We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
65
34
7
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
65
34
7
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 114 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2015

Middle of the summer we just turned up in Valtournenche and found this gem of a hotel. Room was great with a small balcony and fantastic views of the mountains. Service and breakfast were also excellent. Location and parking perfect - on main road in town on the way to Cervinia. Best of all was the price - a bargain at €70 per night !!!

Room tip: room with a balcony on the main strret with great views of the mountains
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tappers1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights after hiking in the Alta Via. It was a wonderful place to relax and rest along the hike. The rooms are spacious and beautiful, breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit, bread and cheese, cakes and more. The staff is super friendly and helpful, they helped with every request we had, like laundry or washing our dirty dishes from the hike. The Albrego has a mini-spa at the basement with optional massage (for a reasonable price) and it was a special treat for our aching muscles after hiking. In short - highly recommended!!!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Aya92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2015

Grandes Murailles is a cosy and romantic hotel in the centre of Valtournenche. The staff was friendly and helpful, but somewhat reserved compared to many hosts I've had. Didn't bother me at all as everything went really smoothly. The hotel offers transportation to the closest lift station where you can also have your skis storaged.

Our room was outside the main building, but it was very comfortable and clean. The only minus was a weak wifi signal which basically left us offline. The signal in the main building was better.

The breakfast was good, but after a couple of days one would like some change in the selection. Different bread, fresh vegetables maybe? The afternoon tea (complimentary) was excellent after a hard day at the piste.

I would recommend Grandes Murailles to couples and families. You'll make more of your trip if you have a car as the town is pretty small and quiet and public transportation in the area is quite poor.

Skiing in the region is absolutely wonderful.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TravellingWilbury50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Grandes Murailles and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are full of character, comfortable and warm. We had a balcony looking out in to the main street.
The breakfast includes fresh fruit salad, various fruits, delicious homemade cake and other assorted pastries, yogurt, cereals, ham, cheese and lovely fresh bread.
They serve a very welcome afternoon tea and cake late afternoon on return from skiing.
The owner has a heated ski locker at the gondola station where you can keep your skis for free.
We enjoyed the walk along the river (15 mins) at the start and end of the days skiing, but there is a local bus which stops almost outside the hotel if you want to save your energy.
We would definitely return.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RandHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed there for a week and love it! The hotel is located in the middle of Valtournenche in front of Maisons Gurmes shop. If you'd like to stay in a quiet authentic place, where you can't find bars, apre-ski, shops and lots of tourists, with a great scenery and trekking facilities - Valtournenche is the best choice.
The only problem of this hotel is the price. Everything else is perfect. Nice cozy and clean rooms. Proper sauna and hamam with the ideal chill-out area, which should be booked, so that you can rest alone or with your family. Breakfast includes almost everything you might want, and you can enjoy afternoon tea with hebrs and cheese.
I like the style and decoration of the hotel, which is true authentic. It's a family run hotel and you can feel this atmosphere.
Comparing to other places in Valtournenche, Grandes Murailles hotel seems to be overpriced, but if you're not on a budget, you won't be disappointed by staying there.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews