We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very nice villa”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
you will not regret your holidays in a paradise with such attention to details
Outside diner table with quick access to chef's bbq achievements thanks to a real argentine parilla
upstair kitchen: Design kitchen with all new appliances (Bosh dishwasher on each floor).
downstair kitchen
downstair kitchen
downstair main bathroom
one of two ensuite bathroom
upstair main bathroom
400m, 5 minutes walk
400m, 5 minutes walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Moraira, Costa Blanca, Province of Alicante, Valencian Country

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tomi_Ende...
Dornach - CH
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice villa”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

we, a group of 9 people stayed for one week in the house. It was amazing. The house and the furniture is excellent. Only few meters (ca. 200) away from the sea. If you have planned to go the the sand beach or to the town Moraira we reccomend to drive by car. Walking distance approx. 30min. The house has all necessary equipment for a relaxing holiday and plenty of rooms and bath rooms. The pool is nice and clean.
We had during our first days some trouble with the hot water downstairs. But Eric organized as soon as possible the needed plumber to fix the issue.
For bigger groups is the villa very good and the pool bar with the cheminee a hot spot for your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House + Pool
Traveling group: Großer Gruppe
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the house and enjoyed the beautiful October weather. Look forward to welcoming you again! Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellenc...
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I should start by thanking the owners of this beautiful place Eric and Catherine Patrouillard, they we attentive and responsive to all our requests and made sure our stay was perfect. The property is very well located on a quiet street and within walking distance to the beach and restaurants, the amount of work and care that has gone into the property reflects the interest the owners have in making sure that you have a comfortable and pleasant stay. The house is fully equipped with every convenience as well as with very well maintained furnishings. My wife and sons enjoyed the pool and fresh sea breeze that favors the house and our guests during many dinners and barbecues were surprised at how convenient and pretty this place is.

I have to say that I don't know how the Patrouillards find it in their hearts to open their home to the general public, but for those that are looking for quality and comfort, I highly recommend you come here.

I look forward to our next stay and once again, thanks Eric and Catherine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQ area and furnishings
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. With guests like you it is a real pleasure! We look forward to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickiFigu...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing Villa in a amazing location”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Our family gathering stay at la Barraca was above our expectations. The house was very comfortable for the 10 of us. Pool was clean and big. We had lovely evenings around the barbecue area and enjoyed grilling some fresh fish and steak almost everyday. The large palm trees in the garden allowed for a wide range of shade coverage which came in handy for the siestas with the hot weather. (We moved the tables to the shade so we could eat outside comfortably). The electricity did jump once on the 6th night but turning it back on was a simple process (switch in kitchen) thanks to the owners instructions. The many air conditioning units where all fully functional and silent and kept us cool in the times most needed. One of the two TVs-the one downstairs-only had Spanish channels but the other one (flat screen on the first floor) was connected to a satellite which provided a wide range of channels. The wifi also worked well and fast the full week. Moraira is a beautiful town and the house is in amazing location with the sea and restaurants just down the street. Once again I want to thank Eric and Catherine for their very active and kind customer care. This house is just the best rental place we have been to in Moraira with our large family and we will be back for sure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Thank you Nick for your kind review. We will be very happy to welcome you back in our Villa and will continue to constantly improve our house to provide you with best posible holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyBil...
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely location - Unfinished project and much work required”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked this lovely looking villa for a rare and special family get together. Although the location is perfect and, at first sight, the villa looks good, there are a number of issues that came to light during our stay.
1. The pool was cloudy and wasn't actually cleared until a day before our departure despite several visits from the pool guys. We had concerns about it being suitable for bathing, although we did use it extensively. All of us had 'dodgy' tummies and four of us ear infections during or after our holiday. A new pump is being fitted. Some of the cornerstones around the pool are broken, resulting in sharp edges. Two of our grandchildren suffered cuts from the stones by the steps. .
2. The internet charges are horrendous. Because we had issues with the TV's and couldn't get a reasonable signal we had to use the internet to stream video and gain access to other services. Bearing in mind that a large group will use the internet extensively as a matter of course, the huge data charges are hard to justify and we would encourage the owners to offer free unlimited internet to all guests as part of the package.
3. The electricity had a major fault on the circuit and the whole upstairs kept tripping, leaving us with no air conditioning, lighting, power sockets etc. Eventually we managed to isolate the fault to a lighting circuit. Although we reported this issue three times no electrician was called. As a direct result of this we resorted to using candles supplied so we could see what we were doing upstairs. One of these failed and caused a nasty fire on a beautiful piece of furniture. You can imagine our horror at the prospect of both the fire and damage. Extremely fortunately, we managed to put the fire out before it destroyed the upper floor. It was a very close call! There were no fire extinguishes, fire blankets or detectors. The owners tried to make us pay for the damage but conceded when presented with our statement about their lack of care. It's such a shame as they really nice people but somehow the villa did not feel safe after this event and we were constantly on watch for other issues - not exactly what we were on holiday for! The owners thanked us for bringing the lack of fire safety equipment to their attention and we believe this will have been already resolved,
4. On arrival, a number of items that you'd expect to be there, simply weren't. Tea towels, dish cloths, a mop and bucket (we like to keep a home clean), and only one pillow per person. Cat, the owner, was really helpful and provided all these things quickly but it was a shortcoming and illustrates how the 'Tiny Little Things' make all the difference.
5. There is little shade during the heat of the day and for a large family to crowd into the porch is not possible or comfortable. A couple of large umbrella's would be a great idea.
6. The gardens are extensive and could be absolutely fabulous. Instead, much of the ground was scorched earth and we suspect will be covered with some stone chippings or similar to make is neater and nicer. Another job requiring attention.
7. The plumbing in the outside kitchen is not connected properly and was a complete botch job meaning that use of the sink resulted in all water used for washing up purposes being simply dumped onto the ground below. Not nice to walk on and very slippery.

Ultimately, this could be an absolutely fabulous villa but it needs to be made family friendly and more thought and action needs to be taken before we could possibly recommend it to others. As said earlier, it's such a shame as the fixtures and furniture are of very high quality and it's a comfortable family villa.

Finally, we would like to thank Eric and Cat (the owners) for their kindness and considerable help and are saddened that our holiday was not all it should have been because of the issues we experienced. They are lovely people and were very considerate about the problems we faced - including refunding our internet fees and agreeing that we weren't liable for the fire damage. We wish you both well and good luck for the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, area and the villa itself - once all the issues we experienced are resolved.
Liked least: Internet charges (although this was fully refunded), Problems with power.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
We always value constructive feed back when it is fair and reasonable. We do not feel this is the case. Since your stay we have indeed upgraded significantly la Barraca and tried to comply with all your requests: we bought on your prompt demand upon arrival a new set of garden dining room chairs, a baby cot, a baby chair, 8 additional pillows (to the already existing 12 - first time we have this request in five years), a new coffee machine (not sure what was the reason as the other one works great....). Of course we paid for your different wishes. :-)
You wanted to have unlimitted TV channels, we could only provide the 200+ channels that get to our satellite dish. The TV works perfectly from sky sport to CNN... Seems you did not find the satelite channels?. You managed to burn 30G of internet in only one week, that is downloading some 50 movies in seven days when asked to moderate the use for the next tenants, again clearly another record and not nice for the next tenants. 30G is actually the maximum amount you can get per month in villas that are not on the main noisy roads of Moraira as they do not reach the fibre cables yet. Again we agreed on your request not to charge anything for internet as you were unable to locale the TV channels for some unclear reasons, but you clearly abused the system.
You indeed put fire to an expensive piece of furniture by using some inadequate candles on it for the whole night!!! Again a first...you refused to compensate for this mistake (would have been an educated move) and instead blamed "the electricity cuts". This electricity cut excuse was definitely another first, our next tenants did not face any for the full week. Did you let the 9AC units running all day long with the 3 washing mashines and lights all around the garden? Regardless, there is an electrical switch in the kitchen that resets the electricity incase of such exceptional situations- a simple process. In any case we have now reinforced our electricity and safety system, as we now understand that this can happen..
We also had to replace the pool pump because your party (or the previous one?) threw some inadequate materials in the pool which was the cause for the "cloudiness". It is now fixed.

Not to sure about how your kids got cut in the garden or in the pool area- Our pool edges are all rounded and not squared to limit such inevitable risks. We constantly try to repair any damages that may appear from time to time. The lawn is indeed in construction and need another few weeks to grow.

We wish you the best of luck to find a place suitable to your demands in the future. We kindly suggest for you to stay in a five star hotel, not a holliday villa, although we understand it may be difficult for less than 40£/person/day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself, and its location
Liked least: No place to land and helicopter (sorry no idea when it comes to disapointment)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2016
Thanks for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden/courtyard
Liked least: The view (no direct sea view)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments! Glad you liked it. Indeed October is great month to visit Moraira.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Neil R
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice (but not quite paradise)”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa is in a quiet location within easy walking distance (300m) of rocky Cala Andrago and many bars / restaurants. The main Moraira beach is less than a mile away. It is ideal if you are travelling with teenagers who want some independence and / or you wish to eat out without driving.

There are two floors connected by an external staircase each with it's own living room, kitchen, two double bedrooms and a master bedroom with en suite bathroom. There are large nayas (covered terraces) on both floors.

The upper floor has been recently renovated and is light and spacious. The only issue is that the en suite bathroom has no shelves or cupboards which is somewhat inconvenient.

The ground floor has not been renovated recently and is a little dark / stuffy - especially the living room.

La Barraca has a pleasant and large garden / outdoor terrace with palm trees and a medium sized pool. Although there is another house close by, the garden is not overlooked.

The barbecue area is attractive and well lit at night although there is no hi-fi system as advertised. It does now, however, have a small fridge.

The entrance / parking area is quite narrow and because a trailer has been parked there, it was not possible to park two medium size cars side by side.

Wi-fi worked for the first day and then was pretty much inoperable. I suspect that the owner has a data plan with a monthly cap which means that visitors early in the month will have wi-fi for a short time and those at the end of the month will not. The agent was unable to clarify.

The fridge in the downstairs kitchen did not work when we arrived on Saturday and even though we advised the agent immediately, no replacement was provided until Thursday - two days before we left. We requested and received a discount for the inconvenience.

Although we are regular visitors to Moraira, it is difficult to gauge whether the villa represents good value for money. It seems quite expensive however; the great location will be an important factor for many people.

Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2014
Thanks for your comprehensive feed back, this is very valuable to help us increase customer satisfaction year on year. We are glad that you liked the location and the recent renovations. We will continue to improve the villa by repainting the first floor, add some shelves in the en-suite bathroom and change internet provider before year end as it seems that the quality of the connection was not good enough. Thanks again for staying with us and for your feed backs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing