We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you need”
Review of Punthill Burwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill Burwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Burwood
Certificate of Excellence
perth australia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“everything you need”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I shared a one bedroom apartment with a friend. It was perfect.
I caught sky bus from airport to southerncross station, then stepped out of station straight onto the 73 tram (I did purchase a Myki card from the 7/11 at the busport for $7)which took me all the way to Burwood. As I stepped of, Punthill is directly in front of you.
We where on the Burwood Hwy side which was noisy, however went across road to chemist and bought some earplugs for $1 and all was good.
Try and get a courtyard facing apartment if you can.
The apartment are a good size, with a sofa, Flat screen TV, dinning table and kitchen. The dishwasher and washing machine where very handy. The hotel also supplies dishwasher and washing machine soap powder,
Bathroom with bath was immaculately clean and room cleaning very well done.
The underground carport was very handy.
I used the tram on many occasions(45 min to city) and once got back at midnight, however always felt safe . Lots of office workers on tram.
Across the road was lovely Italian restaurant with delicious Pizzas also a Malaysian restaurant post office and chemist.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room away from road or buy earplugs across the road at Chemist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exhausted10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Burwood, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear exhausted10,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Burwood.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities, location and service, and also that you would be happy to make a return visit!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
10
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thank you for a very comfortable stay at Burwood apartment. Always excellent facilities and service, convenient for our needs. We have had a one bedroom and two bedroom apartment on two visits, all rooms same standard. Kitchens are large enough and set up with adequate equipment, dishwasher, etc. Two bed on ground floor facing onto quiet courtyard. Will return.

Room Tip: Modern, cosy 1 & 2 bedroom apartment looking onto court yard quieter than busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustraliaJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Burwood, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear AustraliaJanet,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Burwood on TripAdvisor.
As a return guest to Punthill, we are thrilled to know that you find the apartments, facilities and service consistently meet all your expectations and requirements.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill again sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in May.A good place to stay if you need to be near the eastern suburbs of Burwood or Boxhill South.There is a tramline to the city directly outside the property.It will take you about 45 mins by tram to the CBD.
There are small shops and a great Italian restaurant directly across the road.
The apartment was very clean and quiet and had a nice balcony.The bed was really comfortable.
Maybe the soft furnishings could be updated in the living room and some of the communal corridors could be re-carpeted.
The staff are very friendly and helpful...a quick and efficient checkin process was much appreciated.
I would recommend this property and its lovely staff...and look forward to staying there in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd story away from Burwood Highway..I stayed in room 206 which was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Romtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Burwood, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Romtraveller,
Thank you for your kind review regarding Punthill Burwood.
We are in fact updating soft furnishings gradually, and corridors have very recently been fully recarpeted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you need to be in the area. Obviously, it is outside of town, but there are restaurants, convenience stores, post office, pharmacy etc etc just across the road. Public transport in the area is - depending on what you are use to - not the easiest way to get around. There is a major shopping center nearby, but you more or less need to walk there (20-30 mins). If you have a car, then you are better off and there is parking onsite (included in price of room).

To the hotel: I chose an appartment with kitchen. This made self-catering a lot easier and I could skip the extra cost of breakfast. The room was comfortable, air conditioned, clean, spacious.

Couple of downsides: my appartment was facing the main road at the front of the hotel, so I had a bit of traffic noise which made the balcony less enjoyable. (Perhaps see if you can get an appartment facing the garden/back of buildung)

Other downside: internet is not included in the price, you have to pay by the hour, nominate how long you want to pre-pay and then the clock starts ticking (i.e. you buy three hours and three hours later - whether you use it or not - your internet time is up). It would be nice if the hotel could change their policy to, for example, buy a prepaid amount of time for which you can login and logout as need be. (Internet got expensive by the end.)

Overall...if you need to be in this area of Melbourne, then this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: See if you can get an appartment facing the garden/back of building (avoid street noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babelfish111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Burwood, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear babelfish111,
We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at Punthill Burwood and found our self-contained apartments suitable for your needs.
Next time you stay, please request an apartment that faces away from the street side as we do try our best to accommodate all requests.
Our charges for internet access are $3 per hour or part thereof, with a maximum of $18 per day, which are very competitive.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a business trip, found the room was a bit tired looking, bathroom & kitchen good but carpet and lounge were a bit shabby. Very comfortable bed & quiet. Had breakfast and wasn't asked how I wanted my eggs, they came poached which was good, so I was happy, but my table was never cleared from the people before me, I sort of piled the dirty dishes and put it on the edge of the table, it still was not cleared.
Gym was poorly equipped, treadmill looked as though it needed an upgrade.
Wouldn't go back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dorothyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Burwood, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear dorothyma,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Burwood.
We are in fact well into a refurbishment at Punthill Burwood. Almost half of the apartments have had furniture re-covered, and have also been repainted and re-carpeted. This certainly makes a huge difference.
The breakfast cook is new and clearly needs more training. This will take place right away.
We have already obtained quotations for replacement of gym equipment. We are awaiting one more quote and will then proceed with replacement of some items.
We do hope that you will return to the property and would appreciate a direct call to our General Manager so that we can ensure you receive a refurbished apartment if you do decide to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great accommodation—Punthill is centrally located, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the staff are really lovely and helpful. Parking is off the street in a basement carpark, which is private and secure. My only complaint is a minor one—the TV was balanced on the edge of the desk, which made working a bit difficult at times! Otherwise, I would definitely recommend Punthill, and will certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back—these are quieter and you get a great view of the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Burwood, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Alyson M,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Burwood on TripAdvisor.
Our staff at Punthill Burwood Apartment Hotel will be thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and that our on site car parking came in handy during your time at the property. Next time you visit you may even be tempted to take a dip in the outdoor spa in the courtyard!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked family members into a one bedroom apartment for 2 nights while we were renovating. Trying to extend for another 2 nights was not easy - payment options were to either go and pay in person or email/fax with copies of my credit card and driver's license. Amazed they didn't accept credit card details over the phone or online for extra nights.
The apartment itself was lovely but parking was appalling due to a conference being run at the same time. The management/reception staff were not particularly friendly nor helpful. When I extended my relatives stay the room entry card was not automatically updated and hence my rellies found themselves locked out when they returned after 10 pm! Staff were not pleased to have to deal with it and said they should have updated the card at 10 am (when we didn't know at that point that they would be staying an extra night!) Internet was expensive and not Mac friendly. When we went to visit my rellies in their apartment there was a certain air of disapproval from Reception at us going beyond the foyer (maybe because there were 6 of us). Shame as the apartment and servicing were all great, but not the reception/management staff, parking, or payment options to extend. Nor the general lack of welcome.

Room Tip: Book at the back and maybe think about booking somewhere else if you expect to have friends or famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burwood
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Box Hill Motel
Box Hill Motel
#2 of 3 in Burwood
49 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Tudor-Box Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Burwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Burwood

Property: Punthill Burwood
Address: 300 Burwood Hwy, Burwood, Monash, Victoria 3125, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Burwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Burwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Burwood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Burwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Burwood Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing