We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Comtes de Challant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenis
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything was fine! The hotel is beautiful and the stuff is friendly and helpful. Location and views are great. The hotel is included in Michelin hotel guide. Maybe the interior of the room is getting a little outdated year by year, but it still have some charm and some alpine authenticity. We stayed in August, so can't say anything about winter activities. We didn't like the menu of the day for our late dinner. Could be better overall. But it was our mistake - looks like that they have great dishes in main menu, not in menu 'del giorno'. The hotel is nice anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelicDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    53
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
80
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I discovered this really pretty hotel in July 2012 where we stopped overnight on our way to Emigilia Romagna in Northern Italy. As we arrived we noticed the chef picking fresh produce to cook for dinner. We were delighted with the quality of the food, the lovely marble stairs and indeed the very efficient and friendly service. This family run hotel fully deserves the wonderful praise it has already received from other visitors. We will not hesitate to return on our next trip into Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiruchirapalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been in this nice and little hotel for 5 days, end June 2012.
Great position, just out from Fenis village, walking, and in front of a nice antique castle, that you can see from your room...... The hotel is nicer than it appears in the pictures. Very large garden area with big sun umbrellas where you can relax drinking something and enjoying fresh breeze.The rooms are not very spacious, but well constructed, good furnished and very comfortable. All over the hotel is perfectly cleaned.
The restaurant: Excellent quality, good menu; it is also very elegant, spacious, and sunny. Perfect and discret service.
Most of dishes are prepared with the ingredients of their garden, the cheeses and salami are of great quality. Jams are home made and are really delicious.The family (Owners) is very kind and you can feel there like a particular guest.
I suggest this little hotel to kind, polite, people which can appreciate quiet, special good food and much care by the Owners.
It was a pitty not to have in the rooms air conditioning during these days, too warm all over Italy (in the dining room it was activated and fresh).
If the Owners will decide to construct a little swimming pool i nthe future, I think guests will pass more days there, enjoying fully the place.
Marilena- Milano- Italy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarileMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my wife spent four days in Fenis, Hotel Comtes de Challant, to partecipate to a meeting of Alfa Romeo Club....and we discovered a really nice place to stay even for a week. Fenis is in Val d'Aosta just below the crown of the west Alpes, were the scenery by itself is something unforgettable.
The Hotel is a three stars (West Europe standard) very clean, elegant and family-managed with a superb service, close to some of the most famous places of the region, like Courmayuer and Saint Vincent. But the best surprise is waiting for you when you enter the dining room: the top of regional taste with spectacular dishes of rice, pasta, meat and "polenta", well supported by white and red wine in a very elegant environment in front of the medioeval castel of the Counts of Challant.
Easy to travel because of the motorway, is a perfect place to discover this west-north part of Italy, and to go back at home with and excellent perception, looking at the calendar to find the best period to come back.

Room Tip: First floor south (In front of the Castle)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoVR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Fenis is very pretty and the views would be spectacular in winter with the snow.
Our room was large with a balcony with views. The bathroom was also big. The service and staff were great and dinner was very good and not expensive. Breakfast was amply and if you wanted anything that was not there they would cook it. The only problem was a very noisy group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Lovely family run hotel. Meals excellent. Staff friendly. Walking distance to Fenis castle which was a nice place to visit

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank geeijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A lovely hotel in a beautiful location. The hotel is very well looked after and the rooms are a decent size and very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and if you do not speak Italian, they will do their outmost to try and speak English! We had a dinner at their restaurant and the food was absolutely beautiful. At breakfast you have a lot of choice and the staff ensures you have fresh coffee/tea. You can have an access to an underground car park but we were more than happy to park outside where parking is available as well. The location is stunning - you are surrounded by mountains and the little fenis village is picturesque. I would hightly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenis
7.0 mi away
Hotel Parc Mont Avic
Hotel Parc Mont Avic
#1 of 1 in Champdepraz
308 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
242 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Les Granges
Les Granges
#1 of 2 in Nus
5 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 2 in Pollein
184 reviews
7.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Billia
Parc Hotel Billia
#1 of 10 in Saint-Vincent
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comtes de Challant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comtes de Challant

Property: Hotel Comtes de Challant
Address: Frazione Chez Sapin 95, 11020 Fenis, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Fenis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Comtes de Challant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, overlooking the ancient Medieval Manor, home of the famous family Challants. It offers typical cuisine, free internet access, meeting room, restaurant events, parking, green area ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Comtes de Challant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing