We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the average taverna”
Review of Persas Taverna

Persas Taverna
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansea UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than the average taverna”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

As with all Greek tavernas Persas has a pretty predictable menu, however it is the only one in Katelios that makes a real effort to be different. For example it serves warm homemade bread unlike the awful stale offerings from all other tavernas.The traditional Greek food is very good, we tried the tzatsiki, kleftiko and briam which were all full of flavour. They also make a real effort with their homemade desserts served with lovely homemade ice creams. The service is also very friendly and very efficient. Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxySwanseaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    78
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good traditional food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Persas is well worth a visit, the food is fantastic and the surroundings are lovely. Lots of traditional Greek food which was amazing and excellent service and staff

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Lovely setting with lovely garden area, but sadly the food was very average compared to other restaurants in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodluvva54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal and setting”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Lovely food, lovely service and lovely setting. Definitely worth a visit. Good opportunity for pics in front of the waterfall.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole_Mercer_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A lovely meal with a warmth to the service”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Every time we visited this restaurant it was quite full, this didn't stop the service and in no time we had ordered from a good substantial menu, the warm bread was delicious and I would recommend the Greek dishes, especially the ones that had been cooked for many hours and from a traditional Greek recipe, the fish of course was very fresh and tasted beautiful, whilst I visited there one lunch time I asked about the spaghetti carbonara ( I do not like it when it is covered in cream and especially as the cream isn't like it is at home it ends up with a plastic taste) he asked me how I like it and cooked it to how I had asked for it which I appreciated this and found the lunch to be one of the better ones I had, the food and the service was great well worth a visit, I would certainly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fionagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persas Taverna also viewed

Katelios, Cephalonia
Katelios, Cephalonia
 
Katelios, Cephalonia
 

Been to Persas Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing