We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copamarina Beach Resort - June 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Copamarina Beach Resort for one night during June 2012. We found the hotel to be clean and nicely furnished. There was a small refrigerator in the room which was nice for keeping drinks cold and available on demand. The grounds around the hotel are lovely, Blooming plants, coconut trees, and mango trees abound. We ate at the Las Palmas Restaurant because the Alexander Restaurant seemed to be open only on the weekends. However, we were able to order a few items off the Alexander menu. I would call the food average, but there are not many options in terms of eating places in Guanica. There are hourly excursions over to Gilligans Island from the Resort for $7. I would recommend this excursion. They also have diving excursions and there were many people who went diving although I did not go. There are a lot of activities at the resort (tennis, ping pong, volleyball, and beach activities). This is also very near one of the bioluminescent bays which is a real treat if you have never seen this phenomenon before.

Room Tip: Request Building 1 because it faces the parking lot. This is a large area and if you leave to go oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank professor310740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

The rooms are good size, clean and updated. My clock never had the correct time and I was unable to have it corrected in the four days I was there. The male staff did not follow through with my numerous requests for maintenance. The guys need an attitude adjustment. The female staff throughout the resort were terrific. They were helpful, friendly and had a can do attitude.
Our group was there to check out the scuba diving. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side and we were unable to do many of our dives. The waves were very big making it unsafe to board the boat after the dives. The windy weather was not what the area typically experiences. The property has a kiddie pool, jacuzzi, scuba diving, swimming pool, nice beach and lots of "resort" things to do. The resort is two hours from San Juan but it is in a good location to go to national parks. A car is needed to go to towns. The resort has a new manager and the food was very good and well priced. Good place to stay for scuba diving. Will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anniedosamiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Thep pics don't do justice to the beauty of the resort everyone of the staff were friendly and very fluent in both English and Spainish. We stayed 3 nights wish it would have been longer,Only thing I was a little disappointed about was Gift Shop wasn't open till 9 pm like it was supposed to be so I couldn't get some things to take home on last night. The Dry Forrest is a must when you stay here!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noigeloverlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the Copamarina for our niece's destination wedding. It was perfect for our group of about 35. We had a wonderful time. Granted, if you are looking for 5-star luxury and loads of activities, this is NOT the place for you. The grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly. Everything is very clean and well-maintained. It appears that some of the rooms have been updated more recently than others. The resort is secluded and surrounded by a nature preserve/parkland. If you are so inclined, you can find other secluded beaches down the road and find trails to hike. Also, we were virtually the only non-Puerto Ricans at the resort. It seems to be very popular with young families and was quite full both Friday and Saturday nights -- busy, but still low-key and quiet. The other nights/days were very quiet. The town of Guanica is charming and probably much unchanged from 50 years ago. There is very little to buy or do in Guanica other than take in the local culture. A couple of the restaurants on the waterfront were humble but very good. I recommend Brisas del Mar. We never ate in the more formally dining room at Copamarina but spent many hours lounging in the outdoor cafe . . . for all 3 meals! The food was acceptable but by no means gourmet. My husband and I rented kayaks and paddled to Gilligan's Island. While the island is very pretty, I can tell you that on a Saturday afternoon it was one big party scene! Some of our group also went out to the reef on a boat for snubaing and snorkeling. They had a great time. You also can rent sailboats and paddle boards. While the resort is about a 2-hour drive from the San Juan airport, I think it was worth it to escape the developed resort "scene". Room rates (for our group in mid-May: $155 a nite) were very reasonable in light of what you get!! One warning: the bioluminiscent bay boat tours out of Parguera . . . very disappointing. Go for the short boat ride ($6 per person) but be aware that you'll be looking at small organisms lighting up briefly when you stir the water around. Very difficult to see. Best if you actually get in the water and swim, so wear your bathing suit. Oh . . . and the resort did a great job with the wedding itself! Beautiful outdoor setting for the ceremony and a separate building by the water for the reception.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LillianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

If youre looking for solitude, a romantic spot, fine dining, a friendly staff, adventure and just have a great tiem, the CopaMarina Beach Resort is the place for your vacation. We went there this weekend and had a blast. We had alone time, we had fun on the beach with the activities the resort offers, we ate great, and we went trailing to the nearby Bosque Seco (Dry Forest) that is 5 minutes away. Definetely a jewel in the south of Puerto Rico. Wanna have a beach wedding? This is the perfect spot for it. Highly recommended resort. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose_Quinones_Lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Friends of ours recently held their destination wedding at the Copamarina. Fantastic!! Great place to stay if your looking for a guiet place during off season. Great resturant, great service and beautiful clean grounds. Only complaint was housekeeping. They did a poor job for only a few rooms being occupied and no one checked after them to see the if the rooms were to standard. They also messed up our billing and now I need to get that error fixed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasGirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We went to go diving with Aqua Adventure... and found the resort to be very relaxing. A nice change from the busy resorts. A huge property, with lots to do.. Spa, diving, kayak rentals, 2 pools, and the list goes on. Excellent service. A very good restaurant.. the snapper is highly reccommend! And be sure to take a boat ride over to Gilligans island..

Room Tip: Don't want to be by the stairs... I reccommend the 1 story building. Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasTravelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
11.2 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
21.8 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
79.9 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
63.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
18.4 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range: $194 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing