We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique find in Burwood.”
Review of Sketches Cafe Bar

Sketches Cafe Bar
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Burwood
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With its improvements in recent years, Sketches is no longer a little cafe with a small dining space, but a cafe-restaurant with adequate dining spaces for either intimate indoor, trendy alfresco or casual outdoor dining. Transforming between cafe and restaurant settings allows us to cater for both casual catch-ups in the day and fine-dining on special occasions at night.Whilst our menu is categorized as modern Australian, essentially we are a team that is passionate about fresh produce with an open-mind to any great food ideas regardless of where they originate from. Expect to see not just the all-time Australian favorites, but also modern international influences throughout our menu.No matter which setting or menu you choose the staff at Sketches will always ensure you have a great time dining here. We look forward to seeing you at Sketches!
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A unique find in Burwood.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Looking for somewhere for local to Burwood - look no further!

Sketches offers everything from Alfresco dining, business lunch/meeting, casual coffeee/cake or scrumptous lunch or dinner in the evening. You can't go wrong with Sketches. Easy ample parking, allergy friendly menu, great staff, it is licenced as well as BYO wine. We have had many Christmas parties for the office here and also a romantic couples evening.

You won't be disappointed... Highly recomment A+++++

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

An amazing cafe with superb ambience, food and service. We would definitely go back to this wonderful cafe to enjoy the great food on the menu. The staff were amazing and always accommodating whenever we were in a little bit of a hurry. We visited a number of times over the past week due to attending competitions at a nearby theatre. Just wished we lived in Melbourne to enjoy this hidden treasure more often! The cafe had a very welcoming feel and we loved the cutlery! Great work Sketches!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tiny cafe with great food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Cute little cafe in an unexpected spot. Right off the highway, but quiet and definitely worth a visit. Fabulous food and coffee at reasonable prices. Nice outdoor seating under the trees behind the building. Dedicated, offsite parking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great service, great food!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been to Sketches Cafe Bar before and never been disappointed with the food! Located on Burwood Highway, parking is at the rear and no problem. You can enter through the back door and walk past the kitchen and into the restaurant. It is more a restaurant than a bar, small intimate and quiet. Each time we have been there has only ever been one waiter/waitress but the service has been attentive and food arrived in a timely manner. The menu has not changed in a reasonably long period but what is on offer is done beautifully. Last night we sat at a table beside a window that overlooked the kitchen and it was actually very interesting and heartening to see the care the chefs took in preparing each plate. We took wine but alcohol is available to buy. A chef special is available every day. We have only ever been in the evening and I recommend you book. The pork belly is particularly nice! Crusty bread, olive oil and balsamic vinegar starts your meal. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Surprise surprise”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Called in to this cafe on a cold ,windy,rainy day and was greeted by staff who knew what they were doing. Made us feel very comfortable and quickly got us a coffee to warm us.
We ordered brunch and the omlette was fantastic and cooked to perfection. The kitchen was open for you to see and the owner was very keen for feedback. Ours made his day as we were very happy. We left to the rear car park and staff made sure we managed the wet safely. This is a friendly place . The parking is at the back and very easy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sketches Cafe Bar also viewed

Mount Waverley, Greater Melbourne
Mont Albert, Whitehorse
 
Mount Waverley, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Sketches Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing