We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
Review of Himalaya Tandoori

Himalaya Tandoori
Ranked #15 of 198 Restaurants in Moraira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Himalaya Tandoori is a Nepalese Indian Restaurant established 13 years this year.We are opposite THE tourist information office in The centre of Moraira.We serve traditional Indian and Nepalese food,using only the freshest ingredients and spices.We cater for all special occasions and can provide a set menu if required.SUMMER OPENING HOURS:(MONDAY LUNCHTIME CLOSED,OPEN 18.00 TILL 23.30:TUESDAY TILL SUNDAY:LUNCTIME 12.00 TILL 15.30 EVENINGS: 18.00 TILL 23.30.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had been told they had moved from a small place from round the corner, well I think they needed it as it was so busy.
The chicken Tikka was superb and the lamb curry ,
Spotlessly clean and very very nice staff.
Prices quite good for the town centre.
Lovely decor, could smell it walking down the road.
Well done

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    101
    22
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pedreguer, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Nepalese food in the Costa Blanca”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Himalaya Tandoori recently relocated to a new site in Moraira and has lost nothing in quality, hospitality and atmosphere in moving to a much bigger restaurant. The staff are helpful, courteous and always willing to advise and to suggest different dishes to try. They like to ensure that the food you order is exactly to your taste. I have eaten in many "Indian" restaurants all over the world and The Himalaya Tandoori is certainly the best in the Moraira area and indeed in the Northern Costa Blanca that I have been to. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roby1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Indian Food with excellent presentation”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This restaurant moved earlier this year from much smaller and very cramped premises to this new and more prominent location in Moraira. It now has etremely comfortable seating, is spacious and the menu must surely rate as one of the best in the area. Not only that, even the Chicken Tandoori came beautifully presented on a bed of chicory leaves for decoration. The food is top drawer and the staff could not be more amenable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miguel065_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Disappointing Food””
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We expected to love himalaya since it is rated Indian - Asian restuarant on Trip adversor guide . Many time we enjoyed good food when it was in old location at el portet.
We loved the attentive service; we did not love the food. Great Indian cuisine offers a complexity of layered flavors with fresh ingredients used skillfully. Himalaya does not come close to this.
I ordered Jhal fish curry with rare spices and coconut milk. What arrived was dried & sweety bellow average of spices poorly prepared - it was salty with no hint of coconut milk. It was so bad, that I made my wife eat it as I just could not get it down. The other courses were better, but not great.
This is not great Indian food despite the wonderful service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Food was ok, but not as great as the Indian palace in moraira. Korma with pineapple??? Never heard of this before. Funny taste.

Helpful?
Thank RossHayward81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Tandoori also viewed

 
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Himalaya Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing