We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Family place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Family place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The South coast of Puerto Rico is a sleepy family atmosphere. We stayed a weekend here, driving down from San Juan. Rooms are perfectly nice, clean and well-kept. Pillows were lumpy and thin, mattresses could use an update.

Pool and other areas were well kept as well (and it was booked when we were there). Staff were friendly and helpful if you asked for anything.

There really are no southern beaches - there is a strip you can walk along, the water has turtlegrass. It won't hurt you, but if you are thinking of sugarsand beaches with no seaweed, think again. If you want to swim in the glassy-still lagoon, you need to jump off the pier end where it's deeper. They have a floating platform too for lounging on.

One thing I didn't like was a lack of drinking water in the rooms - there was some available in the lobby area. Coolers are not allowed in the rooms and there are no fridges.

Restaurants were pretty decent. We ate there a couple of times. Service was good and food was solid, if not stellar. Remember - this is a rather isolated area.

I'd say it was a good dependable "average". If I were in the area again, I might choose to stay there again, but then I might try someplace else (caveat - there aren't too many other places).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Cynthia G.,
We appreciate your comments. We are glad you had a good timer at our Resort.

We are currently undergoing room renovations which are expected to be completed by mid of 2013. These new add-ons to the Resort will include king size pillows and linen for your comfort.

We recently incorporated an amenity request system to our reservation department. Any moment prior to your date of arrival or during your stay you may request to have your mini fridge filled up with your favorite soft drinks, snacks, fruits and/or wine.

Looking forward to greeting you on your next visit to Copamarina!

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    396
    137
    66
    30
See reviews for
394
457
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Copamarina is a nice resort with excellent service and friendly employees. Mr. Rabin Ortiz, the general manager, is always smiling and very helpful. The rooms are very clean and each have a nice balcony. The beautiful gardens are well kept. The resort is kid-friendly. It has a playground, 2 children's pools, and the beach has shallow waters. On Friday night there is live music, and Saturday is movie night! The food is great and fresh. You have to try the "Mofongo relleno de mero" (mofongo stuffed with grouper in garlic & lemon sauce). Delicious!
We are definitely coming back soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuleikaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
“The best place for a quiet relaxation in Guánica!”

Dear ZuleikaLiz,
Thank you for posting your comments in regards of your stay at Copamarina. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you soon!

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

In Copamarina you get enough for what you pay, even more if you get a good offer. The place in nice, very Nice! We have done two conventions years ago, and they mantain this place very well. Sunsets are breathtaking, rooms are nice, but they can invest in pillows and new mattresses. (this my wife speaking). The Alexandra, the fine dining restaurant on premises, was disappointing. It used to be one of the best tastes in the Island. Today, is far from that.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tkierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
“Enough”

Dear Tkierce,
We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you had a great time at Copamarina.

Our guestrooms rooms are currently under renovations which will include soft goods like new king size pillows and linen, new furniture, fresh coat of paint and other extras that are expected to be completed by next summer of 2013.

We regret to hear that our Alexandra’s Restaurant did not meet your expectations. To provide alternatives to our guest we have incorporated exquisite high quality alternatives to complement our “A la carte” menu with fresh fish from local fisherman in town and top standard ingredients. Certainly next time you visit the Resort you will enjoy our changes and renovations.

We hope to see you in the near future at our Resort.


Rabin Ortiz

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I "splurged" to stay at a place where I could walk out of my room and go into the water. Well, I could have done that if I didn't care if the water was murky and uninviting. There was not ONE guest swimming in the ocean. You can pay to take a boat to Gilligan's Island so you can experience clear water. The grounds are beautiful but it was difficult to get pictures because the minute you stopped to pose, you got attacked by mosquitoes. Not the souvenir I wanted to bring home! The breakfast buffet had average food at a golden price. Rooms were average......bathrooms needed an upgrade with a ceiling fan to reduce the moisture problem. You have to sign a document swearing that you won't bring in a cooler with your own food. Was it worth it to pay almost $400 for 2 nights at a place where you couldn't swim in the ocean............no! Save your money.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view! You can look at it even though you can't swim in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ‘’Pictures are misleading”

Thanks for posting your feedback related to your recent visit at Copamarina. We are sorry to hear about your disappointments in regards to our beach conditions and natural environment. Our beach is naturally shallow, this provides to our guest to bring the beach chairs to the water and place them under the beach bohio. Due to Government regulations we are not allow to remove the sea grass.

For swimmers, beside Guilligans Island (a small Cay just minutes away), we will be adding extra beach chairs and beach umbrellas to the west side beachfront, just steps away were is more swimmable.

Actually at the far end of our pier we do have a ladder that allow our guests to swim from above 4 ft of water. In the next couple of month a lower deck will be added to easily access to the water and a swim deck platform will be complementing it !

Our guest room renovations has started already adding a fresher and contemporary look to our resort!

We hope to see you in the near future to enjoy our newest additions!!

Sincerely

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I were in need of some R & R one weekend so we chose to stay in Guanica because of the dry forest so we could hike and see the birds. We also like to be near the ocean and sailing. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find they had Hobie cats for rent. We rented one our first day to sail to an Island right off the resort beach. They also have a ferry boat that takes you to Gilligan’s island. We had dinner in their restaurant called Alexandra both nights and both meals were excellent. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a small fridge too. Staff were very helpful from the minute we checked in to the end of our stay. This place is very peaceful and i would recommend it for people of all ages and families with children. The grounds are so spacious that everyone can have a pleasant time. Of course if you’re a nature lover or a birder than it is especially nice to stay there perhaps in combination with a stay in the El Yunque rainforest.

Room Tip: We got an ocean view room om the second floor which had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 9/11-12/2012 at the Copamarina. The hotel grounds are beautiful, nicely groomed and maintained. Our deluxe ocean view room was very nice with definite tropical charm and decor. The open air restaurant is very nice, although some items are overpriced. The Alexandra restaurant only opens Thu - Sun so we didn't try it. Alex and Tania at the water sports shop were very friendly and helpful. Alex was awesome providing a quickie lesson and great tips for my first kayaking venture to Gilligan's Island. The prices for the non-motorized water sports were very reasonable. Some may find the $7.00/person fee for the boat to Gilligan's Island high for the 5-minute ride, but I think it is well worth the money. If you stay at the Copamarina, you MUST go to Gilligan's; it's beautiful.

We ventured out of the hotel for breakfast and found Vera's Bakery in Guanica. The place caters to locals and is not fancy, but the prices are unreal. Breakfast special no. 1 is two eggs, ham, toast and coffee or chocolate for a whopping $2.95 + tax!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and made for a perfect destination wedding. We did experience a lot of difficulty getting our marriage license since the hotel did not give us the proper information that we needed before traveling to PR. In the end it worked out and we had an amazing day. The staff was absolutely amazing - especially our bartenders Jaime and Stephanie! We had 22 of our family and friends with us and everyone had an amazing time. The food was amazing at the hotel and I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful wedding. We are looking forward to the time we can go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73Traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear “Destination Wedding’’

Thanks for choosing Copamarina as the place for your Wedding in the Caribbean, We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time and our staff was able to accommodate to your needs and request.

Our most sincere apologies for the communications gaps related to the proper documents required for your wedding, as soon as I heard, Janice and I started sorting up the details to ensure that everything was presented on time!

Looking forward to see you on your first anniversary at Copamarina!

Sincerely

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
63.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
61.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,430 reviews
63.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
63.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
79.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing