We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Feels like heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sant'Orso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Orso
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Feels like heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We started our visit on cogne on the grand pardiso hotel (a great hotel itself of the same owenrs but diffrent- see my other review)
and was so charmed from this heaven we come back a day later and change our whole trip Schedule. we came back for another 2 perfect nights on the hotel sant'orso and that was definitely the highlight of our trip.
The owner - Filippo Gerard is highly involved in this perfect hosting and the whole staff is a part of it...
He gave us a full recomndation for cogne and of the rest of our trip and everyday was greater then the other.....Just didn't want to leave :)
The perfect place in Conge (If not in Italy itself)
Put it in your must visit places!!!!

Room Tip: We took room 501 with the balcony and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    76
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
70
126
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Sant' Orso is a nice hotel with a great spa. The rooms are clean with an old fashioned rustic. It is incredibly conveniently located in town and the staff are nice. A solid good hotel. The breakfast was good---service particularly good at breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Gran Paradiso--the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just enjoyed two nights at this wonderful hotel in the quaint village of Cogne in the mountains. Everyone on the staff made us feel as though it was our home. Louisa at reception was amazing, assisting with a smooth check in, parking, luggage and information about things to do and see in the area. She is a treasure. The hotel has been family owned for generations. The owner is on site ensuring his guests are well cared for, and the place is immaculately clean.

The hotel has parking underneath, a convenient lift to all floors, a large and warming lounge area, an additional lounge area for movies or relaxation, terrific restaurant and incredible mountain views in all directions. Breakfast was in the top three of all during our current three month driving trip in Europe with eggs to order, freshly made croissants, and likely anything you might want, served in the restaurant with full mountain views. There is also a spa, sauna and indoor swimming pool.

The rooms are adequately sized with very comfortable beds and equipped with refrigerators and plenty of closet space. Cogna is off he beaten path and that is the point of the place as the setting is beautiful and the surrounding recreation endless. You can spend more for accommodations in this area, but we are not sure your stay would be any more satisfying.

Room Tip: Room 206 is an end room with beautiful mountain views in two directions and a large large wrap aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We discovered a slice of heaven in Cogne, Italy, an enchanting village in the Italian Alps. The moment we arrived at the Sant'Orso, a charming, well-appointed, and cozy hotel, the owner and manager, Filippo Gerard welcomed us as if we were family. After we settled into our rooms, Filippo personally gave us a guided tour of Cogne, an ancient, quaint village and gateway to the Parco Nazionale del Gran Paradiso. The setting is stunning! While nestled at the base of the Gran Paradiso snow-capped mountains, the Sant'Orso Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the village. Filippo is an attentive host. He and his staff give personalized care to their many guests. Filippo visits each table and takes his guests' dinner orders while describing the featured menu choices for that evening. The menu offers three new and enticing choices each night. Nearby vinyards provide superb wines which are produced in small quantities for local consumption.

We were in Cogne in late summer/early fall and the weather was delightful. There were outdoor activities including hiking, shopping and excursions to the Medieval city of Aosta known as the "Rome of the Alps." There is ample snow in winter for alpine and XC skiing, snow shoeing and a variety of outdoor activities.

A visit to Cogne in the Gran Paradiso National Park and a stay at the Sant'Orso Hotel is a must!

Room Tip: Every room appeared to have a balcony offering exquisite views of the surrounding mountains and vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is hard to imagine that this hotel is not number 1 in the Cogne Valley. We stayed in June/July 2012 for a wedding. The owners were above and beyond accommodating of all of our needs. The rooms were great- spacious and clean- and overlooked a phenomenal mountain range. Amazing playground for children. Surrounded by spectacular hiking trails. Without a question, we will be back. During our stay, owners were constructing an indoor pool. Looking forward to it when we return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were very pleased with this famiily run hotel. The rooms were very comfortable with balconies that overlooked the mountains. Fillipo was the manager and owner. He was very concerned about our comfort and did everything possible to make our stay exceptional.
The food service was also of very high quality and delicious.
Cogne is a small village and one can take evening walks through its charming streets. We would enjoy visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and family - three young children - and I had a wonderful lunch here, at very reasonable prices, while on holiday in the region. The food was delicious, the service attentive and the views from the restaurant stunning ! My only complaint was that there was one young lady waitress who clearly could not care less, didn't know how to smile and who simply should not have been in the job...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cogne hotels
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Cogne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
1.0 mi away
Hotel Notre Maison
Hotel Notre Maison
#1 of 17 in Cogne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Madonnina del Gran Paradiso
0.1 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#7 of 17 in Cogne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Orso

Property: Hotel Sant'Orso
Address: Via Bourgeois 2 | 11012, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cogne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sant'Orso 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sant'Orso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Orso Hotel Cogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing