We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRADITIONALLY GREEK”
Review of Anastasia Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anastasia Studios
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“TRADITIONALLY GREEK”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were here from 6-13th May, the start of the season.

If you are looking for a basic no frills accommodation in a quiet location, this is for you.

About 1.5km to the beach and restaurants which is an easy 20mins stroll. There are two supermarkets on the way. There are another two scenic routes to the beach and restaurants and if you are feeling energetic it will take you about 30mins.

Deana and her family are very friendly and hospitable. She gave us fresh eggs and fruit a couple of times in the week that we stayed. The rooms were clean and Deana came in every day to make the beds and empty the rubbish.

This accommodation does not have a swimming pool but as we booked with Thomsons we were allowed to use the facilities at the Magnolia Hotel which is about a 5-10min walk away.

Katelios is a small Greek village with about a dozen restaurants to choose from and a gift shop.

We recommend that you hire a car and see the rest of the island, especially Argostoli, Lixouri. Sami, Poros and Assos.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jazzyfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
FIN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was living here one week in August 2011. We took with my friend somekind of " cheap last chance" charter from Finnmatkat company Finland and travelled to Kefallonia.
The company booked us there.

Our first reaction was something about like " what a h...." . Looked like we were middle of nothing in place called Katelios and got a hotelroom in August without any air conditioning. Neighborrooms there was at least somekind of "propeller" at ceiling but in our room not even that.

So night´s were really a LOT of too warm to sleep and if you tried to sleep doors open you were afterwards quite eated by the mosquitos. Otherwise room was quite okey and they cleaned it everyday.

There is one minimarket close to hotel and in Katelios village there is lot of pool´s which are free for everyone. Quite good anf cheap breakfast you can find for example from Jerry´s Elleniko Restaurant. It´s about 500 m away from hotel.

Hotel´s owner couple is absolutely one of the most friendly Greek couple that i have ever met. So ten points to them. They resque a lot. Allmost everyday they bring you something tastefull from the garden or from the grill. They advice you and try to do everything they can.

But still...? Do I live there again?
Have to say that in August when there so hot to sleep i really doubt it...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greensome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Anastasia studios may be one of the most basic in the Thomson Kefalonia brochure so we did not expect 5-star luxury and we were more than happy with the standard of the accommodation. We even had a proper kettle - a first for us in Greece! Our apartment was on the first floor, the balcony had lovely views over olive trees and sheep grazing, you could see the see and you can even see Zakinthos in the distance! We were not overlooked by any other apartments so it felt quite private. There is no pool at Anastasia but as in any Greek Island, you are welcome to use any of the pools nearby and there are 3 or 4 to choose from.
Takes about 15 minutes to walk to the sea on a gently sloping road, there are various shops and restaurants dotted along the way. The beach at Katelios is clean and unspoilt and it is also quite easy to walk along the goat track to Mounda.
The main attraction for these apartments is that they are run by the most charming Greek lady called Dina, who is maybe the only person on Kefalonia that doesn't speak English! She is very welcoming and kept leaving is little presents... Eggs, the most beautiful tomatoes, whatever was ripe and plentiful in the garden!
Eating out at Jerry’s Eliniko was amazing, or there are the fish restaurants on the beach. There is a minimarket and bakery, again within 5 minutes walk.
We had seen Katelios described as an overflow for Skala, but Skala has little charm or character compared to unspoilt Katelios and should attract a completely different type of tourist. There always seem to be a lot of Greeks on the beach so that must mean something positive!

Room Tip: Great views from the 1st floor, wouldn't see the sea from the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveandLorna2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Really liked these studios. Yes they are basic but spotlessly clean
Deina , the owner was friendly and kind. her small holding is in front of the rooms. Your alarm
call is one of her cock's crowing or the sound of goat bells as her livestock graze nearby.
Returning one afternoon, she had left half a dozen free range eggs in the room
The studios are situated in Ano Katelios, a 15 minute downhill walk to the beach.
That for me was a bonus as there was no noise at night. A supermarket and bakery are just down the road, as is Persa's restaurant..
If you want a traditional Greek experience in an almost semi-rural location
then I can recommend these studios

Room Tip: 1st Floor Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

rooms are very large with dark greek furniture, there is every think you need for a great relaxeing holiday, with large balconys with really lovely views of ketlios and the mountains around.
the owner Deina was very helpfull and allways had a smile on her face and if you was around when she was picking her fruit from the garden, she would give you a bowl full to take to your room. i had a accident when i was out one day,and when she found out the next day she would not take no for a answear and drove my husband and my self the 20 or more k to the hospital and stayed there and made sure we knew what was being said even though it took more then 4 hours at the hospital ..Its at the top of the village so its a good 15 minuite walk up from the beach tavernas,and is recomended that you take a torch for late night returns
If you are looking for great basic greek studios in a lovely peaceful part of the village with great views,and you dont mind not having a swimming pool,then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbieSkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
20.2 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lixouri
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alkioni Hotel
Alkioni Hotel
#2 of 18 in Katelios
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albouro Apartments
Albouro Apartments
#7 of 18 in Katelios
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Dei Sogni
Villa Dei Sogni
#4 of 8 in Katelios
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Studios
Lighthouse Studios
#6 of 8 in Katelios
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aligis Studios
Aligis Studios
#2 of 8 in Katelios
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Studios

Property: Anastasia Studios
Address: Katelios 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Katelios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Anastasia Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is located very close to the sea. The wonderful view will make you forget your everyday life and not thetele quit. Each individual room has a balcony, twin beds, private bathroom, air conditioning and kitchen fridge. The place is suitable for couple.The rooms have daily cleaning and once a week gets the general changing the sheets and towels. The family that cares is at your disposal for anything you need. We are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anastasia Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing