We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&B”
Review of L'Ancien Paquier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Ancien Paquier
Ranked #1 of 22 Valtournenche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best B&B”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed 5 nights in this B&B and this was one of the best experience we had in Italy.
Excellent location (ski bus stops across the street), cozy and clean rooms and an excellent breakfast are some of the things that made our stay there very pleasant. But more than this, the friendly and helpful host, Fabio, who offered us all mornings’ information about the slopes or advices for places to visit nearby. I believe this makes the difference between a good cold hotel and a warm B&B where you have more than “accommodation”.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristiP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cozy B&B. Free indoor parking. Located close to ski rental and restaurants. Fabio is always friendly and accommodating. He was waiting for us when we were arriving late past midnight. Also an excellent chocolatier.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta Europa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just spent 6 days at L'Ancien Paquier Valtournenche to visit the area.
We were cordially greeted by Fabio and his assistant , as he helped with our luggage and showed us our rooms and the underground carpark near the hotel . When we settled our things in the room ,he offered us some tea he was a mine of information about the Valtournenche and Valle d'Aosta area.
Our rooms were always clean and had all the necessary things we needed and breakfast was great too.
We appreciated their friendliness and all the information he gave us .It's a place you would want to come back to again and again.
For those who do not find a room at L'ancien Paquier they can stop for tea, coffe and good cakes that Fabio makes himself.
We recommend to al you will not be disappointed besides the locality and area are so beautiful to explore.
.
Regard Josephine Emmanuel JeanPaul Borg from Malta

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at L’Ancien Paquier. We spent 4 sunny days skiing in Cervinia/Valtourneche/Zermatt area. We bought the international forfait at Valtourneche and everyday we went to Zermatt and return. It’s easy, because everything is linked, but you need to leave Zermatt around 3 pm, to have plenty of time on the way back. Cervinia has long and large slopes; Valtourneche is more a family oriented ski resort. Valtourneche is a cosy, calm and peaceful village.

The L’Ancien Paquier was perfect! The room was great, clean, comfortable and with Free wi-fi. Fabio (the owner) and Claudia, were super friendly and helpful. Fabio kept us inform everyday with the weather conditions and gave us suggestions for the dinner places. He booked us some dinners, one at the restaurant nearby (la maison du coq rouge) and another at Cervinia Center - a splendid one restaurant 'Jour et Nuit', food to die for!!

When we opened our room door every morning, there was a delicious bakery and chocolate smell that lead us to the nice breakfast. On the afternoon, on the après-ski, we ate fabulous ice creams at L’Ancien Paquier.

We really do recommend L'Ancien Paquier for a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Spent a week here to go skiing in Valtournenche and Cervinia; location is ideal if you have a car. There is free underground parking by the B&B, and then free parking at the gondola which is just a few minutes down the road. You can hire skis at the gondola itself which includes a free ski locker, so you don't even need to lug your gear back to the B&B each night.

Rooms here are lovely and comfortable and the service is really friendly and helpful. Best of all though is the bar / patisserie / gelateria underneath which has the most fantastic home made cakes, biscuits and ice-cream, and a comfortable sofa to relax on. An ideal way to spend an hour after skiing each day. I need the recipe for the chocolate cake - it's amazing!

The bar shuts around 7pm in the evening which is a shame, don't think we'd ever leave if it was open longer, but there are a few other bars in the village, and a couple of decent restaurants.

Some amazing ski runs in the resort, although it is prone to bad weather, even in April. We had one day with zero visibility and another with really strong winds. Didn't stop us having fun though. Also some fantastic restaurants on the slopes, but get in early or reserve a table as they get busy. Slopes themselves very quiet, no queues, this was over Easter holidays.

Would highly recommend L'Ancien Paquier AND the skiing - had a really fantastic time. Easy drive from Geneva too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Most have been said already but this is really a perfect place to spend the vacation at. Fabio and the rest of the team runs a wonderful establishment. The service seems to come from the heart and is genuine. We had to promise the kids to come back next year and we haven't even left yet! If it would have been a hotel the rating should surely be 4 stars. Great standard on amenities and service.

We should actually not tell too much great things about it to keep it a secret but as we will book next years vacation already now we dare to!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Niciest rooms, good breakfast, sweetest cafeteria, location near busstop and free public parking! Peaceful and quiest place we ever stop! 100% recommended! Rooms is clean every day. We got everything we need in bath. Free wifi. Was warm all days and nights. Evening dinner place is right behind.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troyan8885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valtournenche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Millefiori
Hotel Millefiori
#5 of 7 in Valtournenche
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Grandes Murailles
Albergo Grandes Murailles
#7 of 7 in Valtournenche
104 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ellex Hotel
Ellex Hotel
#3 of 13 in Gressoney-la-Trinite
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
3.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#20 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
174 reviews
23.0 mi away
Le Vieux Noyer
Le Vieux Noyer
#4 of 5 in St. Pierre
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ancien Paquier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancien Paquier

Property: L'Ancien Paquier
Address: Frazione Capoluogo 31, 11028 Valtournenche, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Valtournenche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Ancien Paquier 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'ancien Paquier, situated in the historique center of Valtournenche, is a bed and breakfast, positioned in a calm and sunny place, a few minutes away from the ski slopes, with great lift connections to Cervinia and Zermatt, during the winter season. In the summer, it is situated perfectly for beatiful excursions and climbs. In our mountain home, you will be able to enjoy nice days, with a relaxing and confortable environment, and you will be able to have a nice holiday surroundead by the beatiful nature. The staff always at your disposal, will guarantee perfect service, courtesy with a welcome fun environment in order to make your holiday memorable in this warm welcome place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Ancien Paquier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing