We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel, it will get better with time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Utopia Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

On arrival in this fabulous hotel, the staff were super friendly and willing to help with any thing. The room was spotlessly clean and though it was not a sea view room, it was spacious and well decorated.The only downside of the room is the bed is very firm and there are no tea and coffee making facilties in the room. The food in the hotel restaurant was delicious but if we were staying for a longer than a week, the menu may have be come little tedious. The nearby restaurants along the sea front can provide variety but the service there is very poor i.e. they will charge you for food and drink "on the house". The service in the hotel is second to none. The food prices are reasonably priced though drinks can be a little expensive.
The pool area of the hotel is well maintained and the staff of the pool bar are very friendly. When the pool area is full, there is plenty of space and you never feel ontop of your neighbours. There are three pools so you never feel crowded.
I will go back there again and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronagh_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have just returned from an excellent week at the Utopia. The staff in all areas of the hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful. This is a new hotel with very tasteful luxurious rooms that are kept to a high standard of cleanliness. It has a very peaceful atmosphere with no noise or bustle, the pool area is kept clean and never crowded. The food in the pool bar is excellent as is the service. The location of the hotel is ideal in that it is in a peaceful location within easy walking distance from the beach, shops and tavernas. We enjoyed a truly relaxing holiday and will be back.
The Englands

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Beemo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

utopia is a fantastic resort,the rooms were lovely with the exception for the hard beds,however the staff even tried to sort this problem out for us.Great pool area with loads of loungers.A lovely spa which was unfortunately always empty as prices were up to 3 times higher than here in England.As it is still fairly new l think the resort will learn from a full season,in as much it needs to price itself closer to the bar/restaurants in Katelios which always seemed to be full of Utopia guests.If you want a completely relaxing holiday than the Utopia in Katelios is the perfect place to be.We will be back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wba9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We booked the hotel based on thevquiet location and new facilities as we have a young baby and wanted some convienience. Having hired a car it took only 30 mins to bmble our way there. The first thing is that it doesn't really fit in with the surrounds...it looks out of place almost.
As you step inside, the hotel is lovely and clean and the welcome very warm indeed. The finish is very goodon the hotel bu is not a 4 star... Is is a good 3 star I'd say. Sorry.
For example, the rooms have a mini fridge but only to house the Orel drinks. If you dare put crafty bit of juice of wate in there to share in the coolness , they'll charge you! Let alone baby food or milk! There isno tea of coffee making 'stuff' which is again difficult if trying o warm food up for Mr Piggle. The sea view room you'll pay more for is bit of a sea glimpse but most definately a pool view. The pools are very nice but again travelling with a young baby, the brigh White tiles around the pools reflect the sun like the surface of the moon and there is no shade on offer when in thepool- even the kiddies pool...which is a shame as you are
Limited to minutes with the little one lest you risk a 'glow in the dark' babe.
Breakfast is a buffet affair...which Is fine, nothing amazing but nice. The staff were lovely but things did run out a bit, such as milk, bread, eggs etc and you almost winced as each guest iturn reminded the staff.... They took it all with a smile and a Greek shrug though!
The really annoying bit,I think, is that because you have opted to pay a bit more for a new and supposed 4 star hotel...and you have.... The managemen think tha they can charge over. 4 timee the going rate for drinks. For example, 250mls of Mythos will cost you €4. a 500 mlsbott
E costs just €2.50 on he sea front with a great view. Rude. Food is just as edge tip ate and explains why only first day guests(us) were buyin the,. Day 2 and over all head to a scattering of waterfront tavernas where is I nicer, tastier and cheaper.
It'll take you about 10 mins to walk slowly to the shore. There are a few tavernas and bars there bu it is a very low key and quiet affair. Nice.
There's are three small supermarket type shops that stock general things you may want....beer, chocolate and beach toys!!! If you are travellin with a baby, nappies are twice the price as the Uk and they doming do baby food that you ma get here. Nothing. So, take plenty.
Petrol is as expensive as here. Roads are somewhere between dopey and playlet, but there is little traffic anyway.
Back to the hotel, rooms are nicely finished bu you'll have to make sure you ask for a bath if you want one as we ended up with a shower, which was testing with baby.
The 'Spa' aspect was a nit sad really. There was brand new spa area within the hotel but we ventured in to use the inside pool for shade. It is not heated as you ma expect an we elected not to since it was the temperature of an ice cube. Looked lovely but not that useable. The spa rooms were all empty an no one was partaking. The therapist looked bored stiff. When ou look at the prices, up begin to understand why. How does €120 sound for hot pebble treatment? It sounded a little expensive to us and seemingly to every other abstaining guest too!
don't misunderstand this review though, Kefalonia is lovely and car hire is a must. The hotel is very nice but just lacked that Greek charm...any of it..... We could have been anywhere and that was a little sad since the Greek hospitality is so very warm. Very clinical, not ideal for children owing to the bow reasons, oh and I forgot to say that all floors are yield so not great for a practicing standing baby....
We brought some of it on ourselves as ww booked it knowing what it was it 'looked like' Ideal for couples I'd suggest but not for young families.
We had a lovely stay and if you've booked you'll love it and we recommend it certainly, but not one we may go back to I'd the opportunity came again. Opting for a little Greek rustic charm instead nex time. Have fun.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lovebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here for a week and had a great time. The staff are unbelievably friendly and totally committed to great service. The hotel is very clean and modern. The pools are lovely, there were loads of sun loungers and a large snack bar area. The breakfasts were excellent, the choice was amazing and very fresh. We ate in the restaurant once and the snack bar twice, and found both good value for money. The bar area was lovely to sit in, the drinks were pricier than the local tavernas but comparable with most hotels. Our room was lovely, spacious and with plenty of storage and seating. We loved the jacuzzi bath although it was a bit difficult to climb into!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chubbyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank lanaYorkshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank n55ffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
19.4 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
445 reviews
4.2 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
15.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
18.3 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort & Spa

Address: Katelios 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Hotel Class:4 star — Utopia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Utopia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Hotel Katelios
Utopia Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing