We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good but new bar next door causing major issues.”
Review of Medusa Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Katelios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Medusa Apartments
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was good but new bar next door causing major issues.”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

have stayed here before and never any issues, good rooms, good location, very clean etc.

Unfortunatly 2 weeks into our 3 week stay a music bar opened up next to the madusa which caused nothing but problems. Now if you stay on the bottom floor the noise of motor bikes and people outside make it so you cannot sleep until after midnight.
Have been here for the last few years and it is now spoilt, we also for the first time, have experienced begging at some of the bars and argestoli is starting to look a bit run down.
Time for a change i think.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wardsidjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

These beautiful apartments are one of the best we have experienced in all the 25 years of going to the Greek islands and the mainland.
We had an aptment on the top floor with a magnificent balcony the length of the side of the property offering both sea and mountain views on our return trip we would request room 15 without a doubt.
Very well equipped with the added bonus of a top of the range sandwich maker which was ideal for lunchtime snack.
The apartment was cleaned daily with clean sheets and towels every three days the are very well kept and furnished to a high standard.
Just out of reception cross the road and on to a lovely beach with free sun beds and umbrellas as long as you buy a drink or evening meal from the Medusa taverna which offers wonderful lunch time and evening meals.

The resort is very quite but just the sort of place we like we were there two weeks and still ran out of nights to do all the tavernas.

You can get the water taxi to Scala through the day if you want something a bit more lively.
Can wait to return.

Room Tip: The Cosy Bar for a wonderful meal and real damask tablecloths and napkins and lots of extras at no e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Have stayed in these apartments for a couple of years now and as has already been said each year brings improvements, this time being free wifi internet in your room (well, accessable from most rooms).They are in a exellent location being 10 yards from the beach (free sunbeds if you use the restaraunts) well eqiupped and clean. The Greek lady who runs these, Dina, never stops working. There are a couple of bars on the beach front but my favouite was the bar just going up the hill which is run by an english girl Sharon (can't remember the name of the bar, but its named after her dog) - good strong beer at cheap prices .The best restaurant by far is the one underneath and across from the accomodation, aptly named Medusa. It is run by Ilios and I have never had a bad meal there. We have tried most of the others restaurants and at some point in the meal have found either the starter or main disappointing. All in all, a nice quite relaxing resort and if you enjoyed this resort try Haraki in Rhodes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lolanddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Arrived later than planned due to a flight delay, to the warmest of welcomes. The apartment was clean, functional and with a lovely sea view. The one star rating was a surprise given how spacious and well equipped the apartment was. Room was cleaned daily and the towels and linen were changed half way through our one week stay. They were also happy to arrange for us to have access to an apartment on our last day as we had an evening flight home. Ours was needed but they were happy to give us another for a few euros.

The taverna gives great service and reasonably priced. The owner was happy for us to eat when we arrived after 11pm and there was no hurry at all for us to leave. The village has a quiet, relaxed but incredibly friendly atmosphere was was bowled over by hospitality and warm welcomes that we received every where we went.

The beach was a stones throw away and was spotlessly clean. It was prefect for a relaxed week with good food, lovely people, and a stack of paperbacks.

Take plenty of Euros with you if you are not planning to travel about. There is no cash point in the village and not everywhere takes cards.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HollyHoudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The rooms are well equiped with cooking facilities and also a tv. We had our bins emptied everyday. Our room was directly overlooking the small beach which was lovely. The rooms are above a taverna in which we ate most nights as the food and service was excellent! The food and drinks were very reasonably priced (with the euro rate so poor the cost was about the same as the uk, but that was the same in all resorts in Kefalonia)
Katelios is a small friendly village and we would recommend car hire as i never saw one local bus.
Would go back tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hgaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We had a compact but comfortable studio room with sea view. The room was in excellent condition and was cleaned daily. We were able to keep the room until our departure [1500] withour any problem and for free. There was some noise [the apts are over a taverna] but it is okay unless you are a very light sleeper.
The nearest supermarket was by far the friendliest, even though it was not as well stocked as its competitor. Open 9am-2pm and 6pm-9pm.
We hired a car from "cbr" rather than the rep. The car was pretty new and in excellent condition. The [English] lady who worked in the office was extremely helpful, giving hints on best routes, good beaches, places to avoid etc.
By far the best taverna was Ostria, located towards the end of the beach. The food was reasonably priced and very tasty. Service can be slow at busy times but it is worth waiting.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocoholic1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed at this resort on basis of reviews and was not disappointed. Ideal for couples (not teenagers) as very quiet. Around 10 tavernas and 2 small supermarkets. Lovely beach. Appartment was basic but clean and adequate for our needs. We didn't pay extra for air con as the balcony overlooked the beach and we had a coole breeze overnight when we needed it. We've been to Kos, Rhodes and Crete and I would say that Kefalonia is definitely the prettiest of them. Not so much to see and do but full of attractive and sandy beaches. A very relaxing holiday. Sunbeds and umbrellas free on Katelios beach (apartments overlooked the beach so ideal). Food very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptMorgan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
13.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
13.8 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alkioni Hotel
Alkioni Hotel
#2 of 18 in Katelios
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aligis Studios
Aligis Studios
#2 of 8 in Katelios
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albouro Apartments
Albouro Apartments
#7 of 18 in Katelios
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olivemare
Olivemare
#5 of 8 in Katelios
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Apartments

Property: Medusa Apartments
Address: Kateleios, Katelios 280 86, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Number of rooms: 161
Also Known As:
Medusa Apartments Hotel Katelios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing