We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Les Rochers

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valtournenche
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Rochers
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valtournenche
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is our last night of our week's skiing in Cervina/Valtourneche and I just felt we had to write this review as we have had the most wonderful stay here. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Simon and Barbara have been fabulous hosts and it has all been perfect - the rooms are lovely, the food is fabulous (italian home cooking at its best!) and the new wellness centre is fantastic with a lovely pool, great sauna, relaxation rooms etc - lovely to relax in after a day skiing!! The bar is lovely too and there is a great atmosphere among the guests - most of who are on repeat visits and I can see why! The skiing is really great too - fantastic to be able to ski not just in cervina but over to zermatt too. All in all would really recommend Valtourneche for skiing and definitely this hotel! A great find - we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinoandcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moffat, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our silver wedding in 2013 and wanted to mark the occasion with a special ski holiday. What would make it special..? Well we normally book budget self catering accommodation but on this special occasion that simply wouldn’t do.

Selecting a hotel can often be a bit of a lottery, well not where Les Rochers is concerned, we hit the jackpot. Simon and Barbara go out of their way to ensure that every aspect of your stay is 5 star. From the comfort of the rooms, the excellence and variety of the meals, the superb leisure facilities, the overall ambiance and of course the complete customer focus.

We will undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmckellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having skied in the Aosta valley numerous times before at Pila, Courmayeur, La Thuile and Champoluc we decided to give snow sure Cervina/Valtournenche a try for an early December long weekend break. Having looked at Trip advisor reviews we decided to book at Les Rochers and we can only concur with the other favourable reports. Despite the new spa area not being ready or open yet as advertised on the hotel web site we enjoyed a wonderful stay. The hotel is extremely welcoming with Barbara and Simon fantastic hosts. Barbara looks after front of house and oversees the dining room in a caring but unobtrusive way. Simon provides transport from and to the lifts and provides valuable advice on conditions, weather, mountain restaurants etc He can also be found behind the bar in the evenings to exchange stories with. The food is quite simple but absolutely delicious. Home cooking at its best. It is also plentiful with second helpings offered on each of the four courses. The local Aosta wine is excellent and very reasonably priced. Breakfast is the usual buffet style with a lovely array of choices from cheese, ham and hard boiled eggs to cereal and pastries. The décor of the hotel is delightful with lots of wood and a roaring fire in the lounge areas. The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious with free wifi access. The impending spa will only add to the experience. The skiing conditions were excellent on piste but unfortunately winds closed many of the links over the three days which meant we did not manage to get over to Zermatt. The local slopes of Valtournenche seem very quiet and offer very easy cruising for intermediate skiers. The long run down to the village is particularly enjoyable. Cervinia offers a wealth of long runs accessed by fast lifts in the main. Views of the Matterhorn are sensational. All in all, a very enjoyable break and we can’t wait to return to gain the full experience of the vast skiing area. And, of course, our preferred accommodation will be Les Rochers despite its slightly inconvenient location between Valtournenche and Cervina. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat6883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelletto sopra Ticino, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed at Les Rochers twice now, both times could not have been better. Simon and Barbara are very welcoming, the rooms have an authentic feel with little luxuries like a corner bath in the bedroom (!). Dining is a joy, the food is truly excellent and Barbara's wine suggestions were perfect. Well placed for Pila as well as Cervinia (two quite contrasting ski areas) you should not miss out on this little gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have had so many lovely holidays with family and friends at Les Rochers. Barbara and Simon always make us feel so welcome. The food is fabulous, and they have been flexible in the past with children's dining. We cant wait for next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week at Les Rochers and agree with all that has been said. Simon and Barbara and Barbara's mum - all wonderful, work like mad but still so easy going. The food is out of this world - the best I have had anywhere - and was thinking of not writing this review so as to keep the place a secret but that would be unfair! DEFINITELY going back again and the skiing at Cerviinia is wonderful too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diseydoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My two brothers, a grandson and myself have had a wonderful ski holiday, staying with Simon and Barbara in Les Rochers, and enjoying the beautiful pistes and glorious sunshine in Cervinia. We agree with everything that JCCM from London and Gill shaw said about the hotel and all that goes with it.. Nothing is too much trouble to these two people. This was ably demonstrated when a party of nine (I think) Britons arrived on a Saturday in March but their skis and luggage were still in Gatwick because of a power failure in the baggage department. By Sunday lunchtime they were skiing, dressed in clothes which Simon, Barbara and some of their staff donated. We loved the hotel, we loved the food, we loved the ambience, loved the drive up and down each day and enjoyed the conviviality in the bar each evening. By the way, Simon is also a golf instuctor and a hang-gliding instructor. The one thing we missed was a pool or jaccuzzi to rest our weary bones (average age, excluding the youngster, seventy six) was a swimming pool, but this will be put right for next season. So no need to guess where we will stay next year.
L, B,&F O'Halloran. Cork, Ireland

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valtournenche
1.5 mi away
Hotel Millefiori
Hotel Millefiori
#6 of 7 in Valtournenche
27 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albergo Grandes Murailles
Albergo Grandes Murailles
#5 of 7 in Valtournenche
100 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#2 of 7 in Valtournenche
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#4 of 7 in Valtournenche
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rochers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rochers

Property: Les Rochers
Address: Localita Singlin, 1, 11028 Valtournenche, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valtournenche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional Alpine hotel situated between Valtournenche and Cervinia. Recently renovated with new Wellness area and indoor pool. Free shuttle service to the ski slopes and Cervinia Golf course. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing