We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Greek food”
Review of Persas Taverna

Persas Taverna
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dorset
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greek food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had 2 meals at Persas, worth every euro. Lovely quiet setting with attentive service. Food very good quality, genuine Greek food, not dumbed down for European tastes. My wife and I had the lanb shanks in a lemon based sauce, absolutely delicious, the lamb melted in your mouth.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SRewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    80
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Best food in town, good prices, free wifi that they remind you of, waterfalls, ponds with turtles.
Great place for a meze, since everything we tried was really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanononi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find..!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only found this brilliant little restaurant on the second to last night, but were blown away by the food and service. This really is a hidden gem, located in the opposite direction to the main drag, so it's easy to miss. The taverna itself is very pretty and is away from the main road and noise. The food was some of the best Ive ever had and very traditional. It was great value and the wine was more than drinkable too.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a good quality, authentic meal

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wheatie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Nice place but lacks atmosphere”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten here twice in the last few days as we are staying at the nearby Magnolia Resort.

It is off the main road away from the bars on the front and suffers from a serious lack of atmosphere, which is a shame as the owners are absolutely lovely. Service couldn't be better.
Our first meal was AMAZING! The lamb kleftiko was gorgeous and the desserts huge. Our second visit wasn't as good....the chicken souvlaki was a let down as it looked to be made from reformed chicken as opposed to nice chunks.
I would recommend you visit here...it needs people to create atmosphere and I'd hate to see it suffer at the expense of those on the front.

Helpful?
1 Thank Slesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek cuisine”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Persa's is set off the main road into Katelios the menu looks average and you cannot see the terrace and water fountain from the road so I would not have bothered going in if I hadn't read the reviews beforehand. We ate there 3 times during our 2 week holiday and it was our favourite place. I would recommend the Greek traditional dishes, lamb shank, veal and goat were all absolutely gorgeous- finished off with a chocolate pie! The food is locally sourced and well presented, excellent friendly service in lovely surroundings. Well worth a visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 905Twinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persas Taverna also viewed

Katelios, Cephalonia
Katelios, Cephalonia
 
Cephalonia, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Persas Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing