We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, lovely Doumas family...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pacifae Golden Village
Ranked #1 of 8 Katelios B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This was my first visit in Kefalonia island and i had a lovely time. I left with the best impressions for the island and the accommodation !

Kefalonia is beautiful, i don't need to say much. Just think green on blue !
Doumas hotel (Pacifae Golden Village) is a beautiful place, quiet, clean and very comfortable that i would highly recommend even though is not located at the beach !
Doumas family is so friendly, very hospitable and treated us as we were their own guests in their own home ! What can i say... they made us feel very welcome... A big thank you.

Yes i will visit again Kefalonia island and i will not change accommodation !!!! See you again Doumas family...
Tania

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeorgiouTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

I have just returned from a week at this hotel and it was great.
It has been newly renovated and i would recommend that anyone traveling to Kefalonia should stay there.
All the rooms are great with very comfortable beds and newly fitted bathrooms etc.
This is a family run hotel, they are very friendly and the food was excellent. In fact better than any of the restaurants.
If you like sea food its doesnt get any better because Spearo catches the fish when he goes spearfishing. Also the Greek salads were amazing, the tomatos etc are home grown and taist of "sunshine".
Just be careful not to drink too much, the Ouzo is a knockout.
Anyway give it a go, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carlos-Thomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I live in Oxford city in UK,that was our second visit at doumas and it was perfect.Lovely food as always.
will definitely go back again.big thanks to all the family for making us feel like home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

True holidays : Swimming in the wonderful pool while admiring the numerous flowers and trees in the large garden, set in beautiful mountainous surroundings. Then tasting Corinna’s Tzatziki –the best in Greece- made with homegrown vegetables - or beautiful fish from the nearby sea deliciously roasted on the barbecue. The family does everything to make you feel at home. Authenticity and calmness to relax body and mind. Large comfortable rooms with balcony overlooking the sea. Close to a large beach with sand and cobbles and nice tavernas. Last but not least the fast Wifi on the shadowy terrasse near the pool allows to keep an eye on what’s going on at home and abroad. Ideally situated to explore the south of the island.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohlux123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was our second time to stay this Hotel. My husband and I had very welcoming experiences, both at the hotel and resort of Katelios back in 2004, so we wanted to experience the same again this year - this time with our children, aged 2 and 4 years old.

First of all, we would like to give a big THANK YOU to the Doumas family who run the hotel. They were extremely friendly, and their services were fantastic. They couldn't have any more for us!

The rooms were always immaculate, and we have no complains at all. The temperature at night was still very high, however the cool air conditioning made these nights very comfortable. The swimming pool was a good size and well looked after. There was an area for little ones to swim and play safely and the garden area was full of beautiful flowers and trees. In addition, the garden lighting for the pool and surrounding areas at night was fabulous.

The beach was only 10 - 15 mins away from the hotel by foot. We avoided the main road to go to the beach instead, we used the country road to see beautiful and peaceful view where we could also hear the bleating of goats. The beach is full of restaurants and there was always plenty to choose from the menus.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel especially if you are looking for a relaxed holiday. Ignore all the negative comments - people tend to look for faults in just about everything!
We will definitely go back to this hotel to have another lovely family holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familydoumas, Owner at Pacifae Golden Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2010

yumi,thank you very much for your nice words and i am glad you had a nice stay.
Hope to see you again.
sakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My wife, 19 year old daughter and myself stayed here last week and we had a wonderful relaxing holiday which was exactly what we were looking for.
The Hotel is lovely as were the Doumas Family who run it. They were always so friendly, welcoming & helpful.

I would totally ignore any negative comments made last year as a result of a plane coming down and crash landing next to the hotel as this was a freak accident that the Hotel or family had absolutely no control over. It was a small army plane trying to extinguish a fire on the hillside behind the Hotel by dousing it with water. It was ridiculous for someone to give the Hotel a bad review based on this as it was a freak accident and nothing more. Everything has been refurbished since then (apart from the garden bungalows which are cheaper anyway I believe).

The room was immaculate and newly refurbished with air conditioning and a balcony overlooking the pool and gardens. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis with fresh towels etc.
The pool was huge and again all new and clean with a large patio area next to the bar where we had breakfast / lunch / drinks etc.
Katelios is a quiet small resort with a handful of Taverna's / Bars but all very nice as we ate in nearly all of them. Most of the Taverna's were on the sea front literally right on the beach. Its about a 15 min stroll down to the front as the Hotel is set back at the foot of the hills away from the sea front. This suited us just fine as its nice to have a stroll in the evening once the sun has gone down.
We hired a car for 4 days through the owners for 130 euros and travelled round the Island to other beaches and towns which I would highly recommend as it is a beautiful Island. The car was a new Hyundai and had aircon which was delivered to us at the hotel. This is all you will need on the roads in Kefalonia unless you have a large family.

We all loved our stay there and found it so peaceful and relaxing that we didn't want to come home!
We will definitely go back here again and I would not have any hesitation in recommending this hotel or resort if you are looking for a nice peaceful and relaxing holiday to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We loved Katelios, it was quieter than Skala,where we had stayed 2 years earlier.The Tavernas were all along the beach,so you could step out onto beach and stroll. Perfect.Our Hotel was either 15 min walk or 2 min drive to the beach.We had a great time at the Hotel. We didn't have to rush to breakfast, which there was always plenty to eat and really yummy. Lovely swimming pool and outside area.Last but not least, is the Doumas family, who were all lovely. I hope they continue to be successful. My 7 year old is still telling me how much he misses them and the pool, as he now swims like a fish. Thankyou for making our holiday the best ever.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubbles045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
17.9 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
307 reviews
12.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
8.6 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olivemare
Olivemare
#4 of 8 in Katelios
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aligis Studios
Aligis Studios
#2 of 8 in Katelios
105 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lagoon View Apartments
Lagoon View Apartments
#1 of 4 in Lakithra
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifae Golden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifae Golden Village

Address: | along Mounda Bay, Katelios 28082, Greece (Formerly Doumas Hotel)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Katelios
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacifae Golden Village 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lot of updates..Sundays Greek nights live and Wednesday Hollis live 70-80s rock,etc.Join us for for some dance or try our homemade greek meals ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacifae Golden Village Hotel Katelios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing