We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a bit like home really!”
Review of Katelios Taverna

Katelios Taverna
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: For a warm welcome, good food and being made to feel more than just a number you can't beat this place, if you are in Katelios you must pay Sadie and Illias a vis.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's a bit like home really!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

You really couldn't find a nicer place to sit and have lunch in the whole world! Great food, service and the most friendly staff you would wish to find. The owners Illias and Sadie remember you year after year and go out of their way to make you welcome. Oh, and if you're Johnny Depp, there a table permanently on standby for you!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JedWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    60
    34
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, efficient service”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good selection of local dishes even though many of the restaurants have the same menu this was well prepared and served. This was complemented by prompt friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ABN1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Of all the places we ate in Kefalonia, this was my least favourite. We were looking forward to some nice fresh fish in a scenic setting. What I got was rubber calamari while a dog and 2 cats looked at me.
All seemd well when we arrived...typical Greek Taverna. Starters of stuffed peppers were ok if very greasy. My main of calamari as inedible...rubber bands with crispy greasy batter hanging off....yuck. I didn't eat it, and told the young, nervous waiter (he spent the entire meal running around lime he was being chased, constantly changing directon!) that it was awful...he said he would tell the chef. We asked for the bill and I reiterated my dissatisfaction to another waiter who asked why I hadn't told anyone! The calamari was taken off the bill, but I left more hungry than when I arrived!

Helpful?
3 Thank Slesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best taverna in Katelios for dinner”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Following the loss of the 4 brothers, our previous favourtie, the best evening meal we had was at the Katelios Taverna. Excellent food - potatoes amazing - and nice service. Shame we only went on our last night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoggy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Sea Bass ever tasted!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I have just had the best sea bass I have ever tasted!!! My husband had the beef stamna and he became so emotional over how nice it was he cried ( we come from a family of chefs, so that was quite something!!!). The service was beautifully slow, the wine was good and the staff were fantastic.

If you go expecting speed or a flash looking place you would be very disappointed, however, if you love food, family and chat this is the place for you!!! I would say, if you are taking children, take something to keep them occupied as this is not quick dining.

Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Tree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katelios Taverna also viewed

Katelios, Cephalonia
Katelios, Cephalonia
 
Cephalonia, Ionian Islands
Katelios, Cephalonia
 
Katelios, Cephalonia
 

Been to Katelios Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing