We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Express Hotel Aosta
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pollein
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I was looking for a hotel with easy highway access in the north of Italy to use as a base to make day trips by car (Lake Como, Monaco etc).

I stayed here for 5 nights and this hotel was priced right and the desk staff were very friendly and helpfull. This hotel is beside a shopping complex and there are numerous eating and shopping choices right there. For example, there's a Carrefour Hypermarket where you can buy literally anything. Although the hotel is next to the highway and a small airport!!, the rooms have double glazed windows and noise was NOT a problem

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 564 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2008

Just had 5 nights at the HI Exp Aosta and everything went very smoothly. Agree with other posts that room size is bigger than normal HI Exp - we had all 4 of family including my two boys at 10 and 12 years old comfortably fitting into the space without endlessly bumping into each other. Hotel has a lot of groups of British school children using it for ski holidays at Pila - actually a lot quieter than we expected - probably all tired out with early starts and plenty of skiing. We also felt there was very little noise from the autostrada running outside the hotel and the airport on the other side of this.

Picturesque and quirky this is not - a great practical option if you want a clean and tidy room with plenty of space at a great price.

Car to get here is essential and also to get around the district. Carrefour hypermarket opposite stocks absolutely everything. Restaurant in the shopping area is a glorified transport cafe so we ate out in Aosta (3 km and about 8 mins drive), which has a cracking old town centre with some good eateries. Breakfast in the hotel was like all other HI Express places we've been - cereals, toast, yogurts, fruit, fruit juice and hot drinks; which is what we'd normally have for brekkie so ideal.

Last word goes to Zac on the desk who was an excellent member of staff with superb English and a calm demeanour which was ideal when 30 school children arrive after a 12 hour coach journey from the channel ports !

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank buggins7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Very good hotel located in Aosta. The hotel is located closed to the motorway and the centre comercial.
The rooms are very big, confortable beds, TV, very big windows and excellent views to the mountains.
The breakfast is OK (but I didn't like the horrible croisants).
I recommend this hotel because is very good located (five minutes to Aosta, closed to the motorway, and the room is good).

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank Lluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This hotel is located in the autoporto which is a mixture of a large highway service area and the local Aosta airport. This area includes a shopping mall with supermarkets, shops, restaurants and this Holiday Inn.

The autoporto is too far from Aosta for a walk so this hotel is for drivers only. In that case, however, it is absolutely recommened. It was very cheap (maybe the cheapest stay we ever had in Italy), the people were genuinely nice (quite surprising for an outwardly soulless chain hotel), and the room was really big and offered an excellent view to the Aosta airport (which could be enjoyed thanks to the noise isolation).

It is still an Express by Holiday Inn, so don't expect luxury, and in fact, the hall carpet looked rather tired. Our room however was definitely fine and included coffee making facilities. There was no mini-bar, but the put our sandwiches in their fridge so that we could depart in the early morning for Mont Blanc.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archae01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We booked this budget hotel as a 'pitstop' for one night on our way to self-catering accommodation in Northern Italy, as it seemed convenient being very near the motorway. We wanted just a bed for the night. But we really liked it and wished we had been able to stay longer.

The room was very large - more what you'd expect from a 3 or even 4 star hotel. It had two good-size single beds side-by-side plus a double sofa bed. Even with the sofabed opened up it was really spacious. The bathroom was also exceptionally large and well equipped. Definintely the most spacious Holiday Inn Express of the four we have staid in. Everything worked well.

The reception is rather unusual in that it is located on the second floor (the building includes offices and some ground floor shops as well as the hotel). The receptionist was very welcoming, competent and helpful. We asked him about parking, and he said we could either park on the square behind the hotel facing the shopping mall where there were plenty of places, or pay for underground parking (8 euros per night, if I recollect right). He also said that the police patrol the shopping mall from 10 pm and they had never had any problems. So we left the car there, and he was right - absolutely no problem and much easier than the underground parking.

Yes, being near the motorway and the shopping mall there was some noise, but it was not really invasive, and as everyone knows Italy is always noisy, even in the depth of the countryside! Also, we had a room at the back of the hotel facing the shopping mall square and we enjoyed looking out of the window at the scenes of evening Italian life below in the square. From the window we also had a really nice view of Aosta mountains.

At ground floor level there is a small bar/pizzeria (not related to the hotel) where we bought our food for the evening. Next door to this is an absolutely delightful large delicatessen shop selling genuine local cheeses, hams, wines, rustic breads and the like. We bought our picnic supplies there next morning and lived off them very well for two days!

We travelled on to our holiday rental which was a disappointment. We wish that instead we had stayed longer at this comfortable and delighful little budget hotel and explored the area around Aosta. I know we will do this as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank celestina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank SimonaBar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni P, Direttore at Express Hotel Aosta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank giorgiop104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollein
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 2 in Pollein
231 reviews
2.7 mi away
HB Aosta Hotel
HB Aosta Hotel
#2 of 18 in Aosta
502 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc
3.1 mi away
Norden Palace Hotel
Norden Palace Hotel
#10 of 18 in Aosta
333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Charaban
Le Charaban
#6 of 18 in Aosta
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Hotel Aosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Hotel Aosta

Address: Localita Autoporto 33, 11020 Pollein, Aosta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Aosta > Pollein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pollein
Price Range: $74 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Hotel Aosta 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express Hotel Aosta is located in the 'Autoporto' area, on the motorway A5 Monte Bianco-Aosta exit Aosta east, and only 500 m from the regional airport. It is located in a modern and new mall with several shops, fitness center, gym, hairdresser's salon, bank, a post office and a big commercial center managed by the company 'Carrefour'. The impressive downtown of the beautiful city of Aosta, with its Roman historical monuments is only 3 km away as well as the main bus and train stations. The Saint Vincent Casinò, the biggest gambling house in Europe can be reached in about 25 minutes. The direct cable way to the 70 km slopes of Pila ski resort is 3 km away. All the other main ski resorts of the Aosta valley like Cervinia, Courmayeur can be reached in less than 40 minutes by car. Free shuttle in winter time (from 26/12 to 01/04) from hotel to cableway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Express Hotel Aosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aosta-East Hotel Pollein
Holiday Inn Aosta
Aosta Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Aosta Italy - Pollein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing