We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveler rating
557
174
42
14
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
174
42
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden fale the east coast hole golf course ocean view fia fia night water restaurant relaxing holiday our honeymoon lush gardens fish spent nights spa treatments tennis courts tropical paradise beach front six nights high tide
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the rooms are all one level, 2 units with a common wall, a ceiling fan and a kind of a/c unit, it never gets very cool but we were fine, some units have an outdoor shower that is not covered and and outdoor toilet and vanity that is covered, we had this unit and our friends went for the totally enclosed units. there is a pool in the middle of the property and a bar near by and the dining room is just across the way from the bar, also it is an outdoor dining area, the food was very good but again the staff was wonderful, some of them were also the entertainment and explained cultural things to us

Room Tip: after having the outdoor shower/toilet I would go for the all enclosed unit
  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Talofa Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We couldn't agree with you more about our people. We are so fortunate to have a special bunch of individuals that make Sinalei the unique place it is and are so happy that this came through during your stay with us. We hope that you choose to one day visit again with us and hope that it is sooner rather than later.

Alofas (love),

Your Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this resort. And I fell in love with Samoa. The staff here were so accommodating and friendly. The ambiance was casual and laid back. All of the rooms are private little houses. I had a garden view, but the ocean view and beach front looked amazing. There is a pool and a great spa. I had some of the best massages of my life! I booked an all day tour of the island with a guide - Tina - she was amazing and super knowledgeable. I learned so much about the unique culture and history of Samoa. Another day, I rented a car and went into Apia - the main town - and saw the Robert Lewis Stevenson Museum - which was fantastic and not to be missed. This was my first time in Samoa so I did not really know what to expect, but I came away vowing to come back. The resort is on a beach and you can walk down to a really cool beach bar for lunch or beers, or continue on to the next resort. The water is calm and ideal for snorkeling and swimming. I can't recommend the Sinalei highly enough!

Room Tip: I booked the cheapest room and it was fine, but the beach front rooms looked amazing!
  • Stayed: November 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank USAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Talofa Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time share your fond memories with us. We are always appreciative of the unique interactions that our staff and guests get to enjoy on a daily basis and are delighted that in your case, we did not disappoint. We hope that you do not leave your next visit for too long and look forward to one day welcoming you back to our shores soon.

With alofas (love),

Your Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

We had bought a deal on TripADeal to Sinalei Reef Resort and Spa which came with a lot of extras.
The Garden Room was lovely, clean and inviting. It was well appointed and had a great bathroom which had a glass roof.
The gardens are so well established and beautifully presented. The workers take great pride in the presentation of the resort.
The staff were outstanding. They were a happy, hard working team who worked together. The staff came from the village on which the resort is located so it feels as if you are being welcomed into their home and their hearts.
The foods is great and the beer is cold. The water temperature of the ocean is divine and there are kayaks and snorkeling gear that you can use.
The pool is really deep and there is plenty of seating. There are only 29 Fales and no children under 12 so it makes for a relaxing break.
The 9 hole golf course is well maintained and on one of the days it is designated to local culture with a big Umu feast and fire dance at night.
We had a fabulous time, we hired a car on a couple of the rainy days to take a look at the rest of the island which wasn’t too expensive. Sinalei Resort is truly what great memories are made from.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled with friends
Thank 993anitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Talofa Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. It delights us to hear when guests leave with a smile on their face together with a bunch of fond memories to remember us by. We are so blessed to have be located in such beautiful surrounds and even more so to have wonderful staff who do well to exemplify the atmosphere and personality of Sinalei in all that they do.

We hope that you might choose to visit with us again some day soon.

Lots of alofas (love),

Your Sinalei Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

What a lovely quiet resort with beautiful tropical grounds and golf course.
-Security on grounds at all times.
-Located on the other side of the island to Apia.
-One hour from airport.
-One and half hours plus from island ferries.
-Resort for over 12 years.
-Has a lovely pool setting.
-Bar right next to the pool.
-Great beach area and you can walk on beach to next resort and beach bar.
-Small pier you can jump off into the sea water with fresh water bubbling up.
-Lovely breakfast in restaurant over looking ocean.
-Wifi not good. Need to purchase at reception. I gave up and just had a holiday from the world.
-NO TV in rooms. If desperate TV in conference room.
-Rooms all differ. Some with bath rooms inside some outside, all have verandas.
-Clock radio in room. Put the soft radio station on and sit on the veranda with a cool drink.
-In the evening the lovely staff will bug spray your room.
-Conference room well equipped.
-Lovely staff.
-Would I visit again - YES.

Room Tip: If your a TV person bring laptop with movies. WIFI not good and only is bar areas.
  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skytraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Talofa dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you detailed feedback. Please note that the week you visited our internet provider was experiencing some issues which have now been tended to. We look forward to you next visit, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Alofas (love),

Your Sinalei Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

Sinalei is nice. Lovely setting, nice gardens, nice pool and nice beach both with great water temperature.

I find it a bit of a stretch however to call it 4.5 star, certainly if you are comparing it to similarly rated properties in Australia, Hawaii or New Zealand.

We realised the standard would be different before we went so weren’t surprised that things appear to be measured on a slightly different scale here.

The standard of our Fale was pleasant enough but not luxurious.

The restaurants were nice but the standard of the food was fairly mediocre in our opinion.

Typically South Pacific Islands though as far as service is concerned. If you are prepared to accept that things don’t always happen all that quickly at times and just relax you will be fine.

There are many nice staff here who are very willing and friendly. We never had any problems but did hear a couple of other people becoming a little agitated when things didn’t happen quite the way they wanted. If you can’t accept a slightly relaxed approach then the South Pacific Islands probably aren’t the place for you.

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Melnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinalei-Reef-Resort, Manager at Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Talofa dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that your time with us was not in keeping with your expectations and the high standard that we strive for as a resort. You are right to point out that when compared to New Zealand, Hawaii and Australia, our service is likely to be perceived as inferior by normal standards, and so are under no illusions that we are in anyway the same as these developed countries.

We do however, like to think the the experience we offer as a whole is an authentic and special one, where the emphasis is placed on the smiles and personalities of our people and uniqueness of our culture and less on the glitz and glam that one might be accustomed to.

As Samoans, we are a sharing people and so when visitors leave feeling enriched or enlightened, we know its because of the little things we do to bring joy to their lives. Granted efficiency might not always prevail but when it comes to laughter and happiness, we like to think that we know a thing or two and if anything hope that we were at least able to share this with you before your return home.

Wishing you all the very best and our alofas (love) from Samoa.

The Sinalei Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews