We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value for money,brill food.”

Davids Fish and Chip Diner
Ranked #11 of 207 Restaurants in Moraira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: David's is on the Caraterra Moraira Calpe Road just before the large Pepe La Sal Suermarket on the left hand side. We would like to point out that we are not a top class restaurant, but a fish & chip diner/ takeaway with an extensive menu. Please don't come and expect posh, we do have a very nicely fitted out dining room. We have two outside terraces which can be in the shade or sun, one is covered with fans for the shade. We have never claimed to be anything but this and are a very hardworking family run establishment. We hope you enjoy and get a taste of home. Start the day off with an amazing 3.25 euro Full English Breakfast,from 9am. .A home made lunch menu starting at 5 euros to 5.50 euros, which includes a drink, wine, beer, soft drink or tea.Beautiful fish & chips, home made chips.Cod, Plaice, Haddock, Hake, Skate, Sole, Cod Roe.Many home made dishes, curries, lasagne, chilli, pasta dishes, salad's, quiches, fritatta's, not forgetting our fabulous steak & ale pie, veggie options always available. From 4pm-6pm daily we have a fish & chips special which includes cod/haddock/plaice/sole, chips peas, bread & butter and a drink for 6.50 euros. Our new Healthy Options available daily. Gluten free batter for the fish. Lovely outside terrace, also air conditioned restaurant.Eat in or take away.Open from 9.15Am until late. Sunday opening,10-4pm. We now have the new David's Fried Chicken, just like a KFC burger with a little kick. Really good drinks prices. Try our new Cava Sangria. New winter fish & chip special early evening 4-6pm. Reservations accepted. Free WI FI available. Telephone orders. Visa cards accepted.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently visited Dave's chippy the staff are really friendly, the prices extremely good value for money and the food was excellent. I ordered a small fish and chips and couldn't believe the size of the fish it was massive, also sampled the curry sauce of which i'm not usually too keen on but was pleasantly surprised by how delicious it was.Will most certainly visit again. Lovely food,staff and service. Will recommend Dave's chippy to all!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JILL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed it.
Yes, sometimes the small fish are quite large, in fact a few of the elderly customers take what they can't eat away with them in a tray. Better to go away full though than hungry, we would have some moans.
Anyway, thanks once again for taking the time to comment, and perhaps see you again soon.
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Davids Fish and Chip Diner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 623 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I live close by so this is always a fail save for takeaway. Whilst I know it's not the best food in the world, it's consistent and pleasing.

The service is a little slow so I'd recommend ordering by phone before you go round, and also check they have stock. Tried to order the veggy burger once and was told 'we only have the horrible ones left, do you want them?' However their chips are nice and the staff are pleasant. A nice place to visit for an easy night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrWestSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi
A big thank you for taking the time to put some feedback on here, I do apologise regarding the vegetable burger you were offered. These burgers were dropped off by our suppliers in error, and were not a premium burger that we normally sell and were due to be returned to them and SHOULD NOT have been offered for sale. We have had a word with all the staff and we now know what happened, it should have been explained in a better way.
If you ever come in in the evening or phone for an order and you would like a vegetarian option that is not on the main menu, please ask if there is a veggie dish on the home made lunch menu, you are more than welcome to purchase from there, that is all made fresh daily. For example on today's menu there is a creamy mushroom soft cheese & spinach lasagne, feta potato & spinach pie, there is always something to choose from.
We do like honest opinions and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Telephone orders are always welcome to avoid any waiting during busy periods, as most food is cooked to order.
Hope to see you again soon
Many Thanks.
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Me and the missus have recently begun visiting David's Diner regularly and I can say there's nowhere in the area offers better value for money. Excellent food, extensive 5 euro winter menu (main course + drink), nice outdoor terrace and helpful, friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank copyqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi, Thank you for your review it means alot to us. So pleased you enjoy your visits. The 5 euro menu is very popular, probably as it is mostly home made and offers a good variety as well.
We have introduced an early evening winter special this week as well, served between 4-6pm, that is on the fish & chips.
Nice you noticed the new terrace, thank you once again and hope to see you soon.
Also nice to keep hearing the staff look after you all.
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited yesterday and ordered the Homemade Steak and Ale Pie with mash, gravy and cheesy veg!
Absolutley beautiful!! Fantastic value for money and lovely friendly staff. Highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi
Thanks for the comments, glad you enjoyed it and hope you come back. The Home Made pies are quite popular especially the Steak & Ale.
Great as well that the staff were good to you.
Hope to see you again, and thank you again.
Gail

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Was over visiting friends when we came across Daves fish and chip diner as it was near Christmas decided to have the Christmas dinner menu.

Food was excellent and the service very good all the staff made us feel so welcome and the cost was very reasonable.

After that we ate there most of the time during our visit each time we received a warm welcome with excellent homemade food a great family run restaurant and would recommend anyone to try out the fish and chips large portions and all homemade.

We will be back soon so it will be the place we will defiitely be eating at
Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbocod, Owner at Davids Fish and Chip Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hi, sorry I have only just seen your review, thank you so much and glad you enjoyed it. Nice to see you came back a few times, must be doing something right, haha. Happy you enjoyed the Christmas lunch, we do it like the Northerners do at home.
The lunch menu is real value for money as it is only 5 euro as you hopefully tried, and mostly home made, including a drink. This has proved very popular with the expats and the holidaymakers like yourself. We are not a top class restaurant but a fish & chip diner/takeaway with a nice dining room and outside terrace as you are aware, serving an extensive range of home made food.
Thanks once again, and say hello if you come over again. Nice to put a face to people.
Gail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davids Fish and Chip Diner also viewed

Moraira, Costa Blanca
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Davids Fish and Chip Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing