We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
$116
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveler rating
500
121
38
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
500
121
38
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar local tavernas last year two weeks family run amazing holiday stayed here for a week sunbeds village helen bud cleaners bakery barman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 690 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic hotel, can’t recommend it high enough! We are still here and do not want to go home!
The hotel is very clean and is a family run hotel which is adults only and that really helps. Rooms a very large and well equipped, pool is very large and plenty of sunbeds for everyone.
The staff are very friendly and helpful especially Nicolai in the restaurant it’s his first year here but it felt like he was part of the family!
Rooms are cleaned everyday just hand in your electric card and they go and clean it.
Now for location , PERFECT just a 10min stride outside a lovely little beach from village called Kateleios with splendid bars and restaurants also car and boat hire. We hired a couple of Quad bikes from Dave just 2mins walk outside the hotel on the left heading down to Kateleios, he is from Cheshire. 3 days of quad biking is the best way to see the island, we did Skala and Poros, Then Sami and Antisamos beach going cross country over the mountain. Finally Argostoli and the Turtles and Lourdas beach. Then we hired a speedboat for the day from Kateleios and went west along the coast seeing all the bays and caves and then back to Skala. Great day on the boat! We can say so far that this hotel is in the very best location on the island for if you want to just stay by the pool or catch sum sightseeing, we have done both and this weekend got a little Suzuki Jimmy to see ASSOS and FISCARDO. Monday pool day then dreaded Tuesday home! Defo be back !

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank oldsmithy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the staff and owners of the hotel. Check was swift and our cases were taken to our room whilst another member of staff explained the safe and door codes etc. We were also told that changing pool towels could be done every few days which is not a problem. During our stay I had to deal with an urgent issue (in the UK) and Mrs Nota and her family facilitated this for me, without their kindness I couldnt of done it.

I also asked about vegetarian options in the hotels Rosebud restaurant and Mrs Nota's daughter even offered to make me a veggie lasagne and bring it in from home.

The food by the poolside bar which is served between 1 and 4pm is excellent value for money and the home made chips are beautiful.

Breakfast is plentiful with freshly cooked pancakes, bacon, eggs, beans, greek sausages, yogurt, fruit, ham, cheese and cereals and a variety of bread.

Sunbeds are plentiful and you dont need to reserve them.

The family and staff at this hotel cannot do enough for you, you can read between the lines with the 'minority' of negative reviews. We have four holidays abroad each year and usually keep our pool towels for up to 3 days to do our bit for the environment.

We will definately be returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank vonnie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous week at the magnolia resort. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, our cases were taken to our room and we were accompanied by a staff member who showed us how everything worked. The rooms are spotless and were cleaned daily, our room was well situated with beautiful mountain views from the balcony. The pool area is lovely and there was always plenty of sun beds, the pool bar had a great menu and the drinks were reasonably priced, we also ate in the rosebud restaurant a couple of times, the food was tasty and again well priced. There are a couple of tavernas nearby as well as those down in the village which is around 10 minutes walk. We can’t say we had any issues with staff, the breakfasts or the pool towels and yes you handed your room card in for cleaning but you have a code for the door so it wasn’t a problem! In all this is a lovely hotel and we had a great holiday we will definately return!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank dianehA3081QR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Our 3rd holiday in Kefalonia & 3rd time at The Magnolia. We wouldn't stay anywhere else, why would you, it's perfect. I've said it before, you can't please everyone but when people start getting personal about individuals it really winds me up !!!!
People go back to The Magnolia year after year and why wouldn't you ?
Nota, Effi and the boys are the perfect hosts so I really struggle with the negativity.
The half board menu is somewhat limited - so go self catering, simple. The food has always been great. As for not enough breakfast choice, how much choice do you people want for god sake ??
The fantastic reviews out way the negative,we can't all be wrong ???

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for people liking the idea of an adults only break, its also a perfect destination for a spotlessly clean and friendly hotel set 15 minutes walk (we timed it!!) from the small beachfront town of Katelois. The rooms are spaceous and comfy with good airconditioning. The breakfasts are fine and plentiful only if a little limited on variety, but this is Greece remember! All the bar staff are very friendly and the drinks prices are very reasonable. The poolside area is very inviting and the pool is warm enough to tempt you in. There are plenty of Tavernas nearby to persuade to take a small walk away from the hotel during the evening, a particular mention must go to Perusas (lovely food and atmosphere) and Jerrys which was also very welcoming and had an excellent choice of meals. A note of caution is a bar on the beachfront called Floriditas which unbeknown to us thinks they can charge double the hotel prices for identical drinks... avoid!!! On the whole the island of Kefalonia is beautiful and well worth exploring ( the underground lake is breathtaking) there is nothing not to like about this place and in fact its ended up being one of out most memorable Greek holidays ever.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank brownalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews