We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
$116
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveler rating
500
121
38
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
500
121
38
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar local tavernas last year two weeks family run amazing holiday stayed here for a week sunbeds village helen bud cleaners bakery barman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 690 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Upon arrival we were made very welcome. Staff were courteous and helpful. The room was clean and well presented. The female bar waitress was always friendly, welcoming and attentive as was the breakfast waitress. Unfortunately breakfast was very repetitive and a daily breakfast special would have added variety.

Location was excellent with only a 12 minute walk ‘downhill’ to the bars and tavernas on the sea front.
However on the downside, two very small bottles of shower gel were not replenished when they ran out. We were also surprised with the weekly two teabag allowance! And were subjected to a Spanish inquisition when I asked for a clean pool towels after 5 days!
The management at the hotel seem very ‘penny pinching’ which in my opinion is very disappointing considering it’s four star rating.

Their online description of a ‘gym’ is very misleading unless you count a running machine, exercise bike and a floor mat as one with no air con. Unfortunately the only resistance machine was broken.

The pool area is fantastic and I never had trouble finding a sun bed. It was always spotlessly clean.

Kefalonia is a beautiful island and our 3 days with a car and sight seeing were very memorable!

Date of stay: August 2018
6  Thank richarde357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Got back yesterday from our second stay at this amazing hotel. Within half an hour of us arriving there last year, we both said that we’d return in 2018, and we did. When you check in at the desk in the beautifully cool and elegant reception, you won’t be prepared for what awaits you at the pool area. It’s an absolutely stunning setting: a huge, gorgeous pool, large beautifully appointed bar at one end, and very tasteful designed accommodation blocks on two sides. All with the lovely back drop of the mountain range. The rooms are immaculate both in cleanliness, and decor, as is the whole place. When checking in, the lovely lady who owns it welcomed us back, and there were two small complimentary bottles of wine and a fresh, white rose in a vase on our dressing table. Little touches like this are what sets The Magnolia apart. Large bathroom with a huge sink, very efficient and much needed air con, and an electronically controlled metal shutter to keep heat out and so you can have it really dark at night to sleep if you want. There has been much criticism of the breakfasts here: every morning whilst we were there, there was bacon, little sausages, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, three types of sliced bread, two types of freshly baked loaves, Greek yoghurt, honey, fresh fruit ( either watermelon or figs),tinned peaches and pears, beautiful little freshly made pancakes and most mornings a lovely homemade chocolate marble cake. And mini croissants with jams and marmalade’s. What more would one want??? Oh. . . forgot to say baked beans too! We didn’t eat at the bistro as we had too many favourite restaurants on the beachfront that we wanted to revisit. It was a fantastic, relaxing break in this quiet and elegant first class hotel. A large percentage of the guests were return customers, and we hope to stay there again in the future. Highly recommended. No faults to highlight at all.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank jillymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We stayed for a week. The hotel was spotless. The room was really tastefully decorated and we had a small balcony overlooking the mountains behind. Air conditioning was great. We had a bath which was really nice. There were always enough sun beds at the pool. It was a lovely atmosphere, quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was good, Greek yogurt and honey, fresh fruit, pancakes, some English breakfast if you wanted it. We only ate in the restaurant once and the food was very good. We walked down to the beach which took about 10minutes and there were several tavernas and bars, all really good food. The taverna opposite the hotel was really good too, as was Jerry’s just down the road. Can’t fault the hotel, the staff were so friendly and helpful

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Magnolia Hotel is one of the larger hotels in Katelios and is a modern looking and friendly, family run hotel. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are well sized and maintained.

The pool is excellent and kept very clean and the sunbeds are well looked after and have cushions on them - the hotel provide towels for use around the pool.

The breakfast is a mix of traditional eggs and bacon and continental style with cereals and toast available. Fruit and yogurt is also available along with tea and coffee.

The village of Katelios is a 15 min downhill walk but well worth the effort for the good range of tavernas and bars and there is a general stores shop 2 mins from the hotel where you can get most things you may need - sun cream, food, alcohol, rubber rings!!

Well worth a visit.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank mummah1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

A fantastic hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Spotlessly clean, and staff went the extra mile. Our only criticism was breakfast as a change would have been nice. However the pizza at lunchtime was out of this world. The evening meals were amazing and staff that waited on us were excellent nothing was too much trouble. This family run hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, in Greece. Ideal for Honeymooners. The peace and quiet was just what we needed and although we have children it was nice to have no kids jumping in the pool and screaming. Lovely homely touches all round and on leaving we were given a lovely china turtle such a lovely touch. Met some lovely people and ate out twice.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank timc272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews