We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing; although you need to be quiet”
Review of Olivemare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olivemare
Ranked #4 of 8 Katelios B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Olivemare looks amazing. It's beautiful. It only had 5 rooms which each have their own private terrace and sit on a mezzanine floor overlooking the breakfast area. The detail in the design is excellent; very simply decorated although if I had a slight issue it would be that the shower-room/toilet is very small. Outside there is a beautiful pool with a jacuzzi and sun loungers.

We were made to feel very welcome and help was offered in terms of sorting out local taxis and cakes were made for two birthdays during our stay. Breakfast was lovely; freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit, yogurt, honey, biscuits and other homemade treats were devoured outside.

There are a number of bars and restaurants in walking distance from Olivemare which do vary in quality and were reasonably quiet whilst we were there. Skala was a 15 Euro taxi ride away and was more boistrous and was more like a package holiday resort.

Olivemare appears to be a sanctuary, which is nice and so relaxing, however, we didn't anticipate this meaning we had to be quiet at all times. Unfortunately, on one occasion having returned from dinner about midnight we were told the following morning that we were too noisy and that people went there to relax and we were disturbing them. I appreciate the need to be respectful of others but we found that this instance tarnished our stay somewhat and we felt uncomfortable after that. On the occasion we were told we were too noisy we can only assume the sound of flip flops on the stone floor and the wishing of goodnight to friends was too much for one particular couple. I understand that if other residents have a problem then Marilena has too; but we felt that this was very harsh and if we are to be told we are too noisy for something like this then I feel strongly that something needs to be included in the hotel's advertisment in terms of possibly enforcing a curfew or making it clear prior to booking that no noise is really expected around the hotel (this included background music in the room and talking with friends around the pool which we both also cited as being disturbing).

This was all very unfortunate as we had had an exceptional time until this moment and unfortunately has really darkened our perception of our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank thoughtfulphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Olivemare. The hotel itself is beautiful, with a lovely pool and pretty, air-conditioned rooms and private space outside. Everything is locally sourced where possible, and the local wines, candles and food were excellent and good value. More importantly, Marilena provided excellent recommendations of various beaches, bars and restaurants all over the island that made our trip special and wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missygpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is the perfect place if you want excellent service, friendly and welcoming staff, peace and quiet, beautiful surroundings, outstanding ,spotless accomodation, delicious home cooked food - where else would you want to go?
Marilena and her staff couldn't do enough for us - the service and care was outstanding. We had a lovey stay at Olivemare and now that were back home, really miss the beautiful breakfasts served every day - all home made from the bread to the jam!
Olivemare - A secret that we don't want to share but know that you will love it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theyarhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Olivemare is one of the best places we've ever stayed, anywhere.

The setting is idyllic - a simple, elegant 5 roomed villa set in an olive garden, with a pool and jacuzzi area to the rear in a lovely lush, green garden.
Each room has a view of the sea over the gardens and its own private patio area, which was fantastic for late afternoon snoozing when the sun got too hot on the beach.
Attention to detail from Marilena, the owner, and her staff was consistent throughout, from the warm welcome on arrival to the friendly hugs goodbye as we left.
Every request we made was met with smiles and a genuine willingness to help. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking taxis to advice on where to eat.
The food was excellent - We breakfasted every day from a wide range of fresh, home made ingredients. The coffee was fantastic and omelettes to die for. We dined once in the evening at Olivemare and had the dining area to ourselves as we were treated to a typical greek dinner, cooked to perfection and at a very reasonable price. There was great mini bar fridge in the room, as well as room service available. We were welcome to keep our own bought drinks in the fridge too,
The rooms are very well appointed, but simple and elegant. - High spec bathrooms, powerful hot showers, air conditioning and extremely well insulated for sound (we knew there were other people in the rooms either side of us, but we never heard them!). The bed was huge and very comfortable.
The rooms, public areas and pool were cleaned every day, and again the attention to detail was amazing - every area was always spotless.
Olivemare is 5 minutes walk from the seafront, and we ate and drank at about half of the dozen or so tavernas and bars. All were great, but particularly the Music Bar and Katelios Taverna for warm welcoming staff and a great atmosphere, Captain Jerry's for fantastic fish and Dream's Beach Bar for gorgeous views and fabulous takeaway sandwiches and coffee.
We stayed for 10 days and weren't ready to come back, it was all so perfect. We're about to book for a full fortnight for next year.
Wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaine_and_Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have just walked through the door having spent a week at the Olivemare and the whole way back we've been composing our review. Having re-read the earlier reviews I'm not sure we can add anything more about Olivemare than to say quite simply "we agree". Our stay was so good that the only way we could bring ourselves to leave was to book it again for next year: What better endorsement can we give? | As far as Katelios village is concerned it is worth commenting that we found Music Bar to be the best place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink as the sun sets behind the hills or an after dinner coffee (or something stronger) before the five minute walk home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

If you are interested for a really peaceful place to spend your vacation, This is the place. It is a very small hotel but really beautiful and clean. The rooms are comfortable and the swimming pool area just perfect. The beach is on a walking distance with some coffee places and tavernas. If you are lucky you will meet the owner "Marilena" a really sweet person that loves her job. She really tried to make our stay pleasant and she help us to have a really nice tour on the Island. Kefallonia has so many beautiful things and places to see.... Thank you very much for so many nice memories

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaldera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The Wife and I took our first trip to the Greek Islands and found Olivemare online by complete chance. As a new establishment there were no reviews anywhere but we took a chance based on the lovely website and the wonderful phone manner of Marilena (the owner and manager). We were richly rewarded.

I should add that this is my first review and as a devoted follower of the reviews on this site I had to add Olivemare as it truly deserves recognition. Because we went in the off-season and the rooms were empty we had a reduced rate of 70 euros per night, however the standard rate would still be very good value in our opinion.

The island of Kephalonia is wonderful and we rented a car from Greekstones (also very helpful) and it took less than an hour to drive from the airport to the hotel. The roads are extremely windey and great fun but it takes a bit longer in the dark so be careful if your flight lands in the evening.

The hotel is very recently built on the site of an olive garden so it is set back from the village and surrounded by the most stunning mountains. It is beautifully designed and although it only has four bedrooms has a very spacious restaurant and patio area as well as a wonderful pool and gardens.

We stayed for 7 days and were the only people there so we had the run of the place and Marilena and her father made us feel completely at home. The rooms are simple and gorgeous with comfy huge beds, free internet access and lovely Korres toiletries in the en-suite bathrooms.

Each of the rooms has its own large patio which looks out on to the garden and has table, chairs and sun loungers with mattresses. There are no tv's which suited us fine but you can plug in your laptop and watch DVDs if you like.

The breakfasts are simply incredible, I had no idea that yoghurt and honey could taste so good. You can eat in the restaurant area or have it in your room, we ate everyday on our patio in the sun and the spread included yoghurt, Kephalonian honey and fruits, homemade pancakes, marble cake, bread, homemade jams, juice, and tea/coffee.

The cakes and jams are all made by Marilena's father (a charming man) and we loved them so much that he very kindly gave us a jar to take away. The honey they use is amazing and we also bought a jar from their friends who make it nearby.

We spent most of our days driving around the island and the beaches but on the day or so that it rained then we relaxed in our room and it was very comfortable. The pool is fantastic and is oxygenated rather than using chlorine so does not leave you smelling of chlorine.

Another thing that you must have is dinner, you have to give them a day's notice but it is absolutely worth it. Our dinner was made by Marilena's mother and was Kephalonian meat pie (which we had all over the island but this was definitely the best) and a lovely tomato and feta salad. We were completely stuffed and it was delicious.

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in, it is not that far off a boutique hotel and our thanks go to Marilena and her father for making our stay so wonderful.

Can not recommend it enough, go there before the whole world finds out and you can't get a booking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowkeylux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
0.6 mi away
Albouro Apartments
Albouro Apartments
#7 of 18 in Katelios
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aligis Studios
Aligis Studios
#2 of 8 in Katelios
105 reviews
27.7 mi away
Melmar View Hotel
Melmar View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Magnolia Resort
The Magnolia Resort
#1 of 4 in Katelios
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alkioni Hotel
Alkioni Hotel
#3 of 18 in Katelios
104 reviews
0 mi away
Lighthouse Studios
Lighthouse Studios
#6 of 8 in Katelios
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivemare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivemare

Address: Katelios | Kefalonia, Katelios 280 86, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Katelios
Price Range: $118 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olivemare 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minimal design rooms all include private terrace with sun beds on a garden hill, with sea view . King size beds with ecological COCO-MAT mattress , KORRE cosmetics, mini bar and sound proofing. Room service all day, private dinner in the room and minimal bathroom style Oxygen swimming pool and Jacuzzi in the olive garden, with sun beds of special mattresses. You can order your drink and lunch in the pool Private restaurant with ala carte menu, you can taste traditional biological dishes, homemade ( bread, ice cream , marmalade) , local cheese and organic salads from the hotel’s garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olivemare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing