We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with so many great places to eat nearby.staff here are super nice and friendly. Price is amazingly good for such a n”
Review of Gema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gema Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moraira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here while having work done on my house nearby. Staff great & room just fine. Breakfast was good & value is excellent. Location is superb with tons of places to eat. You can walk into moraira very easily from here & there is supermarkets everywhere. Be careful if the police in this area they go out if the way to justify their own existance.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pro-Lite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Gema Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

No air conditioning but a quiet ceiling fan did the job. Breakfast, although just a continental, was quite comprehensive. Rooms and public areas were kept very clean. Free Wi-Fi only available in the lobby. Lovely swimming pool in the grounds. Plenty of on site parking. Poor selection of TV channels. All the staff were extremely pleasant. Lots of local bars and restaurants within walking distance as is the sea and beach. Very little, if any, public transport but only £5 by taxi, (just under a mile), to the centre of Moraira for the market and numerous dining places. In summary, the Gema gives a better standard in every way despite its 2 star official status..

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DartmouthResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel. We found friendly and helpful staffs. Room was clean and they changed bath things. Break fast was fresh and many different. We enjoyed natural view from hotel balcon. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

On visiting Moraira for just one night on a work related matter I decided to try and keep travel and accommodation costs to a minimum. I therefore did not expect the usual four or five star treatment or surroundings. The room was quite large with a bigger than usual ensuite with shower and corner bath. Everything was clean, especially the bed linen and towels. Breakfast was to an acceptable standard with a good selection to choose from. I would stay here again if my journey was short and work related but not for a family holiday. Thank you though to the staff who are most definitely friendly and helpful. The hotel has great promise if upgraded.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelstopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a night here whilst visiting friends in the area. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was continental but plenty of variety. The staff were extremely helpful and loaned me a phone charger as I had forgotten mine and when my hairdrier tripped the electric, fixed the problem instantly. We paid a great rate for the room and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room for a little glance of the sea!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spainrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Its only a basic hotel but its clean, friendly and efficiently run. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Lovely pool area. Just a nice , happy place to be.

Room Tip: balcony is lovely
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I've just returned from my annual trip to Moraira.

I've never stayed in this hotel and if I'd had a choice I wouldn't have stayed in a 2 star hotel, but as it wasn't me who booked it, I went along with it.

I'm going to give this hotel a fair review as a 2 star and not compare it to my usual choice of a 4/5 star hotel. I'll start with the good points:

- It's very clean
- Service is friendly and prompt, I would even say good
- Location is great - not beach front, but walkable distance to the town
- The pool was clean & loungers were available to sit on
- Breakfast was adequate - there was a lot of variety and I enjoyed it
- It's very quiet - you never hear the road or other guests
- We had hot water (I say this as other reviewers commented this was a problem)
- The room was very spacious and the terrace great to sit on, giving you views across Moraira
- It was reasonably priced

Now onto the not so good things:

- There is no air con - apparently that is normal for a 2 star hotel
- There is no fridge in the room - again normal for a 2 star hotel
- The beds were really uncomfy and neither of us slept well
- The bar area stinks of smoke and indeed some people do smoke in there
- There is no wi fi in the hotel

I think with a little TLC this place could be great, have to agree with another reviewer that it's a bit shabby. I won't be going to the hotel again and the reasons for this are the bar area and no air con.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reading_Traveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moraira
1.0 mi away
Hotel Swiss Moraira
Hotel Swiss Moraira
#1 of 4 in Moraira
486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel LaSort
Boutique Hotel LaSort
#2 of 4 in Moraira
112 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Al Zaraq
Hotel Al Zaraq
#3 of 5 in Benissa
26 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Calpe
Hotel Porto Calpe
#3 of 31 in Calpe
468 reviews
2.9 mi away
AR Galetamar
AR Galetamar
#9 of 31 in Calpe
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gema Hotel

Address: Calle Cabo Estaca de Bares 11, 03724 Moraira, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Moraira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Moraira
Price Range: $82 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gema Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing