We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location. Great for a low key vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
251 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Beautiful location. Great for a low key vacation.”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This property is located near the tiny town of Guanica. It consists of several buildings along the ocean, pools, a hot tub, small playground, game room with air hockey, and two restaurants. It is a beautiful location with picture post card views of the ocean and surrounding hills. The grounds are well maintained with attractive landscaping. The hotel was in good condition – it looked like everything had just been re-painted.

The beach is a narrow strip of pale sand with lots of beach chairs and cabanas that are well-maintained by the hotel. The ocean here is tame with few waves. There are some patches of sea grass but easily avoided by either swimming around them, swimming off the hotel’s pier, or strolling down to the adjacent beach park. There were a few small fish, but no spectacular snorkeling right off the beach. The hotel does have kayaks and small catamarans, but we did not try these. They rent snorkels for $15/hour ($25 for the day). There is also a company that will take you snorkeling ($69) or snuba ($99) diving from a boat that leaves from the hotel pier. Our snorkeling trip was cancelled due to poor weather (must have been an issue with the currents as the weather was perfect). There is also a boat to Gilligan’s Island that leaves every 30 minutes from the hotel pier from 10 am to 4:40 pm ($7).

The pools are beautiful and clean. There are two hot tubs, two pools, and two shallow kiddie pools. The restaurant on site will serve drinks at the pool for the expected high resort price of about $8 each.

The staff is helpful, polite and speaks English well. WiFi was free throughout the property – including the beach which was VERY nice.

Our room was in the main building, ground floor facing the ocean. It had a very nice back porch and we enjoyed sitting out, drinking rum, watching the sunset, and hearing the ocean. The room was large and clean with the expected amenities.

There is a spa on site that we did not visit. The fitness room was a small room with two treadmills, some weights, stationary bikes, and a stair stepper. The equipment was in good shape and the fitness room was open 24 hours.

The only downside to this location was that it is somewhat remote (that may be an upside to some!). There were few things to do in the immediate area. Guanica is tiny with no good restaurants. However, for a 2-3 day vacation, there was plenty to do such as the Dry Forest (ask for a brochure and map at the front desk) and Gilligan’s island. The restaurant on site was good but if you want to go out, you will drive for at least 25 minutes to find a decent place to eat.

They add a 10% resort fee to your bill which I found distasteful. It’s not optional so why not just include it in the room charge up front? However, this is a standard practice in PR and we have learned to expect it.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    437
    151
    67
    35
See reviews for
451
522
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Gorgeous setting for pool and views. Food got old after two days (as no other restaurants anywhere near by). Loved hanging out by the pool and getting to walk into the dry forest (fabulous).

In general, the service was hurried and not terribly gracious (the only service we found like this in all of PR). And, though not their fault, two pairs of new new shoes (keens) stolen from outside the room (which we didnt want to bring in as muddy from kayaking), and basically NO follow up from the hotel, apologies or amends at all. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evanstontwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I booked this resort as an all-inclusive as I was traveling with two 20 year olds who like to eat and drink and socialize. Well forget it at Copamarina. There was noone there. We traveled the second week of January and the hotel had no more than 25 people staying there. Then they put us in building 4 - far from everything - not that its a big place but there were empty rooms everywhere. The resort wanted $240 p/person for transportation to the hotel so I rented a car. Then I understood why! It took 2 1/2 hours to get there and people drive crazy! The road into the resort is sooooo windy and narrow, it scared the life out of me and thus we were afraid to ever leave the resort. The area around the resort was extremely poor and I probably wouldn't have ventured out anyways. The food was good but the same everyday - only one restaurant for breakfast and lunch - two choices for dinner. The bartenders were very slow ,even with noone there - so if it had been busy you would have never gotten a drink. The beach was nice and so was the ocean, calm and swimable. Kayaks available and we took them to Gilligans island which was nice. But if we had to pay $12 to rent them (they were part of all-inclusive) it would not have been worth it. They also make you think the ferry to Gilligans Island is free - its not - $8 p/p. Pools and hot tub were nice but it was really BORING, because there was no one there and the people there were in their 70's. So, if you want to pay ALOT of money to be alone - this is your place. Otherwise go to Cancun, where the food, resorts and people are all more vacationer oriented. One more thing - driving is very difficult, roads not well marked and traffic terrible.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 1 have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hulihan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I'll try not to repeat what's already in the other reviews. Based on my family's week-long stay at Copamarina between Christmas and New Years, I can say there's some truth to both the good and the poor reviews. Experiences will vary, depending on your expectations and especially on whether you're looking on the outside (the hotel grounds and natural beauty) or just inside the rooms (which are average).

At the resort, we waded in the ocean (yes, shallow with plants) and swam in the beautiful pools (yes, unheated and slightly chilly except for the two jacuzzi's) during at least some part of every day, and our kids loved it. Mostly, though, we used the resort as a jumping off point for day trips around the southern and western parts of the Island (e.g., the picturesque Cabo Rojo lighthouse, stunning Playa Sucia beach, the charming hill town of Adjuntas, hiking and chasing waterfalls in the lush inland forests, etc).

Our main concern in planning to stay at Copamarina was food, because we did not go "all inclusive." We paid $265 a night per room (we had two rooms), and the all-inclusive package would have added another $200 or so per day, which seemed unreasonable. But everything worked out okay. The rooms have mini-fridges and coffee makers, and after asking several times over the course of a couple days, the resort put a microwave in our room, because we have a baby and needed to heat milk, but it came in handy for other things, too. (Remember to bring a bottle/can opener.)

We wound up eating at one of the resort's restaurants only once. In nearby Guanica, there's an Econo market with everything you can imagine, plus a McDonalds and Burger King (though we managed to avoid both), and a couple good but cheap local bakeries that sell pastries and sandwiches. Several times for dinner, we drove 15-20 minutes to the town of La Parguera, where there are several places to choose from (we highly recommend Moon's Tapas).

A word about diving: We dragged scuba gear with us, but never got to use it because the weather, although sunny, was too windy with high ocean swells. You can book diving (and snorkeling or snuba) tours through the resort, which now uses an apparently brand new operator called AquaAdventures, run by a friendly guy named Jose, though they weren't very good about returning messages and letting me know the status of whether the dives were cancelled or not.

On a final note, Puerto Rico has amazing natural beauty (no visit is complete without driving through the mountains and getting lost at least once -- even with GPS), and everyone we encountered at the resort and everywhere else was very friendly and helpful. Even the policeman who pulled our car over (for reasons we never learned) immediately apologized and let us go as soon as he saw we were tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yoritomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed at the Copamarina for most of our trip and it was truly an incredible time overall. We were there for our honeymoon and I had been researching this location for quite some time.

We checked in and the process was easy. We did make a note in the reservation about it being our Honeymoon and I admit I was a little disappointed that nothing was mentioned about it during our trip. The room was very nice, we had a balcony on the second floor overlooking the beach and it was gorgeous. The rooms aren't 5-star (no room service, mini-bar, movie rentals), but they are very nice, clean and fit the location and overall theme of the resort perfectly.

We went with the all-inclusive and, from the looks of the prices, it was very much worth it. The food overall was very good. I have to admit that the service was sluggish at times at Las Palmas, even for small orders like a round of drinks, and at times, the servers looked a little overwhelmed. There was also another bar near the other pool specifically for all-inclusive guests, but it was never opened. I am assuming due to it being a bit slower that week, but it would have been really nice to use.

Alexandra was absolutely incredible! The service was very professional, timely and the food is some of the best I had on the island. There was one night that Alexandra was closed and that was a bit of a bummer. I later realized it was a local holiday, but I could understand why people there for only one night would be really disappointed.

Though the beach is not a traditional beach, there is a public one a little walk away and the few patches of sea grass didn't stop us from going in and lying in the water when we got overheated. Gilligan's Island is another added perk, but we were under the impression that it was a private location and it was not. There were a lot of locals taking up most of the best spots, but the snorkeling was really nice and the water temperature was absolutely perfect. Go at least once.

The dry forest was beautiful, though I suggest driving to the trail head. The lady at the front desk was able to give us detailed information about the trails, along with the map, which was very helpful. The spa was awesome and had a good amount of options available.

I did hear before going that there isn't much to do, which is true and not true. Outside of the aforementioned, the best part is finding a good spot by the pool or the beach (I suggest the actual beds on the beach), grab a book or a magazine and soak in the sun and drinks until you see the beautiful sunset. We will return!

Room Tip: Ocean View Balcony is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakandCypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just got back from copa marina beach resort in puerto rico. and I must say I was very dissapointed! From the checking in to the rules that change every day . The beach sucks there. You cant even get in the water cause there is grass growing and people complained about getting stung by something . housekeeping was not good the corners of the rooms on the floor were filthy ,$19.00 dollars for breakfast buffet.think that is a little high I dont think that I will ever go back to puerto rico ever again because of this experience!! The air conditioning sucked . There was stickey funiture . 80z bloody mary no pickle no olives $8.50 . I cant see how any one can brag about this place it was the worst week vacation that i have ever had. I always go to mexico where the people care about you 1

Room Tip: 1/9/2012 Just got back from copa marina beach resort . Trip advisor has never let me down! but I wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jeanneschulz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest:

We regret that your recent stay at Copamarina was a less-than-satisfactory experience. We apologize for the housekeeping, air conditioning and bar issues you experienced, and the appropriate managers have been notified.

As we have stated in the past, as we are a Green resort, we are unable to interfere with the growth of the natural sea vegetation in the waters immediately touching our property. There is a beautiful, swimmable public beach just a few hundred feet away.

All of our beds were replaced less than a year ago. Our furniture is in the process of being replaced - and is, admittedly, not new, but in good, usable condition. The full renovations will be complete by this September.

Again, we are sorry that you felt your stay was substandard. We work hard to ensure our guests' comfort and quality of stay, and it is never good news to us when it appears that we fell short of that goal..

Regards,

Rabin Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Although the setting could be a real paradise what we found was really dissapointing: extremely high prices for dark and dirty rooms, old and sticky furniture, old mattresses and sheets. Outdated air conditionning is a real problem if you want to have a rest and it makes impossible to sleep even if your set is turned off but your neighbour's is working for the night. Not a core value.

Room Tip: We tried two different types of room. The ones facing the see are in a better shape, but they are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karmendep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
63.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
71.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
79.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
63.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing