We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, room in need of update”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maga Circe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maga Circe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location, room in need of update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Hotel Maga Circe. The hotel has a beautiful ocean front location without any roads or other obstructions between the hotel and the sea.

The hotel has its own small beach, and also a large salt water swimming pool. Pool towels are available, and there are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas available at the pool area. The pool area was very beautiful, and there is a pool bar for drinks and lighter snacks. It is strange though that drinks are more expensive at the pool bar than in the restaurant that is situated just adjacent to the pool bar (for instance a cup of coffee costs 3€ at the pool bar and only 2€ in the restaurant).

The restaurant has a lovely roofed outdoor seating area. If you do not choose the chef's menu, the menu is the same for lunch and dinner. We would have loved to have had some more choices of lighter lunches available, but the meals served were tasty and service was good and prompt. The breakfast was very good and had a good selection to choose from, we especially enjoyed the freshly baked croissants!

The view from the balcony in our room was stunning, there is something so serene being able to sit on the balcony and have an unobstructed view of the sea. The room was of a good size with comfortable beds. The room overall was in need of an update and some care. For instance, the light fixtures in our room looked like beautiful chandeliers, but with low energy light bulbs it does not look so pretty anymore. The furniture in the room was quite strange with three more or less uncomfortable "table" chairs and a small desk (no comfy chairs for relaxing in).

The bathroom was very small and in need of renovation, the shower door was very hard to close and the shower floor (beneath the shower mat) was stained.

There is a wifi available at the hotel for a charge of 5€ per device for 24 hours. This will mount up to quite a lot of money if you want to connect both your smart phone and computer. But be sure to check the range of the network before buying a code for the wifi, we did not have coverage for the wifi in our room, which meant we had to sit in the lobby or in a chair by the elevator in order to use the internet! This is not really acceptable when you pay quite a lot for an internet connection. Since the hotel seem to have many foreign guests, it would be courteous to have a wifi that works in all rooms and that is included in the room rate. Nowadays a good Internet connection is expected at hotels with this standard.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you Sir for your positive review and your good opinion about our staff and outdoor area. We are also glad that you liked our breakfast and our cuisine at La Veranda.
We keep in serious consideration your suggestion about having a confy sofa in our deluxe rooms and we will surely add this solution to the new decorations, as well as your suggestions about the lighting.
We are sorry that the internet didn't work correctly during your stay. We still are under old technology due to the lack of high speed connection in this area of Circeo, nevertheless I apologise for the low quality of the wifi. In any case our wifi allows to disconnect so, for example, you can download your email, disconnect and read the mail off line so that the 5€ voucher lasts for your whole staying.
Thank you again for all your suggestions and we hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    64
    27
    15
    17
See reviews for
51
81
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really nice outlook across the bay and it must have been really special years ago when the wealthy holiday makers visited from Rome etc
The hotel is nice and the rooms that overlook the sea have a great view
They got Gluten free bread for my wife without any problem
The staff on reception were nice and friendly
It's only a short stroll to the harbour where there are nice and reasonably priced restaurants
Really nice pool and sun bathing area

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank curzonparkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your staying with us and that you also liked the town of San Felice Circeo.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us as a relaxed hotel with a nice big pool and beach for the kids adjacent to it. We booked a week with breakfast and one more meal included.

We are an Irish family with three children 3, 5 & 7. They gave us two rooms which link, the kids room had little views however our bedroom view was unrivalled, looking directly out onto the ocean.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, I cannot recall staying somewhere and receiving such attention. The hotel could do with a revamp in certain areas, however with a family of three young kids this didn't matter; it was still very clean. Who needs a flatscreen TV when you have an ocean to look out onto?

We found it to be a very relaxed hotel in a positive sense. There are lots of restaurants nearby and a beautiful old town c1.5km up the hill. We also took a ferry to a nearby island (Ponsa) which was expensive but extremely worthwhile.

Location is far from the airport (1.5 hours), however we were the only english speaking people in the area and were welcomed by everybody that we met.

Room Tip: Ask to look onto the sea. Our end of corridor room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Maga Circe with Tripadvisor's Users. It is extremly important for us to have your feedback so we can offer a better service year after year. We are glad you found our service confy and relaxing and we are extremly happy that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, like Ponza and the Circeo National Park.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Maga Circe we take the opportunity to send you our best wishes
Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed last night - room was nice but bathroom was too small and too crowded. Shower was too low!! Had lunch on arrival and that was superb however breakfast was poor. No fruit plate only croissants and cake. The pool was very clean and pool guy very helpful. Won't stay again but that's only because I won't be back in that resort.

Room Tip: Hopefully hotel will take on board the comment about breakfast and take action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davok64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing with the users of Tripadvisor your experience with us. For us it is important to know all points of view, including those that comes from gusts who stayed with us one night. Allow me to clarify that fruits is available in our breakfast buffet and it is located on a small blue pedestal behind the juices and mineral water bottles, on the round table next to the main buffet, inside a basket. In fact it’s fresh fruit not unpeeled. I am sure that our waiters would be able to show or bring some, if requested.
We are glad that you enjoyed the room as well as the the swimming pool area and our lifeguard’s attention to guests’ requests.
We are also grateful for the time you dedicated us writing your review and we hope you’ll change your plans and come back to San Felice Circeo soon.
Best regards,
Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Absolutely stunning location, this 60s style hotel has a lot to offer when it comes to bilingual service minded staff and communal areas. The staff is laid back, friendly and speak (by Italian standards) extremely good English. Very helpful with excursions and tips on where to go to eat. The open areas were well attended but not air conditioned. The reception was at times a bit sauna-esque. The salt water pool I right on the water with deck chairs and sunbeds free of charge. There is a private beach, but it is super small but has a sandy area great for kids. Some of the open areas were either under repairs or permanently off limits, but crudely done with red tape or some make shift gate made out of left over construction material. This takes away from the riviera style charm of the hotel. The big letdown was the room. Connected family room (two double rooms) was small. AC even on full blow in both rooms never got the temperature below 25 deg. Bathrooms were clean. Neither rooms or bathroom matched the charm of the open areas. The beds were hard, even by Italian standards. International clientele. The breakfast offers a large selection of cakes and drinks. Hot dishes are extra. During summer I would put this down as pricey for what you get in terms of room standard.

+ Charming hotel
+ Good open areas
+ Great staff with good English

- Underwhelming room standard
- Hot and stuffy inside
- Hard beds even by Italian standards
- Summer is pricey, a lot of things (like wifi, hot breakfast) comes at an additional charge

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Johansoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
thank you Sir for your review and for sharing with Tripadvisor's users so many details about our service and location. We are really sorry for the lack of comfort you found in your rooms, and we are kindly asking you to contact us to let us know which were the room you were in, for we had many guests that could match your family group (2 adults and 2 kids) and we weren't able to guess your name. Our concern is to check the beds and the air conditioning immediately so to give next guest a perfect accommodation, for we haven’t' got any other complain until now.
We are really happy that you enjoyed the common areas and appreciate our staff: we want to ensure that we are working hard to keep the whole hotel as beautiful and welcoming as it is and to bring the backside view rooms to a better level of comfort.

Best regards,
Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent ten glorious days at this hotel. Having stayed here for three days last summer, there was never any doubt that we would be back. The rooms are very comfortable, but their crowning glory is their full wall window/door opening onto a private balcony. All overlooking the blue Mediterranean.

Breakfast and dinner taste even better when eaten right by the sea and served by waiters in white dinner jackets.

The swimming pool is large, clean and well maintained by the pool staff. There is no unseemly tussle for loungers. All is calm and well ordered.

San Felice itself is delightful. Smart and with a plethora of shops. Particularly good for jewellery.

We ventured away from this beautiful spot only once and that was to go to Pompeii. Next year it will be Herculaneum.

So, we shall be back. How could we stay away?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback following your visit to Maga Circe. We're absolutely thrilled that during your first stay last year we were able to make you feel and fully understand the real flair of this hotel. We are even more happy now, knowing of having matched your expectation this year and for a much longer period of time.

Thank you for underlining the excellent location of our hotel (in the National Park of Circeo, close to the new town of Sabaudia and the ancient town of Terracina, the Ninfa Gardens not to mention Rome, only 100 km far form San Felice Circeo), the huge swimming pool with sea water (one of the largest in Latium), the view from our balconies, the food and the good service.

Indeed we are very proud of your review.
We Thank you and hope to have you here soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed with our teenage daughter for two nights in a family room. (connecting twin and one king with Seaview). This gave us enough space. Furniture was rather spartan. TV channels only local.
The hotel has its charm, the view and pool directly at the sea is amazing. Even the hotel was full, it looked not overcrowed which was nice. The food was good, breakfast a bid mediocre, no hot eggs possible before 9 am due to kitchen duty roaster....

I personally would go again as I like its old fashioned style. Definitively the hotel would need a bit a makeover (wall paints, new chairs etc) but this is the Italian Charm, no? Pricey in highseason, I must comment.

Room Tip: Take family room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Maga Circe. We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your short stay with us. Saint Peter’s week-end is surely one of the most crowded period of the year in Rome Area and that explains high prices and fully booked hotels. But as your noticed our hotel has plenty of open air space to make our guests feel comfortable even in these moments. Also thank you for your suggestions about offering eggs and bacon before 9.00 a.m.: we are adding a note on our menu so guests can order them earlier.
We really hope you will be able to come back and visit us again to check our efforts to meet our guests expectations.
Best regards, Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felice Circeo
0.4 mi away
Circeo Park Hotel
Circeo Park Hotel
#4 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Punta Rossa
Hotel Punta Rossa
#1 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.7 mi away
Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Oasi di Kufra
Oasi di Kufra
#2 of 9 in Sabaudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Capo Circeo
Hotel Capo Circeo
#3 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
#2 of 13 in Ponza Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maga Circe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maga Circe

Property: Hotel Maga Circe
Address: Via Ammiraglio Bergamini 7, 04017, San Felice Circeo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > San Felice Circeo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in San Felice Circeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maga Circe 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maga Circe is a traditional 4 star family run hotel in Lazio, set in the beautiful Tyrrhenian coast, a hundred kilometers south of Rome, in the splendid Circeo National Park. Our hotel lies in a quiet, residential area, at the foot of the Circeo promontory and not far from the famous sandy beach of San Felice. The area is so beautiful that, according to the tradition, in Thirties it was chosen to build a large villa by one of Benito Mussolini's son, Bruno. The rooms of our hotel offer a breathtaking view: they are all overlooking the promontory or the sea. Well furnished and comfortable, they are equipped with TV, mini-bar and air conditioning; many rooms even have a panoramic balcony. You can also enjoy our large swimming pool with sea water and our little private sandy access to the sea shore. And besides all this, our hotel offers a large terrace, a beautiful veranda for your business meetings, a large hall for your receptions and events, a nice room with a cozy fireplace to warm your winter evenings... The Hotel Maga Circe in San Felice Circeo has everything you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maga Circe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maga Circe Italy/San Felice Circeo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing