We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utopia Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here and could not have been happier, we were the last drop off from the airport and gasped when we saw the Hotel Utopia! It is an amazing hotel, for sure the best on the island. Staff were soooo freindly and helpful, took our cases to our rooms straight away, where wine and fruit were waiting, and a jacuzzi bath! The mountain views from the hotel is breathtaking, and you can see the beach, a short 15 min walk at most. The hotel has everything to offer, we only stayed bed and breakfast so that we were able to enjoy the tavernas in the small village, but we ate at the hotel twice in the evening on greek night and bbq night during our week stay which were fabulous. On the last day we discovered the sauna, and steam room on the lower ground floor OMG!! There was no one in there, and it is gorgeous, so you must go - access downstairs before the restaurant. Happy hour is excellent the barman was so lovely - everyone just wants to wait on you! Overall a great hotel - immaculate in every way! The customer service is unbelievable - any thing you need - they provide!

Room Tip: All rooms are fab - I checked them out! The staff let me see other rooms - all have different things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelvinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 232 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and family during the summer. We stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed a lovely quite holiday.

Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Only negative would be that the drinks are quite pricey, however if you're cleaver there are lots of deals in different bars which make them a lot more reasonable.

Short stroll to the beach which was a little disappointing. Although sandy, it is a little stoney in places and quite small.

Great holiday if you dont want to do a lot!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Where to start, this place is peaceful, relaxing, a perfect honeymoon destination. Me and my Husband left for Kefalonia the morning after our wedding and all we wanted was somewhere quiet & hot hot hot!! The weather was perfect 10 degrees hotter for this time of year! The hotel was so clean the cleaners are constantly working cleaning clean floors. The beds a little hard - but we didnt care as it is what we are used to! The drinks around the pool were a little expensive but who cares your on holiday and there is a shop not to far away! The staff brilliant and cocktails to die for! We took full advantage of the free spa facilities on offer and really enjoyed using them especially sauna and tropical showers!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kerry109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Read all the great reviews on here so my partner and I were really looking forward to our stay...however, although clean and in a good location, we were disappointed with the service we received. We found the drinks to be overpriced and one member of the staff was quite rude to us whilst dining there...which, unfortunately, as this was a trip for a special occasion, put a bit of a dampener on things and made us decide not to dine at the hotel again - which actually was fine, as there are lots of nice tavernas to choose from!
Obviously the other reviewers had better stays than we did, hence the assumption that we must have caught them on an off week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We decided we wanted a hoilday where we could just do nothing and wanted a guarantee of a great hotel and not too far from the sea. This was perfect and out expectations were high due to the previous remarks on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed at all. The Hotel was as described and the staff very helpful and pleasent. All previous remarks about the beds are correct, but if the hotel management added mattress toppers that is all that would be required. The staff make this hotel and I really hope that the owners of the hotel do their best to get them all back for next year. The drinks outside of happy hour are too expensive and for the clientel I am not sure happy hour is necessary, rather more realistic prices all day. Wasps were a problem, particularly around the restaurant and the hotel could take steps to minimise this nuisance with some initive measures to lure the wasps away. The food was fantastic, although a better choice of cerials at breakfast, but then I am getting pedantic and you shouldn't take too much notice, the whole place was as near perfect as you could hope for as was the trip out and back. If the management of the Hotel read this, please do not add a Mini Market around the pool area next year, it would cheapen the whole ambience of the hotel. If you must how about the waiting area near the SPA? Remploy Vicky next year, she really looked after us in the restaurant. To all those reading this and thinking of next year, you won't go wrong with this Hotel if all you want is peace and quiet and to fly and flop!

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, you need to ask for it at the time of booking as most are twin bedded and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StuartandSheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just returned from a week of complete and utter relaxation at the Utopia! The reviews already on here are a very accurate and fair reflection of the hotel and surrounding area.

In summary, the good: hotel is immaculate - rooms and communal areas, pool is gorgeous with plenty of beds (although worth nicking an additional cushion off one of the many spare beds around the pool, none of this reserving business here!), breakfast is plentiful and good quality, staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, location is great for lazy days by the pool and beach as well as a stroll into the 'resort' for something to eat in the evening.

Not so good: hard beds (never thought i would write it and that previous people were making a big deal out of it but trust me, they're very firm!), wasps around when you're trying to have breakfast, expensive drinks (although hotel not much worse than other bars) - happy hour is the time to buy!

The resort itself is more a run of 9 tavernas all alongside the beach with their kitchens across a small road, Captain Jerry and Lighthouse would be my recommendations and Dreams for lunch although service is quite slow here so allow plenty of time and not one for the sun worshippers to choose! We've never been anywhere so small before but both found ourselves saying we'd go back again as the hotel was great and resort just perfect for relaxing.

We didn't do any trips this time however did look into a few, we booked our holiday with Thomas Cook, their organised trips were much more expensive than Panam that are just down the road on the way into the resort.

All in all if you want a quiet relaxing break this is both the resort and hotel for you as you will come back completely refreshed, recharged and ready to go!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are really pleasant and the pool/sea view rooms have the sun on them all day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week break at this hotel. We married in Kefalonia during our stay so chose this 4 star hotel to relax at prior to the big day, and to honeymoon at afterwards, and what a great choice we made.

The hotel itself is very smart. The rooms are nicely furnished, as are the bathrooms. We stayed in room 328, which was one of the doublerooms overlooking the pool and with a (distant) sea view. We booked a standard twin room with Thomson (as that was all that was available when we booked online) but emailed the hotel before we went to explain that we were getting married etc and they gave us the upgrade free of charge. The bathroom had a shower rather than a bath but that suited us and the bathrooms are nicely decorated. The bed was firm but comfortable and probably a superking rather than a double. The room and the rest of the hotel were kept in immaculate condition.

The pool area was great - never a shortage of sunbeds despite the hotel being fully booked. As we went in September there were virtually no children and it was very peaceful most of the time.

The restaurant dinner menu was good quality and the food reasonably priced, as was the snack bar. The breakfast choice was excellent and there was never an occassion where anything ran out. The wasps were a pain, but I am not convinced the hotel can do much about them if you choose to eat outside! Ok so the drinks were fairly expensive apart from during happy hour, but a lot of people don't realise that this is partly due to the tax levied by the Greek government on alcohol - to buy spirits in the supermarket is a lot more expensive than in the UK. We were told that the hotel owner is aware that the cost of drinks is a cause of complaint and is reviewing the prices before next season. I think some people also fail to take into account that the spirits are all good quality, branded drinks rather than cheap, foul, local brands. I personally would rather drink fewer good quality drinks for my money.

We used the spa - we both had massages and I also had a facial. The massages (with Emily) were excellent but the facial was lame - just a facepack and a scrub. I got the impression that Emily was a trained masseuse rather than a beauty therapist. I was also disappointed to learn the only treatments were facials and massages - they could do with offering a more comprehensive range of treatments to include manicures, pedicures etc. The treatments were though reasonably priced. 80 Euros for about an hour and half.

The staff are lovely, polite, helpful and work very, very hard. Denis stood out for us in particular and is an asset to the hotel, but in 2 weeks we didn't encounter any poor service. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine on our wedding day and the hotel manageress went out of her way to fuss over us and gave us complimentary drinks to calm our nerves even though we chose to get married elsewhere.

The resort of Katelios is 5 mins walk away and comprises half a dozen or so traditional tavernas and a couple of bars. It's a small and charming resort but not good for anyone who wants much in the way of nightlife. If you want that, stay in Scala. That's a typical holiday resort and could easily be any old resort in Spain/Greece/Turkey - there are lots more shops, bars etc and it's exactly the kind of tacky generic resort we tried to avoid. We only went once - that was enough.

If you want a peaceful break in a good quality hotel, Utopia is a great choice. We would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Some people have complained about the views from some of the rooms. The answer? Pay for a pool/sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
19.4 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
446 reviews
4.2 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
18.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alkioni Hotel
Alkioni Hotel
#3 of 18 in Katelios
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort & Spa

Address: Katelios 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Hotel Class:4 star — Utopia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Utopia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Hotel Katelios
Utopia Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing