We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Guanica...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Guanica...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed for five days during a busy week. Rooms and bathrooms are big, clean and elegant. Sea view is excellent. LCD TV with satellite channels, but we never found a channel list. AC worked like a charm. WIFI available resort wide. Small fridge is a big plus but we missed a microwave. Patios and the beach-side landscaping are religiously maintained. Staff is friendly and polite. Food is excellent but pricey; Same with alcoholic beverages (there was no tropical beverages menu). Breakfast buffet is excellent (Luis is the best!). Guilligan Island trip is a must; fare charged is very reasonable. Pools and jacuzzis are available in the beachfront side for children (3' deep) and adults (6' deep). Live music each night in the Cafe, but just for relaxing; don't expect danceable or tropical music, even in the pools. You may find this in the Cafe during the day but sometimes they switch to quieter music genres like Jazz or Easy Listening. Parking spaces are available but limited; you may think it twice before considering going out to check other attractions. Check for the all-inclusive plans but keep in mind it doesn't include any alcoholic beverages.

Room Tip: Rooms from buildings 400 and 500 are quieter but far from reception desk and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    434
    149
    67
    33
See reviews for
443
518
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just came back from a four-day stay at Copamarina. The last time we visited was around 1997.... we had wonderful memories of summer vacations there with our then-small children. We were not disappointed this time around! It retains its rustic charm and the views of the Caribbean Sea are lovely. The trip to Gilligan Island on the resort's ferry was very enjoyable. Although Gilligan was very crowded, it is well worth the visit. Lots of families enjoying the clear water and abundant marine life.
The resort is well kept and very clean. Service personnel were polite and always helpful. The food was excellent and the sangria and mojitos were great. Not inexpensive, but then again much better priced than at any hotel in Condado.

The manager was here, there and everywhere! We had the chance to meet him and he was very attentive and concerned with the quality of service for the guests.

There are quite a few sights to enjoy in nearby Yauco (Volkyland Museum) and San German (Porta Coeli, of course), but we recommend mostly staying close by and enjoying Copamarina. We will certainly go back and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey/NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Taking the two hour drive from Bayamon and a break from visiting family, Copmarina is more than I expected. The drive down was really beautiful through the mountains. The ridiculously awesome rate that we got from a discount website was too good to pass up. We were not disappointed.

I don't have anything different to say than most travelers. The sand flys kept us (2 adults and a 3 yo) from the beach for a few hours, but the pool did the trick. The water was very calm which allowed our son to play at the waters edge w/o having to be knocked down by a wave. The water is grassy and shallow, not making for the best swimming experience - but not a deal breaker.

The restaurants are a bit pricey, but nothing more or less than you'd expect in San Juan. However, the food is much better. The service was great and the fish was fresh, coffee hot and banana pancakes - the best I've ever had. Town isn't too far with many fast food options and a Walgreens.

The rooms were clean, spacious with a patio area of table, chairs and lounge chair.

The resort does offer all inclusive, but without alcoholic beverages. (What's the point?) Beach waitress services were available, but we're hit or miss. I only saw them twice.

There is a public beach down the road, but crowds are non existent during the week. We've been to Gilligans Island a couple of years ago and didn't feel the need to go back.

Next time we'll bring more people to enjoy the solitude that Copamarina provided us for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the villas if you want to be closer to the pool. First floor allows you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelsMyMidleName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I just took my family to the copamarina last week for a short vacation and all I can say is "WAO". We stayed at copamarina four nights and i can not think of anything negative that happend while we were there. The staff was great and very friendly, the rooms are very clean and the view is priceless. The kids fell in love with the place and asked if we can go every year. I can honestly say, that was the best vacation we ever had!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,AL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Spent 3 nights on a Destination Wedding weekend at he Copamarina. Had a great time, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms well appointed and clean, the food very nice and the grounds very well kept. The wedding was on the grounds in front of the beach at sunset and the reception that followed on a private reception area on the grounds. I highly recommend it for a family reunion or wedding or just as a relxing getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a nicer view of the ocean since the trees don't block the view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had dinner at the local restaurant, spent more than $200 and had a good time at the bar. At the end, we asked our bartender if we could drink our last pina colada in the hot water pool. She said it was ok, and served us in plastic cups. We (4 friends) were having a good time until the security guard came over to kick is out and shout at us out loud because we were not guests. I understand there are rules, but we were unaware of them and had the bartender's ok to go in the pool. We were there for only 7 minutes... I went to the front desk and complained, because of the way we were rudely treated. Not much was done. We left! Perhaps not very friendly with locals... But would give their life for foreigners... If we had been speaking english... The guard would not have even interfered. I love the place... Too bad this experience would make me think twice before returning... I had been visiting monthly to dine and visit the spa... What a loss!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yupagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been living in Texas since 2000, and ocassionally fly home to spend time with family. This year we decided to stay at the Copamarina for three nights. I had been to La Parguera in Guánica and had also visited the Guánica Dry Forest once, but I had never been to the Copamarina. I fell in love with the place. It is open and beautiful and they have done a great job of making the resort blend into the surroundings. The resort grounds are beautiful and you can see all kinds of plants, cacti and trees, as well as birds, iguanas and the beloved sapo concho, an endangered species of toad that is native to the area and is also the logo of the resort.

There are plenty of pools and at least two hot tubs. The rooms are comfortable. All the employees we encountered were friendly. We ate our meals at the cafe enjoying a view of the beach (the desserts were the best part of the meal).

This is the type of place that you visit to stay at the resort most of the time and have a relaxing time lounging by the pool or on the beach. If you are looking for lots of nearby activities, choose another hotel. Still, the Dry Forest is near if you want to walk the trails.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank icruzbonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
63.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
71.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
79.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
63.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing