We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utopia Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“FABULOUS HOLIDAY”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have just returned from two idyllic weeks at the aptly named Utopia Hotel. Where to begin, except to say possibly the best holiday ever, with none of the problems encountered such as replenishment of breakfast items, which previous reviewers seem to have experienced. In fact, we felt there is almost too much choice at breakfast all of it to a high standard, although we do prefer our bacon crispy.

Yes, some of the drinks are expensive, but if you want a gin and tonic or a bottle of Sol in a 4-star hotel you’re going to have to pay top dollar for it! Having said that, I do feel there could be more of a choice of wines on offer, but you can bring in beers or a bottle of wine from the supermarket and have a sun downer on your balcony before dinner if you want. (No issues with using the fridge in your room now as was reported earlier on in the season). Plus, there’s always happy hour, 2-hours actually - amazing cocktails for 4 euros!!

We went to both the BBQ and Greek nights which we considered to be great value for the amount of excellent and abundant amount of food on offer, plus entertainment. However, It is a pity that the restaurant does not offer at least a couple of Greek dishes which we feel would be more appropriate than spaghetti bolognese or carbonara, plus the pool bar could offer a little more variety, like maybe a pizza and a greater variety of sandwiches.

Totally agree though with other reviewers regarding Jerrys Taverna (great value) and would recommend both Blue Sea and Lighthouse for amazing fresh fish.

The hotel is immaculately clean, bedding and towels are changed constantly and without exception all the staff are courteous and happy to help, amazingly so for so late in the season. Den in particular is tireless and always had a big smile on his face.

The pools and the surrounding pool area are stunning and so peaceful with nothing to offend the eye (no high rise buildings), just mountains and the sea.

We did not hire a car as this is our third visit to the Island, but we booked two excursions, both through Rhona at Panem who, in common with other reviewers, we found to be both informative and entertaining. The first trip we booked was the Ithica Tour, which we would thoroughly recommend. Both the driver, Dimitri, and the guide, Esme were brilliant, What Esme doesn’t know about Kefalonia and Ithica is not worth knowing and she gave a wonderfully informative commentary without being remotely patronising – pure class! The other excursion we took was the Ithica boat trip, which again, we would thoroughly recommend – the swim stops were fabulous – sea so clear you could see straight down to the sea bed.

Bearing in mind the Utopia has only been open for just over a year, there are bound to be some teething problems which I believe they are on to. It would be great to go back next year and see the restaurant buzzing in the evening just as it ought to be. (Needless to say, we are going back next year!).

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 454gillianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    65
    29
    10
    12
See reviews for
66
123
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pontllyfni
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

how can so few staff run this hotel to such a high standard.I hope the management are looking after you.lovely hotel in a lovely location but katelios itself needs some attention.car hire advisable in kefalonia.stunning views from pool area which is kept in an immaculate condition.hotel food good but could improve choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Just returned from our first visit to Kefalonia, The hotel is superb, we paid a premium for the sea view which in my opinion was good value. Katelios is a place that grows on you and at the end of our 14 day stay we felt quite at home with the people in the village being so friendly.
We enjoyed eating at Dreams Taverna which can be seen to the left as you look out from the hotel, it really is a 'dream' also the Ostria Taverna which is between the Katelios and Cozy Tavernas on the front.
Panem Tours are excellent value, the Island Tour is well worth doing.
All in all a perfect place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

One of the reasons we chose to stay at the Utopia was the positive reviews on this site. I’m pleased to confirm that that most of the comments are spot on; the Utopia is a high standard hotel with professional staff and great amenities – not something I’m used to on a Greek island but much appreciated!

Rather than repeat the same comments here are a few tips that may help if you plan to stay:

The building features a couple of atriums and a number of rooms face into these so that the balconies have no external view. These looked dark and not particularly good to sit out on as they are overlooked from various angles. When booking positively insist on an external room. My preference would be for the sea view as you get the sun in the evening , however these are charged at a premium.

The restaurant is disappointing with an uninspiring menu and decidedly bland atmosphere. On arrival we were offered the chance to “upgrade” to half board for just €98 per person per week, I’m glad we didn’t accept as Katelios is just five minutes walk away with a great choice of Tavernas.

We booked one of the organised tours offered by our holiday provider and found it poor value for money. For the remainder we used local company Panem Tours which offers similar trips and cruises at significantly lower cost. I was impressed by the quality of the tours and attention to safety which if anything was superior to the higher priced alternative. The Panem office is easy to find on the way to the beach and Rhona is a great source of information and advice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lostmymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for the last two weeks of August. Could not fault the hotel, it was absolutely superb. Excellent facilities, pools, rooms, and service. The restaurant is very airy and stylish with an excellent choice of food cooked to a high standard. The restaurant staff Vicky and Dennis; and Miroslav at the bar deserve a special mention. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. We had a garden view room and as we didn't spend much time in it, it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy1958_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel is located in a peaceful location close to the small village and beach. it is very new and modern and although we did experience some gliches it did provide a very comfortable environment to stay in. The rooms were kept perfectly clean - although the jacussi bath sprayed lots of " gunk" out of the jets when switched on and we used a shower thereafter! Much more eco-friendly anyway.
The hotel is very spacious with a wonderful seating arrangement around the pools and a conveneint snack bar. Loved the Spa area and facilities - an escape from the hot sun!
There are few hotels of this standard in Greece - but in many ways it failed to deliver in the important details of a spa resort. Wasps bombarded breakfast meals and on stairways to rooms dead plants/flowers were an eye sore. Yet in other areas the landscaping was excellent for a new hotel. There were many incongruences such as this. For example the Greek evening had a Dutch band. playing music from the 70's. Our room at the back of the hotel was by the hotel bins and we were woken before sunrise on several mornings to hear these being noisily emptied. But these are trivial remarks and wthout doubt the hotel is far from the "Simple", or basic, accomodation which Greece is famous for. It tries to offer luxury and there are few places to beat the Utopia in greek tourist areas which are in such rural and peaceful locations
The best beaches are a short drive away, as was Scala, the nearest town - for a little more night life and shops. Without a car the Utopia could have been too claustraphobic, so it was good to get out and see the island by car. Lots of twisty roads but the roads were quiet. The village of Katelios was never noisy and everything seemed to be closed by 11pm
Overall staff at the Utopia were helpful but there were many times when their " end of season fatigue" showed in their frustrated looks and silent glares of reception staff when asked a question. Denis however was outstanding and able to smile and engage professionally with all the guests at the poolbar and elsewhere.
In summary this was a great hotel in a beautiful and quiet location- we chilled and felt very relaxed enjoying the excellent faclities on offer.

Room Tip: Not sure the extra for a seaview is worth having - the sea being some distance away. The front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had a really lovely holiday at this hotel. The staff were fantastic and can't do enough for you. The rooms were spacious and I found the beds were fine , a little firm but that suits me. We used the spa which is superb and free!!!!! If you want a good massage go and see Elizabeth, she is fantastic and i found the treatment rates very reasonable. I pay a lot more at home.
The bar man was very good and really looked after us. The drinks were the same price as home. Let's face it Greece is having it's own problems and things aren't as cheap as they used to be but hay! You're on holiday. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and the food was good . The tavernas in the village were also pretty Good. It's quite nice to have a car for a couple of days to have a look over the island , much to see. I will definitely go back .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sallymacdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
19.4 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#8 of 11 in Lixouri
406 reviews
4.2 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
13.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Alkioni Hotel
Alkioni Hotel
#3 of 18 in Katelios
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort & Spa

Property: Utopia Resort & Spa
Address: Katelios 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Hotel Class:4 star — Utopia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Utopia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Hotel Katelios
Utopia Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing