You will not be compensated.

Honestly it's our first visit and I am not so sure if we will visit again. A very long way from the metro area and not the best of attentions.

Expensive:
If you are with your spouse, one full day is going to cost you around $90-100/person. Starting with breakfast @ ~$20/person; Lunch @ $20/person and dinner at $30-$40 per person with some light drinking. The best bet would be to get the breakfast and eat plenty as it is buffet
As a pay as a you eat/drink resort, it appears to be a tad expensive for a beach front room 490 for 2 nights and 3 days where you only enjoy one full day of it for $500.00 its really expensive. With that budget we could have gone easily to El Conquistador and have had better experience overall.

Staff:
The staff although polite and somewhat attentive as you would expect, they are not keen to taking your vacation seriously. They didn't know what is being offered and what is not. They are mostly "bound" to limits in a place where you wouldn't want to find one. Specially in the food area. Unless you find yourself with LUIS RODRIGUEZ, he will make sure you have what you want despite what the other waitress tell you. This guy made our day. He was extremely polite and attentive and made sure our wishes for breakfast were met, even if it wasn't on the buffet. He is the guy preparing the custom breakfast like omelets and others like fried eggs. Very nice person and a pleasure to deal with. Definitely made a difference in all the "no-to-everything-saying" full staff.

The Premises:

In this regard it is a great place. The beach front is quite nice. You get to see the sunset in a very romantic way on the beach or on the stools/beds that are on the beach. The bar is right in front of the beach and you always have an awesome view.

The decoration of the place is quite nice and charming. We enjoyed a lot more eating by the bar than inside in Alexandria's Restaurant. But for the people that really like the "going out to the restaurant" you can still have that experience.

I do not recommend visiting Giligan's Island. It was really a waste of time and a waste of money in our opinion There is absolutely nothing to see and you will have a much better view by the hotel than on the island.

The place is very nicely lit and the ambient is really relaxing. In this regards I give the place A+ There are 3 pools: One by the beach front rooms, the main pool which has a low wall that gives a good view to the beach and a hot bath pool for room for about 5-6 people. Very nice facilities. The touch of wood on the decoration is quite appealing and nice.

We recommend staying at the beach front rooms like we did. It is a lot nice to have a back door beach access to your room and not having to cross by the front desk or lobby. Don't know why, I just liked it better.

Food:
The food was decently good. Not the best, but honestly you will eat well for the duration of your stay. We tried the Skirt Steaks and The Marlin. Of all the skirt Stake is a better meal (churrasco).

The Pina Colada that we ordered was absolutely HORRIBLE (Sorry).

The Room:

The room was a double queen bed and the stay is average. The decoration is nice and overall is a nice room to stay in. Its not a 5-star all the amenities hotel, but it gets the job done for the getaway escape.

Overall:

Its a nice place and I hope this review gets viewed by the managers so they can see what is good and what is bad and they can fix the bad things going on that could make this place a great stay.

Room Tip: Get the room with the beach front. 108-106 would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank desaintpreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    387
    135
    61
    29
See reviews for
377
454
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Last trip to Puerto Rico we stopped in to look around on our way to Gilligans Island. Even thou here on business we decided to stay here. Very happy we did! Very relaxing and convenient with the restaurants on the property which were good! Looking forward to coming with my whole family some day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadsburyville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family very much enjoyed our stay at Copamarina. The rooms and hotel grounds were well-maintained and the staff was very courteous and helpful. Our kids (5 and 10) loved the various pools and hot tubs, and we enjoyed day-trip to Gilligan's Island. Drawbacks are remote location - 30 min drive to nearest outside restaurant - long drive to/from San Juan. Also, Copamarina's beach is just awful - 'gummy' sand and too much seaweed. Badly in need of a dredging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from spending ten day in Puerto Rico getting reacquainted with the island. We spent the last two days at the Copamarina Beach Resort in Guanica on the southwest coast of the island. Because it was the off season, we were one of the few guest at the resort. From our check-in to check-out the staff was very attentive to our needs. The standard accommodations were very spacious, a king bed, and sitting area with sofa-bed, as well as a balcony with furniture overlooking the very manicured grounds and pools. Yes, the beach is not ideal for swimming, but the hotel offers transportation, $7 per person, to "Gilligan's Island", a cay just off the coast where the waters are crystal clear and the sand snow white. Again, we had the island to ourselves. The hotel is fairly remote, so a car rental is a must. However, we found the restaurants at the hotel had a delicious and varied menu with very attentive staff. In the off season this is a wonderful quiet get-away!

Room Tip: The hotel sprawls so some rooms are quite distant from the lobby and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillNewBraunfels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Another diving adventure, but now in Puerto Rico. We heard so many good things about the Black Corals in the South of Puerto Rico, we decided to try it and booked an all inclusive getaway; all beverages, food and diving. The accommodations were nice and huge, condo like with Balconies and views of the ocean.
Our first day of diving, the boat went kaput, so headed back and scheduled for the afternoon instead......but not so....not repaired yet, so the next day.
Next day came the second boat also went kaput, so headed back in a hurry to catch another boat from Parguera (45 minutes away).....
Aside from the problems, which could happen......the hotel management refused to give us anything in return, as we bought the package that included diving for 2 days, which we had to pay at another dive outfit since their boat was not in good shape. They didn't even offer to pay for our dive trip elsewhere......all inclusive? Well, issues are inclusive as well.......

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jadorevelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good place to see the sea front the hotel in the day and also the night and relax, Once you get there you park almost in front of the front desk so that is great. Have two restaurants to eat (Las Palmas Cafe) open every day for good breakfast, lunch and diner and other formal (Alexandra Restaurant) , And the night near the beach is is amazing.Clean, fresh, good service excelent for all seasons.

more

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orroz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to enjoy a relax atmosphere, this is the place. No crowded people, only Caribbean Sea breeze and a lot of water sports to do in this quietly waters. Gilligan Island is amazing, you can do snorkeling or simply sleep in front of the view. Restaurants are pretty clean and menu was great in an affordable prices (if you did not buy any all inclusive package). You can walk awhile to visit the Dry Forest and appreciate the biodiversity there.
We had a great time with my family. Remember, if you want to be relax, this is the place.

Room Tip: 201 and 301 buildings are great if you want to enjoy the Caribbean Sea from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwanda_2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
63.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
63.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
61.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
87.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
63.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing