We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleaning let down this complex” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Efrosini Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katelios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Efrosini Village
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cleaning let down this complex”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at the efrosini village on sept 26th 2010 for 1 week although the room was o.k. we found the cleaning a bit lax.,when we arrived we went to make a cup of tea only to find that all the cups,Plates,and cutlery were dirty and the plate rack was flithy.. When we mentioned this at the bar the Rep. "Ross" He replied that it was not the cleaners job..!!! well it certainly was not ours. In the week we were there our balcony was not cleaned at all (no brush about to do it ourselves) the bathroom sink was not cleaned at all by the cleaner. the bathroom floor was left with a puddle of water in the middle i assume this was an attempt to clean the floor, even though the beds were made it did not look like the room had been cleaned. The surrounding area to all the apartments are like being in the middle of the jungle. whenever we went out in the evening at around 20.00 it was pitch black no lighting came on until about 21.30 when we mention this to the owner he told us the lighting was on a timer. in spite of this we still had a great holiday in katelios and will be gonig back again next year (our 5th time) but not to these apartments

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

just returned from efrosini apartments really lovely setting and the pool bar was very good . the guy who ran the bar during the day Fotis is a star he will do anything to help and his food is delicious and well priced . bar very quiet at night and not much atmoshere . The only downside was the cleaning aspect not good at all , and not enough cooking equipment . But overall a very enjoyable time .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat10102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This was our second stay at Efrosini and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a newly furbished one bedroom apartment with a great balcony. Kitchen very basic only a microwave and kettle but the standard and selection of food available is second to none at the complex and in the immediate area and find that sampling the local restaurants is part of the holiday so perfect for us.

Cannot wait to return next year. Thank you to Fortes, Louisa and Ross for making our stay a memorable one and look forward to next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbrianlass2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Booked this holiday through Olympic Holidays. Not long been back from Efrosini, Katelios. The Location of the apartments is fine as it is set back from the main road so no noise from cars although the first week we were there not many cars, actually the whole resort was very quiet. Beach/Tavernas about 10-15 min walk. The apartment we were allocated was really nice and modern. First night had a very hard mattress but after bringing this to the owners attention all beds had soft mattresses put on top, so slept very well after this. The only problem was the apartments were not cleaned properly, aparently one person employed to clean all 25 rooms which is not satisfactory. Towels changed twice a week bed linen once a week which is poor.

The swimming Pool and area could do with updating, so did not stay much around the pool. We were given permission (same owner) to use the new hotel facilities 5 mins down the road, Utopia Hotel, this was not busy at all, as Hotel still not finished. Lovely pools, however be warned drinks etc very expensive here.

Louisa who ran the bar at night at Efrosini was lovely and very helpful. Food and drinks were good value at Efrosini Village.

If they improved on the cleaniness and employed more staff to do this, updated the pool area, I would definately recommend Efrosini Village, because it is small and friendly.

Beach at Katelios not bad (Taverna owners could improve beach by cleaning up rubbish left from night before), most sunbeds free if you give your custom to the Taverna.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubanbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Just got back from this hotel in Katelios Kefalonia. The hotel is made up of small apartments with a balcony and is very modern with a kitchenette with plates saucepanes and a electric kettle and a microwave there is a airconditioner you have to pay for this at the bar I think its six euros a day they give you a remote control the staff were nice we got a great welcome when we first checked in, the pool was nice we did not use as the beach is a five minute walk away, there are nice restaurants near the apartments and if you want to go self catering cook in your apartment overall very impressed and a very peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We've just returned from 2 weeks at the Efrosini Village Katelios. It's basic but good. Make sure that the wheels on your luggage are sturdy as the short walk down a track to the apartments is pretty rought concrete and our trusty Samsonite suffered two broken wheels. We'd read reviews that didn't rate it but it's good value for money. We were offered a maisonette (which our travel agent said should have been dearer) for the price of an apartment, so we took that. It was basic but kept clean. We'd read that towels and sheets weren't changed that often but that was not the case. One thing to be aware of is the maisonettes have very narrow spiral staircases which it is impossible to get a normal sized suitcase up, so we had to carry up all our clothes. Kitchen equipment basic - a two ring electric hob, kettle, toastie maker. Very few pots and pans. No problem for those who like to eat out mostly on holiday but one of our hobbies is cooking and we like to try to create local dishes. If you are a true self caterer, buying food on the island is expensive. Be aware that fresh chilled chicken, for example, is double the price of frozen. Mini markets sell fruit veg and frozen fish, steaks - all prices pretty high. If self catering and missing cups, glasses, cutlery etc. they sell all this but it's not cheap.

Smokers note|: you can only buy cigarettes down at the kiosk on the beach (about 10 mins walk from Efrosini) as none of the mini markets sell them.

We were on an Olympic package - there is no reception as such at these apartments, but Patrick and Fortis at the bar are very helpful if you need something. Our rep was a nice chap but if you had a complaint or query he would just quote the brochure (which we'd never seen as booked it through an online travel agent) text at you, as in Terms and Conditions. He said that his own opinion didn't really matter as Olympic instructed them to stick by the book... ho hum.

Katelios Village is tiny with nice beach and about 12 tavernas serving the usual and fish. Mostly everything mealwise is similar price to home but somethings (local dishes) cheaper and what little we ate out was very good. Local wine pretty cheap and good.

All in all it was a great, quiet relaxing holiday and we will go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

The Efrosini Village apartments are what you would expect for Greece. The apartments were reasonalby spacious , basic ,with a small area for preparing snacks and drinks. The bins were emptied daily and we had fresh towels and sheets four times during our 2 week stay. The shower was great, very powerful and always lots of hot water. The free
safety deposit box and fridge were a bonus ( some places incur a seperate charge for these) The pool area was pleasant and there were always sunbeds available at any time during the day. The snack bar was also good value compared to the rest of the reosrt 2 euros for a beer and 3 euros for omlette and chips. In general the apartments and grounds were well maintatined and clean. The main disappointment was the resort. Katelios is described by the tour operators as a small fishing villiage - it definately does not feel like a greek village, it is a purpose built resort. The beach is also very disappointing- it is described as a beautiful sandy beach, whilst the water is very clear ,the beach is mainly rubble and rock with a bit of sand. Walk over the headland at the end of the beach - follow the blue plastic ribbons for about 20 mins to come to Mounda- a much better sandier beach. Greece is becoming much more expensive now - Greek salads about 5-6 euros , watch out for the big beer scam too- you think you are getting a pint but the glasses are only actually 0.4l ! All this taken into account most people were pleasant and it did not have the jaded faux friendliness we have expereinced in other resorts. Kefalonia is beautiful and it is definately worth getting out and about exploring the island

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBOWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
13.0 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
14.1 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alkioni Hotel
Alkioni Hotel
#2 of 18 in Katelios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
12.2 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 7 in Svoronata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albouro Apartments
Albouro Apartments
#7 of 18 in Katelios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Efrosini Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efrosini Village

Property: Efrosini Village
Address: Katelios, Katelios 280 86, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Katelios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Efrosini Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing