We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want nothing to do?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pacifae Golden Village
Ranked #1 of 8 Katelios B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Want nothing to do?”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in September 2011.
We found the staff (all family) very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was large by comparison with others and met our requirements. The pool was large and clean. The small bar always had a beer chilled although the choice was limited. Food was good but again limited. This is truly a place to visit and stay if you don't want to be muddled by loud music, activities, young children.....just the basics.
We needed a break where there was nothing to do, not even checking the watch and this met our full needs.
If you want to chill out by the pool or take a 15 minute stroll to the tiny beach then this is a great place to stay. There are small bars on the beach for your lunch time requirements and some absolutley fantastic places to eat in the evening...try Jerry's (not the one on the beach), it cannot be beaten.
There are some great places to visit as well.

Room Tip: Choose from the new block, not the bungalows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cfdtms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    63
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
83
140
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We spent 5 days at the Pacifae in September enjoying lovely warm weather. Allocated a suite which had a bath in the bathroom, plus a sitting room with fridge, but no TV (this was not a problem). Rooms clean,modern and serviced every day. Small issues with plumbing meant having to fill the bath and the basin from the shower head (basin was fixed promptly after drawing it to their attention), and water leaking onto the floor from under the bath. The window in the bathroom would not close which was okay as the weather was warm. Short walk from the accommodation block to the reception/breakfast room/dining room block located on the other side of the large swimming pool. This area needs tyding up and lacks atmosphere and unless you wish to watch football on the TV, there is little incentive to use the bar area, or have your evening meal there. Whilst appreciating that it was the end of the season and there are economic problems in Greece, there was a general air of disinterest in terms of the public areas. No irrigation system meant that all the plants were dying and the parking area was weedy. We were the only couple taking the half board option which we took based on earlier reviews. Whilst good value, some of the meals disappointed and this combined with the lack of atmosphere meant that we would have preferred to eat elsewhere. Overall not a disaster but definitely lacking a bit of tlc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99AnneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had a week in the Pacifae Golden Village in Katelios, Kefalonia in September this year. The rooms were clean and adequate, pretty good by greek standards. The bathroom was excellent and appeared to have just been refurbished. The pool was clean and a really good size. However, the bar/restaurant had little ambience and having read previous reviews about the friendliness of the owners we were surprised when we didn't receive a warm welcome and although breakfast was included after day one we decided to go elsewhere. The gardens at the Pacifae need a lot more TLC urgently. It's a very exposed site at the top of the resort but has potential to have as lovely gardens as other hotel and small apartment blocks.

We found a very warm welcome and ambience in Gerry's just down the main road. Great breakfast, cool host and lovely gardens.

All in all not a bad place but would probably choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte_Steve62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The rooms are clean and tidy the staff and family attentive and so friendly. We cant thank Sakis and everyone else enough for a wonderful and restful holiday. As for the area around, the unspoilt surroundings and wonderful local taverns gave plenty of chioces to get out. Uor favourite was Perser's which was just down the road a little, with traditional greek food and fatastic atmosphere it was just the tonic. Thank you All.......

Room Tip: The new apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bugattiinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I wish to thank the whole doumas family especially Penny, Demetri and mama for their attentitive and friendly service. Kefalonia is a beautiful and I would recommend a car if you like to explore.The pool area is fab with plenty of sun loungers. There a lots of tavernas down by harbour which is great if you like fish and seafood. My daughter (11) made friends with other kids but it is still very quiet. All in all all was great and we would return if something could be done abouts the wasps, we were all stung!

Room Tip: we had a bungalow which was OK and closer to the pool but I think the reniovated rooms were more com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were lucky to find the Doumas family 10 years ago when the Doumas (now pacifae golden village) appartments first opened.
The island is still very unspoilt and the pretty villages remain picture postcard quality.
The hotel was refurbished a couple
of years ago and our room was comfortable (really comfy double bed !!) and large enough for our requirements. Aircon as standard too !
Sakis, Penny and family were perfect hosts again and our kids (6
& 4) enjoyed playing with new found friends in the super sized pool
! We ate most lunch times in the hotel pool bar area which serves up great snacks Greek salads etc.
Katelios was quieter than usual this
Year and there seemed to be a lack of live entertaiment in the tavernas which was probably due to the economic climate at present.
Tavernas we would recommend are Jerry elinko on main road, blue sea on sea front we also had good meals at captain jerrys and heard good reports about dreams which was down at the beach.
All in all a very relaxing 12 nights for mum,dad & the kids who want to return again soon !!
Rob & Karen Goodman
Copmanthorpe York

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firebobby8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The area of Katelios is ideal if you want to have a really relaxing holiday with easy access to good beaches and some of the best restaurants I have eaten in in Greece. There is lots of fresh seafood and traditional Greek dishes on offer at the tavernas which are all within a 10 / 15 min walk of this hotel.

The pool area in the hotel is fabulous, the pool is a really good size and there are plenty of beds so you don't have to get up early to grab a pitch! The rooms are very modern and everywhere was spotlessly clean.

On top of all this the family that run the hotel were welcoming, friendly and helpful. If you are looking for somewhere quiet to relax and unwind then this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wilmac2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
12.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
4.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
5.6 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#1 of 12 in Poros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.9 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 7 in Svoronata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifae Golden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifae Golden Village

Property: Pacifae Golden Village
Address: | along Mounda Bay, Katelios 28082, Greece (Formerly Doumas Hotel)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Katelios
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacifae Golden Village 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lot of updates..Sundays Greek nights live and Wednesday Hollis live 70-80s rock,etc.Join us for for some dance or try our homemade greek meals ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pacifae Golden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifae Golden Village Hotel Katelios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing