We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveler rating
495
120
38
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
495
120
38
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosebud bistro tea bags pool area air con lovely hotel tinned fruit half board relaxing holiday a la carte menu well run hotel key card local tavernas hired a car next year bed and breakfast pool towels owners and staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 684 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for people liking the idea of an adults only break, its also a perfect destination for a spotlessly clean and friendly hotel set 15 minutes walk (we timed it!!) from the small beachfront town of Katelois. The rooms are spaceous and comfy with good airconditioning. The breakfasts are fine and plentiful only if a little limited on variety, but this is Greece remember! All the bar staff are very friendly and the drinks prices are very reasonable. The poolside area is very inviting and the pool is warm enough to tempt you in. There are plenty of Tavernas nearby to persuade to take a small walk away from the hotel during the evening, a particular mention must go to Perusas (lovely food and atmosphere) and Jerrys which was also very welcoming and had an excellent choice of meals. A note of caution is a bar on the beachfront called Floriditas which unbeknown to us thinks they can charge double the hotel prices for identical drinks... avoid!!! On the whole the island of Kefalonia is beautiful and well worth exploring ( the underground lake is breathtaking) there is nothing not to like about this place and in fact its ended up being one of out most memorable Greek holidays ever.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank brownalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were explained to at reception that we could get new pool towels daily, as you’d expect. On day 2 we went to reception to exchange the previous days sweaty pool towels (6 hours in the sun, in and out of the pool) to be VERY rudely and aggressively shouted at by the old lady / owner! Like Richard in the comments below, we too were subjected to the Spanish Inquisition. For a pool towel! Madness. After we didn’t move she very reluctantly exchanged them for 2 that smelt vile with stains all over it. It ended in us walking away as she (the owner) continuously shouted at us. She needs to learn from the staff she employs about customer service because as fast as they’re setting the standards, she’s plummeting them.

...we bought our own pool towels from the shop down the road in the end and used the hotels pool towels on our excursions to the beach to lay on the sand :-)

If you drink tea, take your own. You’re allowed 2 per room for the duration of your stay. There’s no milk so you will be rudely told by the owner again to get it yourself from the shop up the road (that’s another story from another couple we met).

You have to hand your electricity card in at reception during breakfast so they can clean your room. We gave up after day 1 and the room still always got cleaned.

The food menu online is very different to the actual menu you get if your half-board and extremely limiting. After day 3 you’ll be very bored of it.

We were given a departing gift of a small turtle made from seashell, nice gesture, however it had a very long dark hair entangled in it...lovely.

All in all, I wouldn’t return. They need to sort the owner out as looking at all the other low rated reviews she seems to be the problem. She is EXTREMELY rude and obnoxious especially as she watches like a hawk sat at the pool bar all day.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
9  Thank TA9091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Just stayed here for two weeks. PERFECTION!!
Family run by three generations. Lovely man takes your cases to room. Rooms a great size with bed linen changed every other day. Pool towers could be changed daily. Hotel spotless in all areas. Pool beautiful, really friendly staff. Breakfast you could have fruit, yogurt, cooked, cereal, toast, pastries, cheese and cold meats. For lunch variety of toasties, omelettes, dips or pizzas very reasonable priced. 17 choices for main meals in evening on half board. very quiet and adult only without any entertainment! Bliss!!
Katelios has a lovely beach used by many locals, small fishing harbour and we saw turtles swimming in there most days. About 12 different Taverners along the seafront and a few shops. Definitely fantastic for those looking for a quiet time. No hassle from anyone, for us just PERFECT in every way!
Kefalonia a beautiful Island, lush green with great beaches! The capital worth a visit along with the hidden lake and caves.Will definitely be returning next year!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We stayed for a week, nice welcome and a chappy took our cases to our room, the room was quite large and very clean and tidy. Perfect aircon, shower a bit small and could do with being higher as I am tall. (most people will be fine I am very tall). The electric shutter is good, keeps out the sun, keeps it dark for a late wake up. Breakfast was OK but on some days there was only brown bread and I only saw marble cake and croissants once. Often no sausages left but then we did get there about 10am. The bar staff were very friendly and fun. Lunch was good and we love your pizza's. The evening menu for half board was very limited. You really need more choice even if it was an option with paying a little extra. The pool was great and there were always spare sunbeds all day and we were there in august. This was fantastic and no need to get up early. My only gripe was the total lack of entertainment or music, I appreciate many of your guests are elderly and returning guests, but there were many younger people to. On speaking to many of the guests, regular guests and elderly guests they to felt like a bit of music and entertainment was lacking. Whilst everyone on Greece is very friendly and the taverna's were nice I felt Katelios was rather boring but to be fair it was advertised as a quite resort

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jj0306_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

We have recently returned from our second visit to the Magnolia Hotel & yet again we were extremely impressed with absolutely everything from the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness of all areas of the hotel. Not to mention the delicious lunches & dinners we ate at the bar and in the restaurant. The rooms were cleaned daily to a very high standard and are all fitted with a temperature-controlling air conditioning unit. The bathrooms are clean and modern. There is a fridge, tea-making facilities, hairdryer, plenty of wardrobe space & a safe in each room. The food that is served at the bar at lunchtime is very tasty & always served with a smile. In our opinion, the hotel prices of meals were very good. We have seen some negative reviews regarding breakfast but in our opinion we were totally satisfied with what was on offer. There was a choice of fruit, yoghurt, toast, marble cake, cereals, boiled eggs, freshly sliced beef tomato, pastries, hams, cheese, scrambled eggs, bacon, baked beans, teas, coffees & juices daily - what more would you want?!

The beachfront, where you will find the tavernas, bars and a few gift/convenience shops, is a 10-15 minute downhill walk away. We hired a car & travelled to different beaches around the island which we prefer to the beach at Katelios. Although eating dinner by the sea at Katelios is a very pleasant experience. Myrtos beach is definitely worth a visit, especially for the views! However the current is very strong so be careful! I would recommend taking water shoes to the beaches for your comfort.

Thank you to all of the staff at Magnolia for another fantastic stay & for your incredible hospitality! We hope to be back again very soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank AnastasiaKyriacou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews