We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive only when exclusive of problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Another diving adventure, but now in Puerto Rico. We heard so many good things about the Black Corals in the South of Puerto Rico, we decided to try it and booked an all inclusive getaway; all beverages, food and diving. The accommodations were nice and huge, condo like with Balconies and views of the ocean.
Our first day of diving, the boat went kaput, so headed back and scheduled for the afternoon instead......but not so....not repaired yet, so the next day.
Next day came the second boat also went kaput, so headed back in a hurry to catch another boat from Parguera (45 minutes away).....
Aside from the problems, which could happen......the hotel management refused to give us anything in return, as we bought the package that included diving for 2 days, which we had to pay at another dive outfit since their boat was not in good shape. They didn't even offer to pay for our dive trip elsewhere......all inclusive? Well, issues are inclusive as well.......

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jadorevelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
There are newer reviews for Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good place to see the sea front the hotel in the day and also the night and relax, Once you get there you park almost in front of the front desk so that is great. Have two restaurants to eat (Las Palmas Cafe) open every day for good breakfast, lunch and diner and other formal (Alexandra Restaurant) , And the night near the beach is is amazing.Clean, fresh, good service excelent for all seasons.

more

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orroz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to enjoy a relax atmosphere, this is the place. No crowded people, only Caribbean Sea breeze and a lot of water sports to do in this quietly waters. Gilligan Island is amazing, you can do snorkeling or simply sleep in front of the view. Restaurants are pretty clean and menu was great in an affordable prices (if you did not buy any all inclusive package). You can walk awhile to visit the Dry Forest and appreciate the biodiversity there.
We had a great time with my family. Remember, if you want to be relax, this is the place.

Room Tip: 201 and 301 buildings are great if you want to enjoy the Caribbean Sea from your balcony!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwanda_2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Good place to relax, but to expensive for the quality of the room especially the bathroom. Getting there is not easy is a long drive from San Juan. Once you get there you park almost in front of the front desk so that is great. They have two places to eat Las Palmas Cafe open every day for breakfast, lunch and diner, good food and not expensive. The other place is Alexandra these is a fine dinnig restaurant is only open on the weekends so that I din't try but have a great menu and is not that expensive. They have all kinds of watersport things to do, kayak, snorkleing, hobby cat. They even take you to these island that is a most name Gilligan's Island. Also have 5 pools great for kids and grownups. The rooms are very simple nothing fancy. One of the problems is theres no coolers allow so that makes it dificult for bringing stuff for drinking or anything you want to bring, even thou they have small refigirator in the room. The service is good but not great.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsuper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

“It should not be a $260.00 a night hotel”

Elsuper07,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay at Copamarina.

By mid of 2013 we are expecting to have renovated our rooms with new upgraded features such as: new furniture, fresh neutral color paint, new linen, among others to better serve the comfort and relaxation of our guests in all of our different rooms category .

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the food quality offered at our property Restaurants. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Rabin Ortiz

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I had an overall satisfactory time at Copamarina. The pools were nice, there were plenty of chairs at the beach, and the two restaurants had mostly great food.

Our initial impression was not the greatest as we arrived one hour early and told our room was not yet ready (completely understandable). After one hour, we went back to check-in and told that our room was still not ready. With no place to change or put our things, we spent the next hour waiting in the lobby. Finally when our room was ready, we found the bathroom was not as clean as we would have liked (we found some hairs in the bathroom, not a huge deal, but unpleasant) and were confused about why we had to wait so long. Overall the room was furnished well and had a great balcony. I would recommend asking for a room on the second floor so you have a full ocean view. The grounds are also kept very nicely.

Our second issue was with the dive shop. The staff was friendly, but they lost or somehow confused our snorkeling reservation even though we had called ahead a week in advance. Their reservation system is just a white board, so I think it could use some improvement. We ended up not going snorkeling at all.

We also took the ferry to Gilligan's Island, which was not a pristine beach like we thought, but a small mangrove island packed with people.

This was both of our first times to a Caribbean resort, so it is possible our expectations were a little too high. Overall, we enjoyed our time together here for 3 days, but I think we will try out other resorts in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KyH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The South coast of Puerto Rico is a sleepy family atmosphere. We stayed a weekend here, driving down from San Juan. Rooms are perfectly nice, clean and well-kept. Pillows were lumpy and thin, mattresses could use an update.

Pool and other areas were well kept as well (and it was booked when we were there). Staff were friendly and helpful if you asked for anything.

There really are no southern beaches - there is a strip you can walk along, the water has turtlegrass. It won't hurt you, but if you are thinking of sugarsand beaches with no seaweed, think again. If you want to swim in the glassy-still lagoon, you need to jump off the pier end where it's deeper. They have a floating platform too for lounging on.

One thing I didn't like was a lack of drinking water in the rooms - there was some available in the lobby area. Coolers are not allowed in the rooms and there are no fridges.

Restaurants were pretty decent. We ate there a couple of times. Service was good and food was solid, if not stellar. Remember - this is a rather isolated area.

I'd say it was a good dependable "average". If I were in the area again, I might choose to stay there again, but then I might try someplace else (caveat - there aren't too many other places).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Cynthia G.,
We appreciate your comments. We are glad you had a good timer at our Resort.

We are currently undergoing room renovations which are expected to be completed by mid of 2013. These new add-ons to the Resort will include king size pillows and linen for your comfort.

We recently incorporated an amenity request system to our reservation department. Any moment prior to your date of arrival or during your stay you may request to have your mini fridge filled up with your favorite soft drinks, snacks, fruits and/or wine.

Looking forward to greeting you on your next visit to Copamarina!

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Copamarina is a nice resort with excellent service and friendly employees. Mr. Rabin Ortiz, the general manager, is always smiling and very helpful. The rooms are very clean and each have a nice balcony. The beautiful gardens are well kept. The resort is kid-friendly. It has a playground, 2 children's pools, and the beach has shallow waters. On Friday night there is live music, and Saturday is movie night! The food is great and fresh. You have to try the "Mofongo relleno de mero" (mofongo stuffed with grouper in garlic & lemon sauce). Delicious!
We are definitely coming back soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuleikaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

“The best place for a quiet relaxation in Guánica!”

Dear ZuleikaLiz,
Thank you for posting your comments in regards of your stay at Copamarina. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you soon!

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
21.8 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
699 reviews
79.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
63.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.4 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range: $151 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing