We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway”

Tortoise Head Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in French Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tortoise Head Lodge
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just came back from a weekend at Tortoise Head Lodge. It boasts extremely friendly staff, fantastic views, and excellent accommodation facilities. We went cycling around French Island, saw heaps of wildlife and picturesque scenery, plus a packed lunch provided by the staff.

I'm definitely going back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids aged 6 and 4) spent a night camping at Phil's property last week. Phil was the most gracious and helpful host, picking us up at the dock, collecting firewood for our camp fire, providing insect repellant and providing dinner and breakfast as well (including catering for a vegetarian). We had a lovely camping spot looking north across western port bay and that was sheltered from the wind. Very easy property to access from the ferry - about 250m which we all managed on bikes. Picturesque views from the property and koalas in the trees as well. Next time we will do a bit of fishing and perhaps cycling up to fairhaven camping ground which looked like a nice spot. Great value, great host and great introduction to camping for the kids (with home cooked meals!). Thanks Phil.

Room Tip: North facing camping spots are more sheltered from the wind, but equally good views for the south fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently enjoyed 2 nights with Phil and Maria and their hospitilaity was impeccable!

When we first arrived on the island, we were greeted at the dock by a smiley faced Phil, who took us back to the Inn. He explained to us what it was like to live on the island & all that there was for us to do while we were there. He also arranged the tour for us for the next day and dropped us back at the dock at the end of our trip.

Maria's cooking is FANTASTIC!!! Her dinners are delicious, HUGE and very well priced. We had a full breakfast provided with the room & went back to the Inn during the day to enjoy a platter of Maria's yummy sandwiches.

They are currently renovating some of the rooms, which was great news for us! We were happy to arrive to a brand new comfy bed and new bathroom, to go along with the amazing view from our room!

French Island is a very unique place. We were fortunate enough to be there on the weekend of the community Christmas Carols & we had a ball! The residents of the island are a fantastic group of people. As a main-lander visiting the island for the first time, we were fascinated by how their community event felt like an enormous family gathering.

Thanks very much Phil & Maria for a lovely weekend! We are looking forward to coming again soon :)

Cath & Cam

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you are looking for plush hotel service with room service and someone to wait on you hand and foot don't bother. Your demands and ridiculous expectations are wasted. BUT........if you are looking for an escape complete with amazing value for an uninterrupted sea views, cooked meals, transport to and from the ferry, roaring fires, comfy beds, great showers and a completely unique island experience with locals who are some of the friendliest most accommodating people you will ever meet then you have arrived at the right island :)
Phil and Maria with their beautiful kids and their "puppy"Sammy give you the best of French Island. You won't be sorry :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gembell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Dear Rod and Susan,

Thanks for your brilliant hospitality, we spent 2 wonderful days in this island which deserves a lot of admiration and protection. We loved the atmosphere in which you host your guests, your warm reception made our stay so enjoyable and relaxing.
Our cabin was perfect + the view over Tortoise head was wonderful. Susan's meals have been lovely and Rod's knowledge of the island has been so interesting. We learnt a lot about Nature, Culture and History of French Island.
We definately recommend Tortoise head lodge to others, it is worth and you'll have a full overview of what the island has to offer.
We will be back to get another breathe of fresh air and to relax.
Bye Holly and Sylvain

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SylvainMentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Staying at French Island and particularly at the Tortoise Head was definitely an experience! If you like fancy holidays, then this is not for you!
We got to the island on Friday night, Rod was there to greet us when we got off the ferry, and helped us with our luggage. Our favourite part of the stay were the evenings when he made us each a cup of tea, gave us TimTams, and sat down with us by the fire for a nice conversation. He told us a lot of French Island's history over the 2 days we stayed there, and it is very clear that Rod is very passionate about French Island, particularly about the Tortoise Head.
The next day he drove us everywhere we needed to go, as it's not very easy to walk around because of the distances. We did manage to get lost by ourselves, and it was a long but extremely nice walk back to the lodge along a practically empty beach. We also had dinner at the local restaurant that night, which was absolutely wonderful! It felt like a home much more than a restaurant.
We will definitely be going back, but next time we will take some friends, and we are going to try to take our bikes with us, this way we can see a bit more of the island by ourselves!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

From the minute we arrived we fell in love with French Island and Tortoise Head Lodge. If you are looking for an experience this is it!!! The accomodation is comfortable and Eco friendly. The food is to die for.. Thankyou Suzanne, wonderful Aussie home cooked meals. An Eco Tour with Rod is a definate must when visiting French Island, informative and Fun!!! We had a ball. If you want to see Koala's this is the place to come ( see photo). We can't wait to come back, next time we will bring the kids. French Island / Tortoise Head lodge once visited , never forgotten.

Thankyou Rod and Suzanne for an unforgettable weekend, We Can't wait to come back.

Mark and Chelsea

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jamos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tortoise Head Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortoise Head Lodge

Address: Western Port Bay, French Island, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > French Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in French Island
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing