We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish & Chips in Moraira!”

Davids Fish and Chip Diner
Ranked #12 of 207 Restaurants in Moraira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: David's is on the Caraterra Moraira Calpe Road just before the large Pepe La Sal Suermarket on the left hand side. We would like to point out that we are not a top class restaurant, but a fish & chip diner/ takeaway with an extensive menu. Please don't come and expect posh, we do have a very nicely fitted out dining room. We have two outside terraces which can be in the shade or sun, one is covered with fans for the shade. We have never claimed to be anything but this and are a very hardworking family run establishment. We hope you enjoy and get a taste of home. Start the day off with an amazing 3.25 euro Full English Breakfast,from 9am. .A home made lunch menu starting at 5 euros to 5.50 euros, which includes a drink, wine, beer, soft drink or tea.Beautiful fish & chips, home made chips.Cod, Plaice, Haddock, Hake, Skate, Sole, Cod Roe.Many home made dishes, curries, lasagne, chilli, pasta dishes, salad's, quiches, fritatta's, not forgetting our fabulous steak & ale pie, veggie options always available. From 4pm-6pm daily we have a fish & chips special which includes cod/haddock/plaice/sole, chips peas, bread & butter and a drink for 6.50 euros. Our new Healthy Options available daily. Gluten free batter for the fish. Lovely outside terrace, also air conditioned restaurant.Eat in or take away.Open from 9.15Am until late. Sunday opening,10-4pm. We now have the new David's Fried Chicken, just like a KFC burger with a little kick. Really good drinks prices. Try our new Cava Sangria. New winter fish & chip special early evening 4-6pm. Reservations accepted. Free WI FI available. Telephone orders. Visa cards accepted.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been visiting Moraira for the last 5 years now (twice per year) and by luck found 'David's Fish & Chip Diner' on our first visit to the area. Food and service is second to none, breakfasts are great value, lunchtime specials also, been here on our own with family and even had a few takeaways! Usually get a parking space right outside but can get busy at lunchtimes. Even my daughter loves Dave's foot long sausage! lol :) Also has free WiFi that I have not seen anyone comment on....

Will be visiting the area again in May (5 weeks and counting!) so looking forward to seeing everyone and my breakfasts!

Keep up the good work guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi
Thank you for the comments and great to see you again. Nice of you to write a review.
Your right, I don't think anybody has mentioned the WI FI, it is an added bonus and one we always forget to mention ourselves. Does come in handy when you are on holiday.
Thanks for the compliment on the service, will pass that on.
The breakfasts are really popular as they are really good value and served quick. Glad you enjoy.
You will have to get your daughter to try the DFC, if she likes Kentucky she will love it.
Anyway, thanks once again, and see you in May. 1st stop breakfast??? Haha.
Gail & all at David's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 524 of 645 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great food, massive portions, great little gem of a place would return next time we are here. Maybe we wouldn't order large portions eyes bigger than bellyaching moment

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi
Love your review, thanks. No, there's no need to order large portions as you've found out :)
Glad you enjoyed it but sorry about the bellyache, haha.
Thanks once again and hope to see you again soon.
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The meal was a little greasy and the setting was not ideal. A tree rat ran along the wall behind us, which did put my off.

2  Thank Sybilevelyn143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for giving us 3 stars. As to the food being a little greasy, this is most unusual as if you read all our other reviews there hasn't been a mention of greasy food, so we find that very strange!!
As regards to the setting, we have just spent thousands of euros on a new enclosed terrace and also an extra new terrace has just been built and in the process of being furnished. Obviously, when you chose to visit us, you must have been quite happy to come and sit and have a meal there knowing what the setting was like.
As for seeing a tree rat running along the wall, we don't know what wall it possibly ran along, because the terrace wall is totally enclosed. This is a first for us and isn't very nice to put on a review. I will be contacting Trip Advisor to complain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Loved the fish and chips here but we visited at lunchtime and there was a fantastic selection of dishes for under 6 euros a head. The lasagne was to diw for!

1  Thank spainrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hi
Thanks for that, glad you like the fish & chips and nice of you to say so.
Yes, the €5 lunch menu is very popular and is mostly home made. I agree with you, the lasagne is delicious, I won't eat it anywhere else :)
Once again thanks for your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ive tried several of the other eateries in and around Moraira and can honestly David's always comes out on top. The food was very good yet again and the portion sizes healthy, the staff were as friendly as I remembered from my last visit and cant wait for my next holiday. Im not sure where the previous reviewer has eaten in the area but i would always recommend David's everytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott_McGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hi
Thanks for that, we know how you love fish, especially all the different kinds of Spanish fish as you told us when you were here. So to get a compliment from you means alot to us.
We know you like to try all the typical Spanish places, but you still love the comfort food of fish & chips.
Nice of you to put about the staff, they are a friendly bunch. Hope to see you again soon on your next visit.
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davids Fish and Chip Diner also viewed

Moraira, Costa Blanca
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 
Moraira, Costa Blanca
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Davids Fish and Chip Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing