We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal all holiday... Most I've spent also!”
Review of Del Mar

Del Mar
Ranked #80 of 198 Restaurants in Moraira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal all holiday... Most I've spent also!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on a recommendation of friend who lives in area. She pre-booked us a lovely table outside (it didn't look like there were many seats inside). Waitresses were helpful and quick to take drink orders, however as the restaurant became busier the service became less consistent. The special board tempted two in our party (pork belly on coriander rice) and a fillet steak with lobster. However the latter was priced at 84 euros!! I had the fillet steak with Roquefort sauce and can honestly say it was the best steak I've ever had. Well worth the 26.95 price tag! Some of our party opted for duck salad and ceasar salad and I've never seen a portion do big!! I was upset I couldn't fit more in.

I would come back here again for their delicious food. Be prepared to spend however... I did think it was worth every penny! Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiltonStilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    46
    22
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were inticed by the specials board (no prices shown). I had the crabcakes followed by the 'specials' lobster and prawn pasta. It was all quite delcious but with the pasta being at more than twice the cost of anything else on the menu, it needed to be.

All our food was good and very well presented but the prices (and believe me I don't mind paying for my food!) would put me off a re-visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricey”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having stumbled upon this restaurant we noticed that they had a 3 course dinner menu for 11€, unfortunately it was only served until 7.30pm. We decided to just have a main course as some dishes were quite pricey, I chose a starter portion of crab & langoustine crepe thinking it might be small so opted for a tomato salad to accompany it, both huge, really tasty and perfectly presented. Worth a visit, would like to try the 3 courses especially at that price!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewilson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant with two friends after it had been recommended to us and we were not disappointed. We made our choice from the extensive 3 course Menu del Dia menu that is served up to 7pm in the evening. The flavours of the food were fantastic as was the presentation and at 11 euros per person, represented unbelievable value for money.
Our waiter was very friendly and attentive without being overbearing.
The restaurant is situated in a lovely traffic free walking area just opposite the entrance to the port.
We live in Javea and will certainly recommend this restaurant to our friends and hopefully visit again very soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaJavea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Service but Very Overpriced”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We'd read a few good reviews about this restaurant so decided to give it a try. We live in Moraira and had never really noticed this place. We ate off the 'A la Carte' menu and because the dishes were so very expensive we decided to just have a main course. I had the 'duck breast' which was around €22 and my wife had the 'Crab Cakes' at €28 (my 6 year old son had sausage and chips).

The duck breast was presented well and came with possibly the smallest blob of veg/potato... My wife's 'crab cakes' (x4) were mostly potato with hardly any crab. There was nothing else but a dip. So this worked out at €7 per crab cake - MEGA EXPENSIVE by any standard. I had a couple of small beers and we shared a desert. All in all the bill was around €90.

There are no views from this place - so all in all you could eat at better places for the money. My advice is avoid the 'A La Carte'.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Mar also viewed

 
Moraira, Costa Blanca
Moraira, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing